Rising - To Solemn Ash

7.4 | 9 votes |
Release date: 30 September 2011
Style: Sludge metal


8 have it
5 want it

01. Mausoleum
02. Sea Of Basalt
03. The Vault
04. Cohorts Rise
05. Hunter's Crown
06. Through The Eyes Of Catalysis
07. Under Callous Wings
08. Passage
09. Heir To The Flames
10. Seven Riders

Henrik Waldemar Hald - vocals, bass
Jacob Krogholt - guitar
Jacob Ankær Johansen - drums

Additional info
Release dates:
30th September 2011: Germany
24th October 2011: Rest Of Europe
End Of January 2012: US

Recorded by Jakob Reichert Nielsen at Moen and in Copenhagen, Denmark, March-June 2011.
Mixed by Jakob Reichert Nielsen.
Produced by Jakob Reichert Nielsen & Rising.
Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music, New Windsor, NY.
Artwork by Jakob Printzlau - Plastic Kid.
Layout by Lars Christensen.

Staff review by
When last we left the Copenhagen trio they had swept the inaugural MSA Clandestine Cut award, winning both reader and staff awards for their 2010 Legacy Of Wolves EP. Since that point they done got themselves signed and recorded their first full-length album, To Solemn Ash.

So what do we get from their first proper album? More of the same. And while "more of the same" is oft a derogatory term for a band out of ideas that churns out a color-by-numbers version of their prior work, in this instance it can be interpreted as a good thing.

published 28.09.2011 | Comments (9)

Earlier this year Rising won the inaugural "Clandestine Cut" MSA... since then they done got signed and now have their first full-length slated for an October release*. The band were kind enough to shoot me a promo and it is more of the same. And by that I do mean MORE. Instead of a two or four song tease, now you get ten tracks worth of the visceral pounding and crushing riffs that earned them your choice as the 2010 CC Messy.

*sadly this will not be out in the US until January 2012. let me again repeat how thankful I am that Rising sent me an advance.

BitterCOld's picks | More picks ››

Found in 4 lists
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 20 users
15.12.2012 - 16:29
Rating: 8
Metal Addict
Nice album full of pounding riffs. It gets a bit repetitive as you proceed through the album but not repetitive enough to spoil the impression this record gives.
My favourite tracks are: "Hunter's Crown", "Under Callous Wings" and "Seven Riders".
"And we are not who we think we are
We are who we're afraid to be"
- Lux Occulta "The Opening of Eleventh Sephirah"

Hits total: 4421 | This month: 9