Metal Storm logo
This is where to find post/sludge/atmospheric metal suggestions

13.05.2011 - 12:48
Deadsoulman
Elite
I see no one has mentioned Black Shape Of Nexus. Absolutely crushing, utterly riff-based sludge (except the Microbarome Meetings album which is pure drone) from Germany. They have a couple of releases available for download on their website, especially the Live in Mannheim tape is devastating. I've given a shot to pretty much their whole discography and you can't go wrong with these guys.
24.05.2011 - 07:38
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
Written by BitterCOld on 19.02.2011 at 20:01

Tossing some seconds, and some firsts which might be obvious... just in case a total noob the genre also checks in here looking for suggestions:

Neurosis
Minsk
Ufomammut
Dukatalon
Bongripper

And some firsts:

Tombs (Sludge meets urban Black)
Shrinebuilder (all star project)
Torche (happy fun stuff partially rooted in sludge)
Eibon (equal parts sludge, doom, black... we popped in sludge/stoner for hte 2010 MSA's)
High On Fire
Kylesa
Baroness (perhaps light, but with some 70's prog rock and post stuff)

I've heard all of those. I actually decided to check out dukatalon because of your review, I had seen the album around but never really checked them out. Definitely a good find for me
Any other suggestions?
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
24.05.2011 - 07:51
BitterCOld
The Ancient One
Admin
Written by Spirit Molecule on 24.05.2011 at 07:38

I've heard all of those. I actually decided to check out dukatalon because of your review, I had seen the album around but never really checked them out. Definitely a good find for me
Any other suggestions?

minsk, buzzov*en, acid bath have been mentioned earlier.

indian might be another.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.

Beer Bug Virus Spotify Playlist crafted by Nikarg and I. Feel free to tune in and add some pertinent metal tunes!
24.05.2011 - 12:29
Spirit Molecule