Dantalion - Biography




Dantalion was formed back in May 2004 from the ashes of the Galician black metal band Mydgard with the main purpose of developing this style in both a more agressive and melancholic way. The first line-up, formed by three members of the aforementioned band, Zeukram (vocals), Netzja (guitars) and Naemoth (drums), was soon completed with Maiestas (bass). After spending some months writing new songs and playing their first concerts, the band hits Oceáno Studios in April-May 2005 to register their first full-length. Three of the songs from that recording sessions are chosen for the "Promo 2005" CD as an introduction of the band to the underground scene. In Fall 2005 Maiestas decides to leave the band due to lack of time and Thorgrim joins Dantalion. With this new line-up the band keeps on performing live and, finally, in Summer 2006, sees the result of its hard work with the release of "When the Ravens Fly Over Me" through Det Germanske Folket Records in Europe and Concreto Records in America. After some more concerts and a hard writing process during late 2006 and early 2007, the band enters Oceáno Studios again to record "Call of the Broken Souls", released by Det Germanske Folket in January 2008. Just after the release of the new album, vocalist Zeukram leaves his place to Sanguinist, who also strengthens the line-up with the addition of a second guitar. The band spends the next year writing new songs and playing live and, finally, by Fall 2009 records their long awaited third album. With the band taking care of the production duties and with the experienced hands of Dan Swanö behind the mastering, the new album would show Dantalion in a new dimension unknown until now. Finally, Dantalion's third album "All Roads Lead to Death" will be released in October 2010 through Xtreem Music. Currently the band is in contacts for the re-release of their two previous works and closing some live appearances for late 2010.
Source: http://www.myspace.com/dantalionband