10. Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven
11. Shogun
12. Poison, The Knife Or The Noose [Special Ltd. Edition bonus]
13. Upon The Shores [Special Ltd. Edition bonus]
14. Iron Maiden [Iron Maiden cover] [Special Ltd. Edition bonus]

Disc II [DVD]
+ The Making Of Shogun
+ Shogun: The Riffs - Instructional Videos

Trivium's latest album Shogun is one of the pleasant surprises for me this year, although I am new to the band and to the genre they play, which I would define as Thrash/Metalcore. To Thrash I am of course not new, but Metalcore is something that has never attracted me, but as I said Shogun surprised me, and I do think it deserves some attention from fans of both old school Thrash and all kinds of new bands that represent the genre. To be frank I was even a little blown away by this album after just the second listen, and I was even thinking about reviewing this album without checking out the rest of Trivium's discography, but I did listen to the other three albums, so the review will be objective.

So what actually astonished me so much? Very simple; the songwriting. I am a fan of catchy songs, which Shogun has in abundance. Songs like "Kirisute Gomen," "Torn Between Scylla and Charybdis," the chorus on "Insurrection," to which I just want to bang my head and never stop, and, of course, the epic title track "Shogun" are examples. Most of other songs are great as well. They basically follow the same formula, which Trivium have used throughout all their albums: Metallica, Iron Maiden, and other great bands-influenced riffs, a combination of clean metalcorish vocals with grunts/shrieks, intense drumming, well-executed tasteful solos and great - almost flawless - production. Not much in the originality department, I agree, but this doesn't spoil my impression of this album because the songs are really good. And after all, being original is not the point of making music.