Buy for
(8 items)

Release date: 19 October 2009
Style: Metalcore, Post-hardcore


8.2 | 119 votes


113 have it
16 want it

01. Dark Horse
02. Reap What You Sow
03. Axe To Fall
04. Effigy
05. Worms Will Feed
06. Wishing Well
07. Damages
08. Losing Battle
09. Dead Beat
10. Cutter
11. Slave Driver
12. Cruel Bloom
13. Wretched World

Lyrics (13)

Jacob Bannon - vocals
Kurt Parker Ballou - backing vocals, piano, glockenspiel, saxophone
Ben Koller - drums
Nate Newton - bass, backing vocals

Guest musicians
Sean Martin - lead guitar, backing vocals (track 2)
George Hirsch - backing vocals (track 3)
Steve Brodsky - lead guitar (track 4)
Adam McGrath - guitars (track 4)
John-Robert Connors - drums (track 4, 13)
Ulf Cederlund - lead guitar, backing vocals (track 6)
Tim "Trivikrama Dasa" Cohen - lead guitar (track 7)
John Pettibone - backing vocals (track 10)
Steve Von Till - lead vocals (track 12)
Aimee Argote - backing vocals (track 12)
"The Rodeo" - backing vocals (track 12)
Chris Taylor - backing vocals (track 12)
Mookie Singerman - lead vocals, keyboard (track 13)
Hamilton Jordan - guitars (track 13)
Michael Sochynsky - keyboard (track 13)
Brad Fickeisen - drums (track 13)

Additional info
US Rel. Date: 10/20/2009
EU Rel. Date: 10/19/2009

Guest review by
Boxcar Willy

Converge has been around for a while, longer than I've been alive, so they know they don't have to beat around the bush. These guys play a mix of hard-core punk and metalcore that is absolutely delightful, with crazy riffs and shrieking vocals.

I actually downloaded this for my sister, believe it or not, as she is a fan of post-hardcore and hardcore punk, when it finished downloading I played the first track, just to see what it was like… Boy was I surprised, I actually enjoyed the music… I liked it a lot.

published 15.02.2012 | Comments (5)

Found in 7 lists
Top lists

Vasil de Shumen Best Albums of the New Millennium  | #50
Spirit Molecule Faff  | #43
Mikyz My Top 20 Albums Of 2009  | #16
MeloDeathViking Top 25 Of 2009  | #20
D.C.O My Favorite 100 Metal Albums Of All Time  | #10
FullyOttoMatic Top 30 Albums Of 2009  | #27
Coolingsrock Coolingsrock's Best Of 2009  | #7
More lists | Create a list! ››


‹‹ Back to the Albums
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 213  
Search this topic:  

gudermintjener - 27.04.2010 at 09:52  
  I'm felling more and more in love with this album. It's not like everything else made today in their genre, but still, straight out punkcore!
Coolingsrock - 23.12.2010 at 20:18  
Rating: 9 My first listen to the cd and i made it to effigy and now listening to the intro to worms will feed. This album kicks the shit out of me. Its Awesome. This coming from a thrash metal fan.
Coolingsrock - 23.12.2010 at 20:20  
Rating: 9 Bane= harcecore thrash punk
converge= punk metalcore this is sweet
Sonic MrSumo - 02.02.2011 at 08:00  
Rating: 10 This album is pure aggression, pure speed, and pure gold! Their best album to date in my opinion.
musicalkaratekid - 27.06.2012 at 15:22  
Rating: 9 Brilliant album, with quite a lot of variety too. The title track is monstrous.
LeKiwi - 10.06.2014 at 01:31  
  God daaaaaaaaaaaaamn...I should stop stereotyping bands in this genre...
Lit. - 07.01.2015 at 02:11  
  Damn, insane amount of guests on this album. Ultimately what convinced me to check it out:

Sean Martin (ex-Hatebreed, Cage) - lead guitar, backing vocals on "Reap What You Sow"
George Hirsch (Blacklisted) - backing vocals on "Axe to Fall"
Steve Brodsky (Cave In) - lead guitar on "Effigy"
Adam McGrath (Cave In) - guitars on "Effigy"
John-Robert Connors (Cave In, Doomriders) - drums on "Effigy" and "Wretched World"
Ulf Cederlund (Disfear, ex-Entombed) - lead guitar, backing vocals on "Wishing Well"
Tim "Trivikrama Dasa" Cohen (108) - lead guitar on "Damages"
John Pettibone (Undertow, Himsa) - backing vocals on "Cutter"
Steve Von Till (Neurosis) - lead vocals on "Cruel Bloom"
Aimee Argote (Des Ark) - backing vocals on "Cruel Bloom"
"The Rodeo" - backing vocals on "Cruel Bloom"
Chris Taylor (Pygmy Lush, ex-Pg. 99) - backing vocals on "Cruel Bloom"
Mookie Singerman (Genghis Tron) - lead vocals, keyboard on "Wretched World"
Hamilton Jordan (Genghis Tron) - guitars on "Wretched World"
Michael Sochynsky (Genghis Tron) - keyboard on "Wretched World"
Brad Fickeisen (The Red Chord) - drums on "Wretched World"
mz - 07.01.2015 at 03:25  
  They are pulling an ayreon it seems
Mr. Doctor - 07.01.2015 at 16:31  
  This album is fucking massive... The odd thing is that my favorite songs are the last two which are slow and have close to nothing to do with the rest of the album hahahhah.
Gotta love the melancholy behind Wretched World.
flightoficarus - 05.05.2015 at 16:26  
Rating: 9 I can't repeat enough how awesome this album is. But then again, I could say that for pretty much any album post-Jane Doe. But these riffs...they are ridonk.
koob - 06.06.2015 at 17:28  
Rating: 10 This album is another masterpiece from fucking Converge. These guys can't seem to write anything bad.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Converge - Axe To Fall 6 15.02.2012 by Sonic MrSumo
Albums Converge - All We Love We Leave Behind 4 05.06.2012 by IronAngel
Albums Forsaken - After The Fall 3 28.01.2010 by Shadowcross
News Converge - To Play 'Jane Doe' And Special Set At Roadburn 2016 3 03.12.2015 by Bad English
Albums Fall Of Empyrean - Anhedonia 2.5 26.03.2012 by Bad English

Hits total: 7034 | This month: 4