Reviews
Ereb Altor - Nattramn

From Gefle, Sweden hail Ereb Altor, a band playing a mix of pagan and black metal, with their new album Nattramn. Many people compare them with the almighty Bathory, their epic and pagan era to be precise. If this holds true we shall find out, but what can already be said is that the music is indeed epic.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.05.2015 by Windrider | Comments (10)

Reviews
Blliigghhtted - Zeroes

If there's one deadly sin that will get me killed, it's sloth. Shit, I even get threats of ass-whoppings if I fail to do my job. Like with this review for the Turkish Blliigghhtted. Sounds weird? Yeah, but I'm too afraid to say it to their faces.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.05.2015 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (5)

Reviews
Faith No More - Sol Invictus

Faith No More are back "From The Dead" with Sol Invictus, their first new release in 18 years. Sooooo is SI "Epic"? Maybe Album Of The Year? Or are you concerned "Everything's Ruined"? When it comes to Faith No More, well, for many of us, "We Care A Lot."

Read more ››
Posted: 04.05.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (41)

Reviews
Kamelot - Haven

Roy Khan is back!

Read more ››
Posted: 03.05.2015 by Ag Fox | Comments (52)

Reviews
Undersmile - Anhedonia

When considering the use of female vocals in metal, the thing I tend to notice is that many typically envision them as needing to be bright, airy, and high pitched... that is, giving off a more "pretty" tone than is typically found from vocals in the genre. Enter an alternative to this rather dull idea in the form of the UK's Undersmile, a doom foursome fronted by two ladies, who, while keeping things beautiful, also prefer to take their sound in a more crushing, perhaps bleaker direction.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.04.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (9)

Reviews
Apothecary - Drifting Towards The Ancients

So about a month ago, a little-known band from the States called Apothecary contacted me, asking me if I'd like to review an album of theirs. After ruling out my initial theory that the band was simply my older self sending recordings to my younger self from the future, I sat down for some music that, while somewhat trite, nonetheless has a lot of potential lurking within it.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.04.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (10)

Reviews
Tribulation - The Children Of The Night

The journey these Swedes have made is without a doubt one of the more interesting ones in the modern death metal scene.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.04.2015 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (12)

Reviews
Sigh - Graveward

Hey, Wintersun. Listen up. You want to know how to make a proper, full-length album with hundreds upon hundreds of tracks over ten songs in only three years without constantly bitching about not having your own private studio/living space/jacuzzi, AND while still challenging both yourself and your fans with a multifarious jewel of avant-garde perfection? Take note, because Sigh have that totally locked down.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.04.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (28)

Reviews
Project Pain - Thrashed To Kill

Thrashed To Kill resulted in drinks spilled.

When last we left Project Pain, I reviewed their debut I Have Sinned, the first album of some old school Dutch thrashers. With Thrashed To Kill it seems the band has continued their thrashin' ways, gobbling up Gouda, pounding Jenever, sticking their fingers in dikes and shoving their wooden shoes up the backsides of poor posers. Thrash. Sorry, hadn't used that word in a sentence or two, needed to get it in.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.04.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (10)

Reviews
Unleashed - Dawn Of The Nine

It's been nine, count 'em, nine years since we've seen any color on an Unleashed album cover. What does this mean? Are Unleashed taking us down a path they've never taken us before? Are we going to [metaphorically] taste and smell brand new melodeath flavors and aromas?

Read more ››
Posted: 23.04.2015 by Doc Godin | Comments (7)

Reviews
Acid King - Middle Of Nowhere, Center Of Everywhere

Retro-sounding female fronted psychedelic stoner doom… but before you dismiss them as another Janey Come Lately, do realize Acid King have been kicking out the jams for more than 20 years.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.04.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (5)

Reviews
Heidevolk - Velua

Though co-lead vocalist Joris Boghtdrincker departed from Heidevolk a couple of years ago, they could not in good conscience abandon their trademark vocal harmonies, and so the barrel-chested tag-team remains intact with the new addition of Lars Vogel. At least their signature sound hasn't changed with the line-up, but Velua is a very slow starter.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.04.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Skyforger - Senprūsija

To be honest I had some reservations reviewing a folk black metal band. Given that the closest I get to either genres is Bathory one can understand my trepidation. Then to my surprise it turns out Skyforger's new album Sensprūsija offers a more multifaceted approach including large chunks of heavy and thrash metal circa 1988!

Read more ››
Posted: 16.04.2015 by deadone | Comments (1)

Reviews
Santo Rostro - II: The Bleed

"Spanish bongs in Andalucia… Stoner jams rawk balls for 39" minutes*. Pardon the intro. If it makes sense to you, you earn dos puntos frescos. If not, be sure to check out The Clash… but only after getting sonically plowed by Santo Rostro.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.04.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (5)

Reviews
Three Steps To The Ocean - Migration Light

Three Steps To The Ocean are a four-piece instrumental band from Italy. They have been around for quite a while, having released three records since 2007. They play a specific style of atmospheric post rock/metal with some sludge, doom and experimental touches. Migration Light is the fourth title in their catalog, continuing what has been one of more remarkable "fly under the radar" kind of rides I have ever seen. It's been a very secretive trudge through the desensitized network of post rock/metal for Three Steps To The Ocean, and they may be one of the best bands doing it that you've never heard of.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.04.2015 by tea[m]ster | Comments (2)

Reviews
Six Feet Under - Crypt Of The Devil

Chris Barnes ruins everything.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.04.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (28)

Pages: 1 [2] 3