Vanhelgd - Biography




In the end of the year 2007, Vanhelgd was formed by Björn Andersson (drums), Jimmy Johansson (guitars, backup vocals) and Mattias Frisk (Guitars vocals). The intention was to play dark, blood soaked death metal in the vein of the old masters.

Songs were taking form and the need for a bass player became more and more urgent. In the beginning of 2008 the old friend Viktor Gustafsson stepped in to handle the bass guitar. A very ruff demo was recorded during a rehearsal and some of the songs where published on the internet. Soon the interest for the band grew and Vanhelgd recorded eight songs in Backbone studios in Mjölby and the first full length album Cult Of Lazarus was released by Crematorium Records in November 2008. The band got in contact with the US based Nuclear War Now! Records who decided to release Cult Of Lazarus as a 12# LP in 2009.

In the Summer of 2009, Vanhelgd recorded a couple of new songs as a demo. One of the tracks from that session, "Nec Spe, Nec Metu", was featured on the Invocation Of Death compilation, released in June 2010 by Death Invocation Records. Vanhelgd started to work with the recording for their second ful-length album Church Of Death in April 2010. Due to various problems they didn't finish until September the same year. Two of the songs were taken out to be featured on the EP Praise The Serpent, which was released on the Nuclear War Now! Fest part 2 in Berlin where the band also performed.