Dew-Scented - Announce Line-Up Changes

German death/thrash metallers Dew-Scented have announced new line-up changes. The band comments: "The new line-up (re-)introduces Marvin Vriesde (Severe Torture, ex Blo.Torch) as main guitarist and songwriter."

Dew-Scented's vocalist Leif Jensen comments as follows: "I'm more than proud to be able to present you a new chapter in the history of Dew-Scented! By early 2011, after 4 weeks of European touring with Nile, it showed clearly that our previous Invocation line-up was collapsing and one member after another left the fold for different reasons. We decided to play some final festival shows together in the summer and then after Party.San Open Air and Brutal Assault Festival, Dew-Scented went away from the spotlight in order to re-group and regain new focus. And here we finally are again, back with an improved line-up and a really strong new album coming up in July: Icarus!"

Jensen adds: "I'm truly happy to have finally managed to team up with my buddy Marvin in Dew-Scented. Being one of my closest friends in music and the band's 'longest running companion', it's amazing to be able to finally put the band's musical present and future in his hands, giving our music a new safe home with his talent and dedication. I can't wait for you all to hear the great start-up results we achieved with Icarus!"

Marvin Vriesde checks in to comment as follows: "Me and Dew-Scented have a long history together. I helped the band out on several occasions in the past, studio as well as live situations. So when Leif suggested joining forces for real on the new record I was thrilled! This allowed me to write Dew-Scented songs that I would really want to hear from the band, from a fan's point of view."

Drummer Koen Herfst (I Chaos, live session for Epica) and bassist Joost van der Graaf (I Chaos, ex Creepmime) rounded off the Icarus line-up organically, as Vriesde explains in regards to the pre-production process for the new album: "The writing process went really smooth and focused. Me and Leif were bouncing all these awesome ideas around. We realized that these songs deserved to be recorded in the best form possible. That's why I asked a good local friend of mine, Koen Herfst, to handle the drums. On his turn he brought in Joost van der Graaf to handle the bass duties for the album. Both are amazing musicians... and that's what sets Icarus apart for me. I think everyone brought something extra to the table, which really took the album to a higher level. Icarus is a really heavy album, but it somehow has a darker feel to it in comparison to the previous Dew-Scented albums."

Last but not least, guitarist Rory Hansen (I Chaos, ex Blo.Torch) was added to the band's ranks as second guitarist shortly after the album recordings. On recommendation of all the other three new members, his presence paves the way for a really skilled and menacing dual-guitar-team.

The new Dew Scented line-up will make their debut shows on July 20th at Metalsplash Festival and July 21st at Queens Of Metal Festival in order to also present the Icarus material live on stage in perfect timing for the album's release.

New line-up:

Rory Hansen - Guitars
Marvin Vriesde - Guitars
Leif Jensen - Vocals
Joost van der Graaf - Bass
Koen Herfst - Drums

Band profile: Dew-Scented
Posted: 16.05.2012 by Abattoir

Hits total: 1458 | This month: 18