Platitude - Biography



Formed back in 1995, Platitude from Sweden secured themselves a record deal with Italian Scarlet Records in the spring of 2002, and their debut studio album "Secrets Of Life" was recorded in the beginning of August 2002 together with producer Tommy Hansen (Helloween, Jorn Lande, TNT, Beyond Twilight) at the world renomed Jailhouse Studios. The Japanese version was released in February 2003 and within the next months, positive reviews from all over the world came rushing in. According to many, Platitude was the next shining star in the European heavy metal industry. Followed by the great mediatric response, it was time to face the fans.

In May 2003, Platitude joined the Danish heavy metal band Manticora on a European tour. Tommie Lundgren had left the band and was replaced by a new keyboardist/composer named Kristofer von Wachenfeldt. The tour took the two bands to venues in Holland, Germany, France and Denmark. Soon after returning to Sweden, Platitude was, once again, asked to join a headliner on tour. This time supporting UK's premiere progressive metal band Threshold for two live concerts in Germany. The tour ended with a successful gig at the Sweden Rock Festival in June 2003.

After long periods of songwriting, Platitude had, in November 2004, recorded their second studio album "Nine" and was ready to face the public response. The final result surprised a lot of fans to the better, when the music had become much more mature in context. Nine was considered being the perfect sequel to the debut album. Nine still carried that original Platitude character which was so evident on the debut release. Yet, the musical result turned out to be a lot more progressive, more alive, and gave a slightly different impact. The neoclassical power metal parts that influenced the debut was this time, more or less, gone. Instead, Nine displayed a wonderful mixture of melodic metal together with progressive parts.

Then, in the late summer of 2004, the band line-up faced some more changes. Platitude decided to change their drummer and when Marcus Höher had left the band, session drummer Andreas Brobjer quickly replaced him. Platitude's first live appearance together with Andreas was at the annual ProgPower Festival in Holland.

Shortly afterwards, current lead guitarist Daniel Hall decided to leave the band and the Swedish guitar talent Johan Randén (Solo, Freak Kitchen) took his place temporarily as a "stand in lead guitarist.. and followed the band on their concerts. Johan had earlier appeared in such famous guitar magazines as the Japanese Young Guitar Magazine. Daniel has since then played with famous singer Rob Rock and today he is a member of swedish rockband Perfect Stranger. Around Christmas 2004, Platitude was busy planning for the recordings of their third studio album and decided to try a slightly different approach this time. Musical ideas were shared and new material was being composed around the clock....

In April 2005, the recordings of their third album "Silence Speaks" had begun. As a result, the album would display a unique touch, blending progressive heavy metal with tasteful amounts of AOR and melodic hard rock. The songs all have a modern approach and together with powerhouse Erik "EZ" Blomkvist's strong vocals and catchy choruses, this is a killer album right from start! Platitude produced Silence Speaks at Jailhouse Studios, once again together with top producer Tommy Hansen.

In December 2005, Andreas Brobjer moved to California, USA to continue his musical journey as a session player. He recently toured with synthpop-band Stefy.

Since then EZ, Wachen, Gustav and Patrik has been busy with sideprojects etc.. Erik Wigelius joined the band as the new drummer in early 2007 and the band is more than ready to get out and do some kick ass live shows!


On 28.12.2008 the band posted a news bulletin on their website stating that they officially have disbanded.

(source: Platitude Official Website)