Advertise on Metal Storm
Vesperian Sorrow - Stormwinds Of Ages

8.3 | 20 votes |
Release date: 24 April 2012
Style: Symphonic black metal


21 have it
10 want it

01. Sanguis Vitam Est
02. Stormwinds Of Ages
03. An Empire To Mourn
04. Casting Dawn Into A Shadow
05. Crown Of Glass
06. Legacies Befallen
07. Eye Of The Clock Tower
08. Oracle From The Ashes
09. Relics Of The Impure
10. Death She Cried
11. Of Opiates And Accolades

Staff review by
Troy Killjoy
Vesperian Sorrow formed over a decade ago, evolving from a more traditional black metal band to that of a symphonic-driven outfit. When tags like that are thrown around, one immediately thinks Dimmu Borgir; and in this instance, the comparison isn't too far off.

Having taken their time to develop into what they are today, Vesperian Sorrow have been able to adopt their own signature style within a sub-genre that doesn't make it easy on musicians to extend beyond the confines of its relatively limited boundaries. Either you focus too much on the black metal aspect and lose sight of the symphonic influences, or stray too far into the symphonic side and forget about the black metal roots. Rest assured, there is a perfect balance on Stormwinds Of Ages, the band's fourth full-length release.

published 06.12.2011 | Comments (17)

Found in 5 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 3968 | This month: 10