Heavy metallers Saxon are gearing up to deliver their newest album Sacrifice, which comes out on February 22nd in Europe and February 26th, 2013 in North America through UDR. For their 20th album, Saxon have produced 10 songs in what will be the successor to their last album Call To Arms.

"Less tricks, more power!" says frontman and founding father Biff Byford, "my brief to the band was to be raw, be real and not be afraid to look back at the old classic material for inspiration."

The album was recorded at LS Studios in Yorkshire and was produced by Byford with Andy Sneap mixing and engineering by Jacky Lehmann. Besides the new material, Saxon will also be adding some unique recordings of revisited classic to certain formats of the release, also produced by Byford and mastered by Andy Sneap, including an orchestrated version of "Crusader" and an acoustic version of "Frozen Rainbow".

Sacrifice tracklist:

01. Procession
02. Sacrifice
03. Made In Belfast
04. Warriors Of The Road
05. Guardians Of The Tomb
06. Stand Up And Fight
07. Walking The Steel
08. Night Of The Wolf
09. Wheels Of Terror
10. Standing In A Queue
11. Luck Of The Draw (bonus track iTunes only)

Bonus Disc:
01. Crusader (orchestrated version)
02. Just Let Me Rock (re-recorded version)
03. Requiem (acoustic version)
04. Frozen Rainbow (acoustic version)
05. Forever Free (re-recorded version)

Source: saxon747.com
Band profile: Saxon
Posted: 16.11.2012 by BloodTears


‹‹ Back to the News
Comments: 3  
Users visited: 68  
Search this topic:  

Kalmari - 16.11.2012 at 14:25  
Can't wait for this! The 2000-era Saxon has been very consistent and strong in material.
Lit. - 16.11.2012 at 16:47  
Agreed. Props on the band for believing in to "not be afraid to look back at the old classic material for inspiration."
Druss - 17.11.2012 at 02:15  
Aye, I enjoyed their latest effort, wouldn't mind this to be in the same vein.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Manilla Road - Reveal New Album Details 7 14.12.2014 by TrueMetalJope
News Pathology - Reveal New Album Details 7 06.07.2012 by Diamonds
News Giant Squid - Reveal New Album Details 7 25.09.2014 by Hex_Omega
News Sigh - Reveal New Album Details 7 27.02.2015 by Dima
News Xandria - Reveal New Album Details 7 07.01.2014 by

Hits total: 1614 | This month: 6