Metal Storm logo
Favorite Music Format For Metal

Poll

When it comes to listeng to metal, what is the best way to do it?

CD
.mp3
Don't Care
Vinyl
.wav/FLAC
Depends on band/style (Specify)
Other (Specify)
Cassettes

Total votes: 74
03.03.2013 - 19:37
squidrick420
I am asking this because I am currently a music technology student in training to become a studio engineer and record some metal bands as well as play in some. The purpose of this post is so that I can get an idea of what kinds of ways people prefer their metal and then use the right technology to get the best possible recordings for bands.

As for my answer, it depends on the genre/band. I prefer vinyl for doom, heavy metal, black metal, and some thrash. Cassettes are awesome in my opinion; I really enjoy them for thrash, death, and black metal in particular (also blues). CD's can be good or bad for anything, it all depends on the recording process and not as much the bands.
04.03.2013 - 00:54
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Well defenetly vinly and CD is the best because its orginal, I like put on CD player , take a bocklet and listen, I dont like cassetes so much, ou can fuck up the tape and then you need use a glue (Maybe Marcel will explain why) .... whatever on PC I dont feel diference, but I prefere good studio mastering no metter what kind of format it is
----
I stand whit Ukraine and Israel. They have right to defend own citizens.

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''
apos;'
[image]
I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
04.03.2013 - 02:35
Lit.
Account deleted
I honestly couldn't give anymore of a rat's ass which one it comes out on. Just want to listen to it.
04.03.2013 - 18:07
Valentin B
Iconoclast
I know this is not exactly "metal" but I prefer mp3's because they are extremely easy to carry around and transfer. Like for example if a person asks for my band's music I just send an mp3 with a recording of ours.