The Flower Kings - Announce The Release Of A New Double Album

On October 30th, progressive rockers The Flower Kings will put out a brand new double album, dubbed Islands, via Inside Out Music, just a year after Waiting For Miracles. The 92 minutes long "Islands" features artwork by legend Roger Dean and all trademark sounds and melodies, the band is renowned for. From vintage keys to epic guitar solos, from odd drum patterns to symphonic elements, The Flower Kings present a dynamic and complex record that is bold, bombastic and beautiful.

Due to the Covid-19-pandemic, the album comes out quite a bit sooner than originally planned as the band's creative mastermind Roine Stolt explains: "All shows and festivals were cancelled and the future didn't really 'unfold' itself like we had hoped. To sit out the pandemic with no activities was not an option for us! We can't be stopped by an evil virus! So, with members living in the USA, Italy, Austria and Sweden, the only way to realize this album, was to use the magic of the 'net', sending files around the globe and start building what now has become a mammoth-sized double album of 21 songs."

Stolt reveals the following about the concept of the record: "The theme of the album is isolation - so the title 'Islands' felt like a most relevant title - as much of it circulates around isolation, loss, and the fear of being disconnected. Having to face this unexpected pandemic will leave marks on each one of us for a very long time and to lose loved ones forces us to soldier on, learning and growing a stronger version of ourselves in this fragile cycle of life.

"Musically; the aim has been to create a bigger grand epic piece out of 21 songs - so they are all connected with themes that weave in and out - like the way 'Sgt Peppers' or 'The Lamb' were built on shorter songs, but yet linked. So view it as one mega song or as 21 separate pieces, it is all tailored to be listened to as one piece - like a cinematic 90min long ride."

Disc One:
01 - Racing With Blinders On
02 - From The Ground
03 - Black Swan
04 - Morning News
05 - Broken
06 - Goodbye Outrage
07 - Journeyman
08 - Tangerine
09 - Solaris
10 - Heart Of The Valley
11- Man In A Two Peace Suit

Disc Two:
01 - All I Need Is Love
02 - A New Species
03 - Northern Lights
04 - Hidden Angles
05 - Serpentine
06 - Looking For Answers
07 -Telescope
08 - Fool's Gold
09 - Between Hope & Fear
10 - Islands

Islands will be available as massive Limited 3LP & 2CD box set with slipcase and 180 gram vinyl housed in two gatefolds, one single sleeve; as Limited Edition 2CD Digipak and Digital Album. Presales will start September 11th, 2020.

Band profile: The Flower Kings
Posted: 04.09.2020 by conscientiousnes


‹‹ Back to News
Comments: 1   Visited by: 2 users
11.09.2020 - 23:09
Heaven Knight
Here comes the first song:

My rest seems now calm and deep
Finally I got my dead man sleep


Hits total: 346 | This month: 346