Sun Devoured Earth - Apathy And Hopelessness [EP]

7.2 | 5 votes |
Release date: 23 April 2011
Style: Atmospheric black metal, Post-Rock , Shoegaze


3 have it
3 want it

01. Alone, Alone, Alone
02. The Worst Is Yet To Come
03. More Pressure
04. Pain Is An Illusion
05. Broken
06. Birth And Death
07. Grief And Loss
08. No Colours Anymore

Vadim Vasilyev - all instruments, vocals

Staff review by
Some say art can ease the burden of the artist. Well, Vadim Vasilyev's pain must be so immense he simply can't stop unleashing albums and/or EPs! Apathy And Hopelessness, the title says it all and the black & white horrid and devastating cover concurs.

This time the most important factors have to be the showgaze/post-punk part of Sun Devoured Earth's sound, blending with ambient touches and a slight black metal mist fading. More structured compositions set tighter foundations and the rest has to deal with the ambiance and the inspiration. Hallucinating keyboards, complimenting and gentle rhythm section, fragile guitar melodies and apathetic but filled with emotion at the same time clean singing complete the scenery.

published 15.06.2011 | Comments (2)

Hits total: 2045 | This month: 8