Judas Priest - To Release New Live Album

Original news, posted on 18.05.2009

As posted today on the official Judas Priest website: Judas Priest will shortly be releasing a LIVE ALBUM consisting of eleven tracks - all previously unreleased in a live version! The album is due out in JULY 2009 and will be entitled: "Judas Priest - A Touch Of Evil - LIVE"

All of the tracks were recorded throughout the JUDAS PRIEST WORLD TOURS in 2005 and 2008. More information to follow shortly!"

UPDATE (thanks to -Morbid-)

Official press release

As the creators of a live release that is considered to be one of the all-time great concert recordings in the realm of heavy metal (1979's "Unleashed In The East"), whenever Judas Priest announce a new live album, metalheads worldwide instantly take note. And on "A Touch of Evil: Live" (due for release in July 2009 via Sony Music and Epic Records), the mighty Priest - which includes singer Rob Halford, guitarists Glenn Tipton and KK Downing, bassist Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis - doesn't disappoint. Focusing primarily on fan-revered album cuts (all previously unreleased in live form on CD), "A Touch of Evil: Live" features absolutely scintillating renditions of such Priest gems as "Riding on the Wind," "Beyond the Realms of Death," "Dissident Aggressor," "A Touch of Evil," "Eat Me Alive," and the set-closing "Painkiller." Also of note are the first live album appearances of standouts from Priest's critically acclaimed 2008 concept double disc, 'Nostradamus' ("Death" and "Prophecy").

Recorded by Martin Walker and Brian Thorene during the Judas Priest's mammoth 2005 and 2008 world tours, "A Touch of Evil: Live" also marks the first Priest album that producer Tom Allom has worked on since 1988 (co-producing along with the band). It was such Allom-produced albums as the aforementioned "Unleashed in the East," as well as "British Steel" and "Screaming for Vengeance" (among others) that made Priest not only one of the premier metal acts, but one of the leading global rock acts. As heard throughout "A Touch of Evil: Live," Priest remain a must-see live act... and a must-hear one, as well.

"A Touch of Evil: Live" [cover artwork] tracklisting:

01. Judas Rising
02. Hellrider
03. Between the Hammer & the Anvil
04. Riding on the Wind
05. Death
06. Beyond the Realms of Death
07. Dissident Aggressor
08. A Touch of Evil
09. Eat Me Alive
10. Prophecy
11. Painkiller

Source: judaspriest.com
Band profile: Judas Priest
Posted: 27.05.2009 by Baz Anderson

Comments page 2 / 2

‹‹ Back to News
Comments: 31   Visited by: 169 users
03.06.2009 - 10:53
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I can't understand that bands claim that their live album will only consist of songs "all previously unreleased in a live version!" when in fact on this one at least two songs were already featured on Live In London. Okay, that album doesn't have Rob on vocals, but IT WAS A Judas Preist LIVE album.
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996


Hits total: 5102 | This month: 6