04. Tired Of Being Alive
05. I'm The One
06. Her Black Wings
07. Devil's Plaything
08. 777
09. Blood And Tears
10. Girl
11. Pain In The World

Any Danzig fan who has Danzig loving friends has to experience the ongoing argument; "Danzig I", or "Lucifuge"? I thought I was pretty convinced on which one was my pick, until I studied "Lucifuge" to write this review...now I'm very conflicted.

I push play...in comes a slide down the fret board, followed by a few chords struck, it sounds as if we're about to spiral down into something dark and sinister. Enter in the fast paced high hat strikes, quickly followed by a steady chugging bass line, that's when you know this opening track is about to break into a driving hard-rock work of art. This has to be the perfect intro for this blues-soaked heap of dirty rock n' roll that's about to be thrown at you.

Before I get into the nitty-gritty, let me discuss some of the progress Danzig has made between the debut and the album at hand. In the first Danzig album we seemed to find a heavy sound of punk-influenced hard rock, with this album the punk is toned down and almost completely taken over by blues-riffage. The "stripped-down 4-piece idea" that Rick Rubin had planned with the first album is thrown out the window, production is a lot more meticulous, and far deeper sounding; in return the band sounds a lot tighter.