Advertise on Metal Storm
John Zorn - Moonchild

9.4 | 5 votes |
Release date: 2006
Style: Jazz Fusion , Free Jazz , Experimental


7 have it
2 want it

01. Hellfire
02. Ghosts of Thelema
03. Abraxas
04. Possession
05. Caligula
06. 616
07. Equinox
08. Moonchild
09. Le Part Maudit
10. The Summoning
11. Sorceress

Additional info
Avant-Garde / Experimental / Hardcore / Jazz / Metal
USA - Tzadik - 2006

Mike Patton - Vocals
Trevor Dunn - Bass
Joey Byron - Drums

Staff review by
Now here is a real treat for those of us who like for our music to be a little forward-thinking and belong to the oft-abused avant-garde category. Moonchild is a guided improvisation project led by none other than John Zorn (the father of 'extreme' avant-garde) and includes the incredibly talented Mike Patton, Trevor Dunn and Joey Byron as instrumentalists. The effect belongs to roughly the same category as similar experiments by Fushitsusha, Keiji Haino, Massacre, Ruins or Zeni Geva, although to me it actually seems like this is the most consistent and focused release of this kind yet.

published 24.11.2006 | Comments (6)

Hits total: 2735 | This month: 15