Sentenced - New Album Finished

After spending about 2 months in different studios the new album is finally finished. Its total running time is 49:53 and the following titles are included:

1. May Today Become the Day
2. Ever-Frost
3. We Are But Falling Leaves
4. Her Last 5 Minutes
5. Where Waters Fall Frozen
6. Despair-Ridden Hearts
7. Vengeance Is Mine
8. A Long Way To Nowhere
9. Consider Us Dead
10. Lower The Flags
11. Drain Me
12. Karu
13. End Of The Road.

The album was recorded mainly at Finnvox and Tonebox studios (both in Finland), and mixed & mastered at Finnvox. The man on the producer chair was again Hiili Hiilesmaa, who also produced our 2 previous albums "Crimson" and "The Cold White Light".

What you can expect is a variation of different kinds of songs, and for sure some surprises. In addition to the traditional instruments we used everything from scissors, zippers, compressed air and spoons to harmonicas and a children choir… but not to worry: as far as I understand anything anymore, we still have managed to maintain a sense of style.

The general feel and overall sound are more aggressive than on our latest few albums, but there are also songs that are based more on emotion and atmosphere. Lyrical themes include death (surprise, surprise?), life, loss, love, unity, disappointment and revenge, but only to start with. Overall there's perhaps more depth in the lyrics, as well as in the music, than ever before. I think some, if not all songs will definitely take a dozen spins before fully "opening" to the listener.

Well, enough words. This was the most intense, stressful, emotional and rewarding album session I have ever gone through. We are proud of what we have done and eager to hand it over to you for listening. That will be in April.

Until then, take care.



Source: The Official Homepage]
Band profile: Sentenced
Posted: 15.01.2005 by Malcolm

Hits total: 1133 | This month: 7