Devin Townsend - Physicist

7.7 | 190 votes |
Release date: 26 June 2000
Style: Industrial progressive metal


240 have it
17 want it

01. Namaste
02. Victim
03. Material
04. Kingdom
05. Death
06. Devoid
07. The Complex
08. Irish Maiden
09. Jupiter
10. Planet Rain
11. Forgotten [hidden track]
12. Man [Japanese bonus]
13. Ocean Machines [Japanese bonus]
14. Promise [Japanese bonus]

Jed Simon - guitars
Eugene Victor "Gene" Hoglan II - drums
Devin Garret Townsend - guitars, keyboards, vocals
Byron Stroud - bass

Additional info
Produced by Devin Townsend.

Guest review by
As a Hevy Devy fan, you would expect this album to leave me spasmodically writhing in a corner drenched in my own saliva. But this is very simply not the case, for this album is definitely one of the weaker albums Devin Townsend has crafted over his long, prolific career.

The main problem with the album is its sheer inconsistency. Physicist has a very strong start with probably my favourite opening track "Namaste", providing the listener with almost 4 minutes of sheer madness. Speedy double bass drumming, alarmingly frantic screaming in the same Devin flavour, you know the story. A very solid opener. This is followed by another two well constructed, catchy tracks: "Victim", and "Material", which is probably one of the best sing-along songs Devin Townsend has written since the early years of his solo career.

published 09.02.2012 | Comments (1)

Found in 1 list
Top lists


Comments: 2   Visited by: 189 users
22.01.2012 - 22:40
Rating: 8
Underrated, but for reasons as well. Most of the songs are pretty short, save 'Kingdom' and the last two tracks, and i would have liked the album to be slightly longer. Then again, they are deeply influenced by SYL's industrial-meets-thrash-meets-madness movement. A good album, even if it does get a little boring at times.
27.11.2015 - 23:43
Rating: 7
Doge of Venice
Planet Rain is ridiculously good.

Hits total: 6494 | This month: 33