Apostle Of Solitude - Biography


Used only on "Last Sunrise."



In life there is death. In happiness, in hope, and in love there is also tragedy. There is hopelessness, despair, and grief. There is Apostle of Solitude. True American Doom Metal in its most raw, unfiltered, sincere form. Apostle of Solitude rose from the ashes of The Keep in the autumn of 2004, releasing the self-titled demo in autumn of 2005 and the "Embraced By The Black" demo in early 2007, before releasing the massive Sincerest Misery full length debut on Eyes Like Snow Records in October 2008. Sincerest Misery took the international metal community by storm and quickly catapulted the band to the forefront of "required listening" bands in Doom. The band's sophomore follow-up, Last Sunrise (Eyes Like Snow, Profound Lore), went even further down the path cleared by Sincerest Misery, taking the listener even deeper into the beautiful cold depths of sorrow and ruin.

In addition to the impact created by both of the band's full-length releases, live performances at high profile American doom festivals including Born To Be Doomed, Born Too Late, Days of the Doomed, and Doom or Be Doomed have helped to solidify the band's loyal following and also their reputation in regard to stepping beyond the confines and typical boundaries of the genre. In early 2011, Apostle of Solitude announced a revised lineup, welcoming Bob Fouts (the Gates of Slumber, Nachtmystium; current Chrome Waves) and Steve Janiak (Devil to Pay) into the fold. 2011 also saw the releases of two split releases which marked the last recordings of the initial lineup consisting of Brown, McClellan, Avery, and Webb. A vinyl only 12-inch one-sided "etched disc" with Dawnrider (Portugal) was released on Blood & Iron Records in conjunction with Raging Planet Records and Metal Soldiers Records; A 3-way split "digipak" cd and gatefold LP was also released via Eyes Like Snow Records with Rituals of the Oak (Australia) and The Flight of Sleipnir (US).

A very limited number of demos showcasing the first recorded material from the newly revised lineup consisting of Brown, Fouts, Janiak, and Webb were produced exclusively for the Days of the Doomed fest in June 2012. As a preview of material for the full length follow-up to Last Sunrise, that demo is available for online listening at this location: http://theobelisk.net/obelisk/2012/06/20/thisissomegrimshityo/. Specific details regarding the release of the next album will be announced soon following the determination of label support for the album.