Dreadful Shadows - Beyond The Maze

8 | 11 votes |
Release date: 1997
Style: Gothic metal


18 have it
4 want it

01. Crusade
02. Fall
03. The Figures Of Disguise
04. Ties Of Time
05. Craving
06. The Soil
07. The Drowning Sun
08. Desolated Home
09. Burning The Shrouds
10. Beyond The Maze

Staff review by
After the exceptional "Buried Again", in which the Dreadful Shadows defined their personal sound flirting between the gothic rock essence and the metal aggressiveness, they released during the autumn of 1997 their third official album, "Beyond the Maze", their most complete work filled with utterly inspired and high-quality compositions, heavy dark atmosphere, bleak emotions and deeply esoteric and poetic lyrics dealing with solitude, pain and vampires in an exceptional way. The piano and the keyboard melodies along with the violin and the violoncello evoke an intense grey desolate atmosphere harmonizing beautifully with the doleful and deeply expressive interpretation of Sven Friedrich being accompanied by the nocturnal rhythm section evoking visions of darkness and the atmosphere-evoking guitar riffing and the beautifully painful guitar chords. "Shades are rising above my head, voices whisper a name" as the album slowly starts to echo…

published 26.12.2004 | Comments (1)

Hits total: 3309 | This month: 3