Metal news

Sonata Arctica - Touring Europe In 2011

In February and March 2011 Finnish power metallers Sonata Arctica will be touring Europe again. There will be a special show among these on February 27th as the band will record their second live DVD at Alcatraz, Milan. Here's the list of confirmed dates:

Feb. 25 - Petöfi Csarnok - Budapest, Hungary
Feb. 26 - Cvetlicarna - Ljubljana, Slovenia
Feb. 27 - Alcatraz - Milan, Italy
Mar. 01 - Masters of Rock Café - Zlín, Czech Republic
Mar. 02 - Szene - Vienna, Austria
Mar. 04 - Kaminwerk - Memmingen, Germany
Mar. 05 - HsD - Erfurt, Germany
Mar. 06 - Hof ter Lo - Antwerp, Belgium
Mar. 07 - Garage - Saarbrücken, Germany
Mar. 08 - Z7 - Pratteln, Switzerland
Mar. 10 - Theatre Barbey - Bordeaux, France
Mar. 11 - Apolo - Barcelona, Spain
Mar. 12 - La Riviera - Madrid, Spain
Mar. 13 - Rock Star Live - Bilbao, Spain
Mar. 15 - Transbordeur - Lyon, France
Mar. 16 - Élysée Montmartre - Paris, France
Mar. 18 - Wulfrun Hall - Wolverhampton, UK
Mar. 19 - Corporation - Sheffield, UK
Mar. 20 - Garage - Glasgow, UK
Mar. 22 - Academy 2 - Manchester, UK
Mar. 23 - Milennium Music Hall - Cardiff, UK
Mar. 24 - Sub 89 - Reading, UK
Mar. 25 - Koko - London, UK
Mar. 26 - Essigfabrik - Cologne, Germany
Mar. 27 - Effenaar - Eindhoven, Holland
Mar. 29 - Patronaat - Haarlem, Holland
Mar. 30 - Halle Gartlage - Osnabrück, Germany
Mar. 31 - Substage - Karlsruhe, Germany


Band profile: Sonata Arctica
Event: Sonata Arctica
Posted: 14.09.2010 by Janne | Comments (4)

Korpiklaani - To Record New Album In 2010

Finnish folk metallers Korpiklaani have posted a lengthy band update and year recap on their website. You can read the whole message here. In what appears to be the band's New Year's resolution, Korpiklaani have announced the shocking news they will enter the studio again somewhere this year to record - surprise surprise - yet another album.

"We are looking forward to 2010... Our second USA/Canada Paganfest Tour will start soon, just a couple of days before we take the plane again, and move to the USA and Canada for a couple of weeks, and play daily gigs. And... we can pack our suitcases again soon after this for the South America Tour, which is rescheduled for March. In the meantime we will play some gigs in our beloved homeland. As always, a lot of expectations, a lot of questions, and a lot of (hopefully good) surprises ahead. Also in 2010 we plan to go to the studio again to record a new album, which title is still a secret... also to us. And of course we hope, and guess, that we will meet many of our old and new fans. That really keeps us going! A happy new year to you all, and see you in 2010!"


Band profile: Korpiklaani
Posted: 02.01.2010 by Janne | Comments (38)

Dalriada - New Album Artwork And Tracklist Revealed

Hungarian folk metallers, Dalriada have announced the cover artwork and song titles of their upcoming album "Arany-Album". The album contains poems of János Arany (one of the greatest Hungarian poets) and will be released at the end of September via Hammer Records.

"Arany-Album" cover art] tracklist:

01. Ágnes Asszony (Part 1-2)
02. Bor Vitéz
03. János Pap Országa
04. Szent László (Part 1-2)
05. Zách Klára
06. A Rab Gólya
07. A Walesi Bárdok (Part 1-3)
08. Szondi Két Apródja (Part 1-2)


Band profile: Dalriada
Posted: 19.08.2009 by Janne | Comments (34)

Dalriada - Keyboardist Left The Band

Due to personal conflits András Kurz (keyboards) left the band in the beginning of the year. The replacement will be announced on the band's official website soon.

More info about the band on


Band profile: Dalriada
Posted: 28.01.2009 by Janne | Comments (1)

Tűzmadár - New EP Available For Free Download

Tűzmadár's new EP "Volt egy álmom..." was released online! You can download the tracks free in good quality on the band's official website. The band would like to ask everybody to spread the album so it gets to as many people as possible. The album will also be released in CD format soon, so you will be able to order it in the shop menu.


Band profile: Tűzmadár
Posted: 23.12.2008 by Janne | Comments (3)

Falchion - Line-Up Changes

Falchion, the Folk-ish melodeath band featuring Korpiklaani and Crystalic members, have posted the following short update on their website:

"For Miikka Tulimäki has left Falchion due to personal reasons the new second guitar player of Falchion from now on is Toni Tieaho, also involved in the band called Crystalic."


Band profile: Falchion
Posted: 14.12.2008 by Janne | Comments (4)

Dalriada - New Bassist Announced

Hungarian Folk metal band Dalriada have announced their line up is complete again. According to a posting on the band's official website, Imre Cserdi was already replacing György Varga (former bassist) as a tour musician in Autumn. Now the band has found a permanent bassist in Istvan Molnar, a friend of the band from the village Sopron. From now on he's a full-time member and new bass player of Dalriada.

More info about the band on


Band profile: Dalriada
Posted: 14.12.2008 by Janne | Comments (6)

Bornholm - New Song Available For Streaming

Bornholm has finished working on their upcoming album "March For Glory And Revenge". A new song, called "The Call Of The Heathen Horns", is available for streaming on the band's official MySpace page.


Band profile: Bornholm
Posted: 31.10.2008 by Janne | Comments (2)

Korpiklaani - Japanese Bonus Track Online

The Japanese bonus track from the latest album "Korven Kuningas" called "Kipakka" is now available for streaming online over at the official Korpiklaani MySpace.

A comment from the band reads as follows: "We got several requests to put our instrumental "Kipakka" on our MySpace, since this bonustrack only appears on our Japanese albums. Finally the message came through the misty haze caused by all beers, and here it is! And in the process we got the right mood and also replaced "Northern Fall" by "Metsämies". There we stopped to take another beer, and well, the mood was so cool that we forgot about replacing the rest."


Band profile: Korpiklaani
Posted: 04.10.2008 by Janne | Comments (7)

Edguy - Tracklist Of The New Album

Edguy have just revealed the track list of their new album "Tinnitus Sanctus" which will be released on November 14th.
The song titles read as follows:

01. Ministry Of Saints
02. Sex Fire Religion
03. The Pride Of Creation
04. Nine Lives
05. Wake Up Dreaming Black
06. Dragonfly
07. Thorn Without A Rose
08. 9-2-9
09. Speedhoven
10. Dead Or Rock
11. Aren't You A Little Pervert, Too?

Check out an e-card for "Tinnitus Sanctus" at this location.


Band profile: Edguy
Posted: 27.09.2008 by Janne | Comments (16)