Metal Storm logo
The 2010s for metal: New movements/genres? Or "stale"? Discussion.

29.01.2020 - 18:18
Desha
delicious dish
So recently I was thinking since i got a bit bombarded with popular music's new movements:
Was metal in the 2010s a bit... stale? As in, what was the big new thing? When I look back on albums I loved from this decade (which I assure you was a lot), I see mostly odd ones out. Maybe interesting takes on already existing genres, or just straight up great records that don't necessarily do anything groundbreaking.
Maybe it's my taste, but have there been any new "genres" popping up as far as you guys can remember it (like all around the 80s and 90s extreme metal genres)? Or a big new movement (2000s new prog waves or dissonant black metal becoming so big)?
It's hard to define what I mean, but maybe you get it even with this poor explaination

I'd love to hear your input - and i guess you can also use this thread to shout out music from the 2010s that you think started something new or will do that leading into the 2020s!
----
You are the hammer, I am the nail
building a house in the fire on the hill
29.01.2020 - 19:29
Ansercanagicus
endangered bird
Igorrr, Pryapisme, Hardcore Anal Hydrogen and maybe more for breakcore + metal + lots of funny stuff being randomly thrown into the songs

And I don't know if I can link this to metal, but France is generally pushing a lot of electronic music, with Carpenter Brut, Perturbator, The Algorithm...
Master Boot Record is also on MS for that matter
----
30.01.2020 - 02:41
Czerny Reiter

In general, the decade seems to have been one of maturation of previous trends rather than the setting of new ones.

Post-Black definitely got a few tentpoles, Alcest's Ecailles de Lune, Fen's Malediction Fields, Deafheaven's Roads to Judah and Altar of Plague's White Tomb all being released around the start of the decade.