Toxik - Biography




Toxik was formed in 1985 by Joshua Christian and Lee Erwin under the name Toyko. The band was forced to change its name due to the threat of legal action from a band who had already registered the name. The band's original four-piece line-up which, because it occurred before the name change, was known as the Tokyo line-up, consisted of Michael Sanders (vocals), Josh Christian (guitar), Lee Erwin (bass) and Sal Dadabo (drums). However, the line-up did not remain stable, plaguing the band with line-up changes into the following year. During the same year, the band's original bassist, Lee Erwin, left Toxik citing personal reasons, to be replaced by Brian Bonini. Additionally, Sal Dadabo, the band's original drummer, was offered a touring contract with Twisted Sister and left Toxik to be replaced by Tad Leger. These new changes would become the band's new line-up.

In 1987, Toxik signed onto Roadrunner Records (previously titled "Roadracer Productions" at the time of signing), debuting their first full-length album, World Circus. The release of the album saw one of the first introductions to the "Progressive thrash metal" genre, charting on College Music Journal's "Best New Metal Album of the Year" for 1987 and were offered a number nine slot on the Metal Blade Records "Metal Massacre" series with the song, "Wasteland". After touring World Circus, vocalist Mike Sanders left Toxik for unknown reasons, to be replaced by Charlie Sabin.

Following the received attention for the release of their debut album, Toxik released their second full-length album the following year with Roadrunner Records, entitled Think This. After the album's release, Toxik hired guitarist John Donnelly to perform with them while touring. The success that resulted from Think This led Toxik to tour the album throughout the United States and Europe with Roadrunner Records and partnering band, King Diamond. After years of touring, Toxik disbanded in 1992.

During the autumn of 2006, Displeased Records rereleased Toxik's World Circus (1987) and Think This (1989) along with releases of previous releases from Gorguts, Sadus and Disincarnate. The World Circus rerelease included twelve bonus tracks and the Think This rerelease included five bonus tracks.

In January 2007, Metal Mind Productions rereleased limited edition versions of Toxik's World Circus (1987) and Think This (1989). The rereleases are digitally remastered, featuring digipak editions of the albums.

During February 2007, Toxik announced their reformation as a band. The announcement consisted of the largely original line-up of Mike Sanders (vocals), Josh Christian (guitar), Brian Bonini (bass) and former Dominion drummer, Lou Caldarola (drums). Tad Leger, one of the band's original drummers, is also in a band called Lucertola, as a guitarist. During August 2007, the band's bassist, Brian Bonini, left the new Toxik line-up, leaving Toxik with only three members. Toxik is currently in search of a new bassist to replace Brian Bonini.

Toxik announced a European tour in November, 2007. The two-week tour was to have included performances at the Keep It True festival and the Ragers Elite festival in Germany. The band was scheduled to perform at the Keep It True Festival on November 3, 2007, when the band canceled the tour due to reasons disclosed by the event organizer. Since the November tour cancellation, the band has not made any public appearances. According to the Toxik MySpace page, the band is in the process of writing new material and will not tour until a new bassist is hired.

During December 2007, Displeased Records released Toxik's first live album set, entitled Dynamo Open Air 1988, which includes two live performances from 1988 and a limited CD and DVD package.

In July 2010, Toxik self-released Think Again on DVD. Containing a live set from 1989, a 2010 interview with Tad Leger, Josh Christian and Mike Sanders and a photo/poster gallery.

In January 2013, it was announced that Toxik would reform yet again and as of late February/Early March of 2013 have begun recording a new album slated for a fall 2013 release. The current line-up consists of original members Josh Christian, Mike Sanders, Brian Bonini, and the group recently announced the addition of Jason Bittner of Shadows Fall sitting in the drummers throne.