Advertise on Metal Storm
Christian Death - Catastrophe Ballet

8.7 | 7 votes |
Release date: 1984
Style: Gothic rock, Death rock


10 have it
2 want it

01. Awake At The Wall
02. Sleepwalk
03. The Drowning
04. The Blue Hour
05. As Evening Falls
06. Androgynous Noise Hand Permeates
07. Electra Descending
08. Cervix Couch
09. This Glass House
10. The Fleeing Somnambulist
11. Awake At The Wall [live] [bonus]
12. The Drowning [live] [bonus]

Additional info
The album was re-released in 1987 as A Catastrophe Ballet With Rhapsody of Youth and Rain with three bonus tracks:
"The Somnolent Pursuit" ("The Fleeing Somnabulist" backwards)
"Between Youth" (B-side track from Believers of the Unpure)
"After the Rain" (B-side track from Believers of the Unpure)

In 1999 it was released with live recordings of "Awake at the Wall" and "The Drowning" and a CD-Rom track with pictures.

In 2009, the album was re-released once more with an unreleased studio track entitled "Beneath his Widow" featuring Rozz Willaims.

Staff review by
After the release of the masterpiece debut album "Only theatre of Pain" everyone but Rozz Williams left Christian Death. Then a band named Pompeii 99, moving in death rock soundscapes, asked Rozz Williams to join them for a European tour and he agreed. And it was the time when Rozz and Pompeii 99 continued under the name Christian Death. The sound of Christian Death was about to change and become more affected and various remaining in the death rock, which is in fact the American gothic rock, quite different from the UK gothic scene of the 80s, fields that Rozz Williams with Christian Death formed with "Deathwish" (1981) and "Only Theatre Of Pain" (1982).

published 08.02.2005 | Comments (0)

Hits total: 2204 | This month: 12