Stryper - Reborn

6.8 | 21 votes |
Release date: 2005
Style: Heavy metal


26 have it
3 want it

01. Open Your Eyes
02. Reborn
03. When Did I See You Cry
04. Make You Mine
05. Passion
06. Live Again
07. If I Die
08. Wait For You
09. Rain
10. 10,000 Years
11. I.G.W.T.

Guest review by
Dane Train
More often than not when someone mentions the name Stryper a low moaning groan follows. The most recognizable Christian Metal band of the 1980's were known for yellow and black spandex as much as they were for their Jesus Freak lyrics.

That was then.

This is now.

There may not be an album title more appropriate than Reborn. A decade and a half has passed since the O.C. Boys released a record and a great deal has changed. The first notable change is that of Tracy Ferrie replacing Timothy Gaines on bass. The second noticeable change is the sound: this is not To Hell With The Devil. Stryper has abandoned the both the sound and look of their Glam Metal days in favor of a more modern Heavy Metal persona. Michael Sweet 's vocals are more mature sounding (sorry guys no more of his signature scream) but nonetheless very commanding. Likewise Oz Fox continues writing great rhythm with catchy hooks without being Pop.

published 10.05.2009 | Comments (5)

Hits total: 3105 | This month: 16