Metal Storm logo
Help with tremolo picking.

04.03.2008 - 03:38
Hylia
Well I just started playing guitar again after a couple of years and I'm currently learning the tremolo picking part in the song Little Dreamer by Ensiferum. Since I'm pretty new to guitar, I picked up tremolo picking relatively fast ,however after a couple of weeks without playing the song, Ive sort of lost my technique and now I'm struggling to get the sound I used to get. It 's not just with this song, it applies to any song with tremolo picking involved, and although I've been practicing like crazy, I still cant get it. Also when I pick I slightly rest my palm on the guitar body and I use my wrist rather than my arm to pick. Any suggestions as to how I can improve my technique or what I am doing wrong.
04.03.2008 - 18:17
Soliloquy
well, the first thing i would have suggested is to keep your strumming hand on the bridge of the guitar. but seems you are already doing it.

humm, what i usually do is grab some sort of VERY sharp pick between my thum, index and middle. kind of like holding a pen. and then instead of having the pick going parallel to the strings, i put it at a slight angle. its either at a right angle(90 degrees) to the strings, or at a 45 degree angle(this technique usually helps with sweep picking too. less resistance, and the pick just glides over the string). instead of moving your fingers to play, lock them, and the only movment you make is with your elbow. i mean, keep your hand on the bridge, so your entire hand doesnt move back and forth. then start moving your elbow kind of like what you do with an eraser. it should help. atleast, thats what i do when i tremolo pick.
----

now get on your knees and worship me!
-Zakk Wylde
04.03.2008 - 19:29
Stalker
Lone wanderer