The Birthday Massacre - Biography

This band's profile is 'invisible', meaning that it's much less prominent on the site - either because it's incomplete, or maybe doesn't entirely fit MS format.



The group originated in London, Ontario under the name Imagica. The group's original line-up consisted of: Chibi (vocals), Rainbow (guitar), M. Falcore (guitar), and Aslan (bass). Dank played live keyboards and O.E. joined the group on live percussion. A seven-song limited edition demo was released.

In 2001, Dank left the group, and the others relocated from London to Toronto, Ontario, to begin recording. There, they recorded another limited edition demo, this time with five songs.

Shortly thereafter, the band adopted the name The Birthday Massacre. In July of 2002, The Birthday Massacre independently released a limited edition CD entitled "Nothing and Nowhere." In 2003, Adm joined the band on live keyboards and Rhim on drums. On July 20, 2004, The Birthday Massacre released a nine song EP entitled "Violet," and at the end of the year, re-released "Nothing and Nowhere" with new sleeve artwork. Adm soon left thereafter to explore his own projects. In the fall of 2004, the band was signed to Repo Records in Germany, and released a remastered and expanded version of "Violet" in Europe, including updated album art in a digipack case.

In 2005 the band signed to Metropolis Records and released "Violet" in the U.S.A., Canada, United Kingdom, and most of South America. O-en joined on live keyboards and in August, the band began a series of international tours taking them to Switzerland, Germany, the Netherlands, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and Belgium. Also in August, a DVD consisting of a video for the song "Blue" was released. It also included a studio performance of "Nevermind", live performances of "Violet" and "Video kid".

In early 2006, the Birthday Massacre toured North America, playing across Canada, the United States and Mexico on their "Broken Minds" tour. They head to Europe once again in the summer of 2006.