Metal news

The Black Dahlia Murder - UK/France Tour With Skeletonwitch

Detroit's melodic death metal outfit The Black Dahlia Murder have announced a mammoth 26-date UK/France tour, which kicks off with two shows at The Underworld in London on January 11th and 12th, 2012. Support comes from American thrashers Skeletonwitch.


Band profile: The Black Dahlia Murder
Event: The Black Dahlia Murder + Skeletonwitch: UK/France Tour 2012
Posted: 13.09.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (2)

The Ocean - To Support Devin Townsend On Upcoming Tour, New Video Online

German sludge metallers The Ocean, who previously reported that their North American tour plans were scrapped, have announced that they will be supporting fellow progressive act The Devin Townsend Project. The tour heads out on October 8th and promises to be one of the best progressive tours of the Fall. Those who have been wanting for longer sets from both acts, who often serve to support other bands on tour, will be treated to a once-on-a-lifetime evening of progressive metal grandeur.


Band profile: The Ocean
Event: Devin Townsend + The Ocean: North American Tour 2011
Posted: 13.09.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (5)

Mournful Congregation - New Album Details, Compilation The Unspoken Hymns Streaming Online

Australian funeral doom act Mournful Congregation has signed with 20 Buck Spin for the North American release of two full-length releases. The first of the pair, a compilation of out-of-print tracks entitled The Unspoken Hymns, acts as a prologue for the band's newly completed 80 minutes full-length album, The Book Of Kings, which is set for a North American release on November 8th.


Posted: 13.09.2011 by Cynic Metalhead | Comments (1)

Ancient Bards - Set To Release New Album

Italian band Ancient Bards is proud to announce the release of their second album. The highly anticipated new album, titled Soulless Child, will be available in the European market in mid-November 2011 via Limb Music Products and later in the American market. With this album continues the first part of the Black Crystal Sword Saga; 10 songs of pure symphonic epic metal: a more powerful and symphonic sound, massive choirs, more aggressive guitars, engaging bass, keyboards and guitar solos, and the beautiful voice of Sara are the elements that make this work even more epic and exciting.


Band profile: Ancient Bards
Posted: 13.09.2011 by BudDa | Comments (5)

Dawn Of Retribution - To Disband After One Final Show

Australian death metal band Dawn Of Retribution has announced that they are disbanding after one final show, having only released one full-length album.

Here it is the official statement: "After four years, countless shows around Australia, one critically acclaimed full length album and a hell of a lot of beers it with some sadness and some optimism for the future that Dawn Of Retribution have decided to call it a day."


Posted: 13.09.2011 by Cynic Metalhead | Comments (0)

Fuck The Facts - Another New Song Online, Short Canada Tour In September

"Drift", a brand-new track from Canadian noisegrinders Fuck The Facts can now be streamed on

Another new song, entitled "A Coward's Existance", can be streamed on their Bandcamp profile.


Band profile: Fuck The Facts
Event: Fuck The Facts + Misery Index: Canada Tour 2011
Posted: 13.09.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (0)

Hypocrisy - DVD Trailer Online

Hell Over Sofia - 20 Years Of Chaos And Confusion, the new DVD from Swedish metallers Hypocrisy, will be released on October 18th in USA and on October 21st in Europe via Nuclear Blast Records. The disc will contain footage of the band's February 27, 2010 concert at the Blue Box club in Sofia, Bulgaria.

A report on the DVD shoot can be found at Tangra Mega Rock. Photos are available at this location.


Band profile: Hypocrisy
Posted: 12.09.2011 by White Winter Sun | Comments (4)

Galneryus - New Album Tracklist Revealed

The tracklist from the upcoming album of power metal outfit Galneryus, Phoenix Rising, has been revealed. The album will be released on October 5th in two formats. The limited edition includes a bonus DVD.


Band profile: Galneryus
Posted: 12.09.2011 by Flower Metal | Comments (2)

Aura Noir - To Re-Release Black Thrash Attack

Peaceville Records official statement

"As the band is set to invade Europe this month, Aura Noir's cult debut album Black Thrash Attack is to be released by Peaceville Records this October on vinyl pre-order here & CD pre-order at this location."

"The album has been fully re-mastered by Aggressor from the band, & includes a bonus track in the shape of a cover of Venom's 'Heavens On Fire".


Band profile: Aura Noir
Posted: 12.09.2011 by Cynic Metalhead | Comments (6)

Van Canto - New Video Online

A cappella power metal band Van Canto have released a new video for their new song "The Seller Of Souls", which comes off of their upcoming new album Break The Silence, which will come out on September 23rd via Napalm Records.


Band profile: Van Canto
Posted: 12.09.2011 by Angel_Lament | Comments (7)

Lifelover - Guitarist B Passes Away

In a statement on their Facebook page, Lifelover announced the passing away of their guitarist and main composer, B aka Nattdal. The shows in Aarschot and Rotterdam were played, but in quite a different form. In Aarschot, the band played four songs as a tribute to their lost brother.


Band profile: Lifelover
Posted: 12.09.2011 by Zergaloth | Comments (19)

Sonata Arctica - DVD Tracklist And Artwork Revealed

Finnish metallers Sonata Arctica have revealed the cover artwork for their new DVD as well as the tracklist. The main show was recorded at Teatria in Oulu, Finland on April 15th, 2011. The release also includes material from the band's own Sonata Arctica Open Air Festival held in Kemi, their hometown, in August 2009 as well as documentaries, making of's and music videos, as with their previous DVD, the band once again recorded a commentary track for the main show (in Finnish). For the complete tracklist, see below. Live In Finland will be released on November 11th, 2011.


Band profile: Sonata Arctica
Posted: 12.09.2011 by BudDa | Comments (9)

Opeth - Entire New Album Streaming Online

Heritage, the new album from Swedish prog metallers Opeth, is now streaming in its entirety at NPR.

Heritage is set for a September 20th release via Roadrunner records. More information about the album was previous reported over here and here.


Band profile: Opeth
Posted: 12.09.2011 by BudDa | Comments (49)

Therion - Lori Lewis Gets Permanent Status

We are happy to announce that Lori Lewis have obtained permanent status in Therion. She has been a fantastic partner of the band being a great friend and making the best operatic performance known to the metal world for several years. Now she will also be an active part of the creative process behind the making of our future releases. We know fans will agree when we say she is one of a kind and have a natural place in the band now and in the future.

Band profile: Therion
Posted: 11.09.2011 by Angel_Lament | Comments (15)

Anubis Gate - Entire New Album Streaming Online

The entire upcoming self-titled album from Danish prog/power metal band Anubis Gate is now streaming online at this location.

The fifth album of the band will be released in two days, on September 13th, via Nightmare Records. Previous album details, including cover art and tracklist were previously reported over here.


Band profile: Anubis Gate
Posted: 11.09.2011 by Cynic Metalhead | Comments (2)