Winds - New Album Info

The following message was posted on Winds's label website The End Records:

"The Norwegian classical/progressive metal band Winds is back with the follow-up to their acclaimed 2004 opus "The Imaginary Direction of Time". The band has worked extensively on the new record over the last three years, and after undergoing the most complex recording process in the band's career so far, the new album finally saw completion in April of 2007.

This is the band's fourth recording together as a unit, and although the four individuals behind Winds have been making music together for over ten years already, they are probably still more known for their individual efforts with their other bands rather than their collective work in Winds. This may very well be about to change with the September 4th release of "Prominence and Demise".

Back this time with a massive undertaking that clocks in at over 55 minutes of music, Winds delivers once again their most elaborate and trilling effort so far. "Prominence and Demise" is a more edgy album than its predecessor, it contains longer tracks, and it can easily be called the band's heaviest album to date. Yet it still retains the classical elements and virtuoso guitar work that makes up the trademark of Winds' sound.

(To read the full press release got to this location.)

"Prominence and Demise" features the creative core of Winds:
Lars E. Si - Vocals (Age of Silence, Before the Dawn, ex. Khold, Sensa Anima, Tulus)
Carl August Tidemann - Guitars (Tritonus, ex. Arcturus)
Jan Axel von Blomberg - Drums (Age of Silence, Arcturus, Mayhem, Dimmu Borgir, ex. Kovenant)
Andy Winter - Keys (Age of Silence, Sculptured, ex. Subterranean Masquerade)

Four esteemed guests:
Agnete M. Kirkevaag - Soprano Voices (Madder Mortem)
Lars Nedland - Alto Voices (Age of Silence, Borknagar, Solefald)
Dan Swanö - Tenor Voices (Edge of Sanity, Nightingale, Second Sky, ex. Bloodbath)
Øystein Moe - Bass (ex. Tritonus, Ulver)

Also appearing from the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra:
Andre Orvik - First Violin
Vegard Johnsen - Second Violin
Dorthe Dreier - Viola
Hans Josef Groh - Cello

The artwork (click here to watch it) was created by Travis Smith (Opeth, Amorphis, Devin Townsend), who has been a collaborator with the band ever since the first full length album. The album was recorded in various studios around Norway, mixed at Hipposonic in Vancouver, Canada, and mastered at Sterling Sound in New York. The End Records invites you to step into the universe of Winds, and to partake in the profound journey known as "Prominence and Demise".

"Prominence And Demise" Tracklisting:

01. Universal Creation Array
02. Distorted Dimensions
03. The Grand Design
04. When the Dream of Paradise Died
05. Fall and Rise
06. The Darkest Path
07. Convictions and Contradictions
08. Where the Cold Winds Blow
09. The Last Line

Band profile: Winds
Posted: 03.07.2007 by White Winter Sun


‹‹ Back to News
Comments: 1   Visited by: 0 users
05.07.2007 - 18:10
La Luna
YAY I can't wait

''Love is like a Ghost ...Everyone talks about it , but only a few have seen it ''

Hits total: 2858 | This month: 10