Mors Subita - Biography




MORS SUBITA is a Modern Melodic Death Metal band established around year 2000 in Haukipudas, Finland. It started as a side project for a band called Zilstrone in which Lammassaari (guitar) and Haapala (drums) played original songs with Mika's cousin Aki Lammassaari (guitar). About a year after the side project was founded, Zilstrone started fading. Ultimately Aki quit Zilstrone and the guys started focusing on their side project.

The initial formation involved guitarist Mika Lammassaari, Jukka-Pekka Ellilä and drummer Juha Haapala. Jarno Rankinen enrolled in mid 2000. This Line-up started playing cover songs from Pantera, Megadeth, Sepultura, Helloween, Overkill, Annihilator etc. Soon after Rankinen joined the line up, Mika started writing original songs for the group.

The MORS SUBITA title was adopted during 2002. Further changes then took place as Antti Haapsamo was drafted as lead singer, Jukka-Pekka Ellilä decamped and Jarkko Kaleva took his position as the rhythm guitarist. A demo, billed 'Synopsis', arrived in 2003. The band was put into hiatus when Kaleva, Rankinen & Lammassaari were obliged to commit to national military service. As it transpired, Rankinen did not return and Mika Junttila, of Sanctimonious, stepped in as a new bass player for a 2006 self-financed EP 'Epoch'.

In 2007 Mors Subita released their 3rd release named "PARANEA" and toured with the legendary Finnish trash metal act, Maple Cross around Finland. In the late 2009 arrived the latest Mors Subita release, an EP billed "Sound of Spite". Since the release of the EP, Mors Subita has stirred a lot of attention around media and labels.

At the moment Mors Subita is playing some well picked gigs and preparing to hit the studio to record their yet untitled debut album.

Some additional info about Mors Subita:

Due to a throat injury suffered by Catamenia singer Olli-Jukka Mustonen, MORS SUBITA frontman Antti Haapsamo performed much of the vocal work on the fellow Finns 2006 album 'Location: COLD'.

During summer 2009, Mika joined Eternal Tears of Sorrow as the lead guitarist.