Deep Purple - NOW What?!

7.7 | 144 votes |
Release date: 26 April 2013
Style: Heavy metal, Hard rock


125 have it
21 want it

01. A Simple Song
02. Weirdistan
03. Out Of Hand
04. Hell To Pay
05. Body Line
06. Above And Beyond
07. Blood From A Stone
08. Uncommon Man
09. Après Vous
10. All The Time In The World
11. Vincent Price
12. It'll Be Me [Jerry Lee Lewis cover] [bonus]
13. First Sign of Madness [German bonus]

Ian Gillan - vocals
Ian Paice - drums
Roger Glover - bass, vocals
Steve Morse - guitars, vocals
Donald "Don" Airey - keyboards

Session musicians
Jason Roller - acoustic guitar
Eric Darken - percussion
Mike Johnson - steel guitar
David Hamilton - keyboards
Bob Ezrin - backing vocals, percussion

Additional info
Produced by Bob Ezrin.
Engineer: Justin Cortelyou.
Assistant engineer: Li Xiao Le.
Tracking Room assistant engineers: Zach Allan & Jarad Clement.
Rainbow Recorders engineers: Rob Harris, Mike Airey & Nathan Sage.
Recorded at the Tracking Room, Nashville, TN & Anarchy Studios, Nashville, TN.
Additional keyboards recorded at Rainbow Recorders.
Mixed by Bob Ezrin and Justin Cortelyou at Anarchy Studios, Nashville, TN.
Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, New York, NY.

Dedicated to Jon Lord.

Guest review by
The new album from these legendary masters of hard rock/heavy metal is released eight years after their last album. Personally, I was expecting a disappointing album with no flame or passion. Fortunately, the album exceeded my expectations! Although it isn't a classic album NOW What?! is able to present great technical moments with very "rocky" tracks, and an awesome collaboration between Steve Morse and Don Airey.

published 01.06.2013 | Comments (1)

Found in 9 lists
Top lists


Comments: 9   Visited by: 498 users
27.02.2013 - 02:03
DragonSavior X10
This album title fits my feelings perfectly. What could this be?
27.02.2013 - 04:00
Silent Jay
New studio album...

About time!!!
10.03.2013 - 01:48
Rating: 7
Just listened to two samples and I'm don't feel very confident about their upcoming album.
18.04.2013 - 04:42
DragonSavior X10
"All the Time in the World" sounds okay, but "Hell to Pay" has me interested. I hope the rest is good.
26.04.2013 - 17:31
Rating: 7
I've been listening to the album, and it seems to me that is right at the level of the 1996 Purpendicular album. It's a step forward when compared with Rapture Of The Deep. Highlights: "A Simple Song", "Weirdistan", "Out Of Hand", "Hell To Pay" and "Vincent Price"
28.05.2013 - 14:14
Rating: 8
Excellent Purple album, and certainly their best of the 21st century so far. It has a generally heavier guitar tone throughout and the instrumentation is as eccentric as ever. Strangely enough there a few songs on here that don't follow the same formula as on 'Bananas' or 'Rapture of the deep', but instead seem to experiment a bit. The modern-sounding 'Weirdistan' and 'Hell to pay' work really well in being consistently loud and immediate, whereas the more atmospheric likes of 'Uncommon man' and the mid-section in 'Aprés vous' offer a few surprises for those expecting the band to carry on with their usual Blues Rock influences. All in all a brilliant Rock album for 2013.
08.06.2013 - 20:26
Rating: 7
Erotic Stains
Quite a surprise. I'm no Deep Purple fan but this was pretty good. There's a couple of great songs on there.
14.06.2013 - 00:23
Rating: 8
Mehdi Taba
Mehdi Taba
After all these years and in these ages it's a very good album for Deep Purple .

My exact rating is "8.3" .
06.11.2013 - 16:46
Rating: 8
Metal Addict
Surprisingly enough, I really really enjoyed this album. Deep Purple still manages to rock hard even in the 21st century.
"And we are not who we think we are
We are who we're afraid to be"
- Lux Occulta "The Opening of Eleventh Sephirah"

Hits total: 8637 | This month: 13