Killing Joke - XXV Gathering [Live]

8.3 | 4 votes |
Release date: 2004
Style: Industrial metal, Post-Punk


6 have it
3 want it

01. Communion
02. Wardance
03. Song And Dance
04. Primitive
05. Total Invasion
06. Bloodsport
07. Requiem
08. Asteroid
09. The Wait
10. Pssyche
11. The Pandys Are Coming
12. Sun Goes Down
13. Are You Receiving?
14. Love Like Blood
15. Pandemonium

Staff review by
XXV Gathering is a live album documenting Killing Joke's performance to celebrate this extremely influential British band's 25th Anniversary. Although far from being one of the best live albums that I have heard, this disc does nevertheless do a pretty good job of capturing the spirit of a typical Killing Joke show, which, it must be noted, is quite significantly different from the traditional rock concert. The reverend Jaz Coleman and his cohorts treat their show as a congregation of sorts, a celebration of shared ideals and a kind of mystical ritual. This is made very clear here by the various rants that Coleman gets into between the songs. Some are entertaining, other intriguing and all add to the unique atmosphere of this release.

published 17.04.2006 | Comments (0)

Hits total: 2574 | This month: 6