Mithras - Behind The Shadows Lie Madness

8.1 | 43 votes |
Release date: 16 April 2007
Style: Atmospheric death metal, Brutal death metal


56 have it
6 want it

01. The Journey And The Forsaken
02. To Fall From The Heavens
03. Under The Three Spheres
04. Into Black Holes Of Oblivion
05. When The Light Fades Away
06. Behind The Shadows
07. Awaken Man And Stone
08. The Twisted Tower
09. To Where The Sun Never Leaves
10. The Beacon Beckons
11. Thrown Upon The Waves
12. Into The Unknown

Staff review by
Baz Anderson
After controversies and the release of two albums that have split the audience into two sides and expectations varying from person to person, Mithras unleash upon the world their third dose of death metal "Behind The Shadows Lie Madness".

My expectations were high following the formidable standard of the last two albums and this album does not disappoint - following much the same formula but with a few minor tweaks. This therefore means you pretty much know what you are going to get when you pick this album up - fast paced, crushing death metal, but of course only after you have sat through the ambient, obligatory introduction track. Still present is the impressively fast drumming and low sounding guitars that will inevitably once more promote cries of "Morbid Angel" but also this time more prominently we have the quite psychedelic and rather sci-fi sounding experimentation. The best example of this being the strange but also alluring guitar in "To Where The Sun Never Leaves", also the surprisingly colourful cover art reflects superbly this enhancement to the sound of Mithras.

published 28.04.2007 | Comments (8)

Found in 1 list
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 21 users
04.12.2016 - 21:37
The Psilosopher
Very very good techdeath album but not as good as the latest I guess. Still the almost non melodeath melodic riffs and unreleting drums are rad.

Hits total: 4940 | This month: 24