Style: Atmospheric black metal, Pagan black metal
Release date: July 2009

01. Days That Passed
02. Distant Cries Of Cranes
03. Decadence
04. Ars Poetica
05. Everything Unsaid Before
06. Widow's Grief

One of the few subjects of music pride for my country, Drudkh, gladdened me with their new album Microcosmos. And once again they prove to be one of the greatest bands in the black metal world, which I am no expert of, but I just dig good music, especially when there are some catchy melodies involved, and they are quite abundant on this record. Some are quite naturally dark and sinister; some are rather uplifting ("Ars Poetica"); some straightforward and punishing; some intricate and melodic. Microcosmos has a big deal of riff changes and acoustic breaks. You don't get bored with this one.

Well, there is not a lot more to say about this album. Drudkh continue to do their thing. The distorted, melancholic, melodic, depressive, sometimes groovy guitar sound is still with us, and it just pleases the ear. As a bonus we get two cool-sounding solos at the beginning of "Everything Unsaid Before," and they couldn't fit more into the song. There is also a solo on "Distant Cry Of Cranes," but it's not as good. The unadulterated bass, which, as some may know, I am a huge fan of, makes this record complete. The bass is raw and alive; it adds to the character of the album. The overall sound is as usually crusty, cryptic and of course kvlt. I also personally find Microcosmos better recorded than its predecessor Estrangement. I would actually go as far as saying that this is Drudkh's best-recorded album.

I had to give this one quite a few spins before taking it for it really is, but for most fans of the band and the particular sound they employ, Microcosmos should be easy to digest. The optimum length of just over 40 minutes only makes it easier. So does the number of tracks: four real songs plus an intro and outro. Go ahead and buy it. Microcosmos is definitely worth your money.