Reviews
Idol Of Fear - All Sights Affixed, Ablaze

Avoiding any genre classifications, Idol Of Fear presents us dark metal as cold as their Canadian dwellings. I guess at times I'd call this black metal with flair but at other times that feels completely wrong. There is much melody to be had, and enticing guitarwork, but the gruesome vocals and tightly suspended atmosphere bring to mind harsher metal offerings. It's like Idol Of Fear didn't fit in with the cool kids at black metal school so he started hanging out with the other rejects and got really into the occult and rebelled by playing melodic music. Or something.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (0)

Reviews
Obituary - Inked In Blood

One could be forgiven for ignoring Obituary's new album Inked In Blood. After all, how different can one expect it to be, given that the band effectively stalled their sound in 1990 and seldom bothered adding anything new? In some ways they would be right, but Inked In Blood somewhat rejuvenates the Obituary sound.

On the surface this is the Obituary we all know. However, there are some differences that make this a far more interesting release then the last spate of Obituary comeback albums.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.11.2014 by deadone | Comments (4)

Reviews
Lyria - Catharsis

This is the kind of album that is impossible for me to resist. Self-released, with a huge help from a crowdfunding campaign, and one that rewards the listener with endless enthusiasm, warmth, and easily one of my favorite songs of the year. Lyria's Catharsis is at once symphonic, heavily dosed in alternative, and melodic at every turn.

My first exposure to the album was with the video track, "Jester," a song that does not waste time with experimenting or trying too hard to be anything but what it aims to be: a superbly catchy melodic track with some stellar vocals by founder Aline Happ. The main guitar riff, played here by session guitarist and producer Celo Oliveira, is developed throughout the song fluidly with classic arrangements, from lengthy chords to front and center heaviness. Eliezer Andre's drumming delivers the backdrop that keeps the focus uptempo without overshadowing the melody, and some well-placed programming gives the song the extra touch of atmosphere.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.11.2014 by dismaleuphony | Comments (9)

Reviews
Narrow House - Thanathonaut

I've wrestled with this review for quite some time now, sort of dreading typing it up. The biggest reason for this is Narrow House is another of those more "extreme" doom bands that has migrated into far less harsh territory. In and of itself, that isn't a bad thing. See also - Ahab, Process Of Guilt.

However the band was coming off the really fantastic A Key To Panngrieb - an album that cracked my top 10 of a 2012 that was chock full o' awesome albums. Coming from an album simultaneously harsh and extremely interesting, the first several spins of Thanathonaut just seemed relatively straightforward and lacking in some of the wildcard factor that made A Key intriguing.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.11.2014 by Xnoybis | Comments (2)

Reviews
Corrupt Moral Altar - Mechanical Tides

Guys, guys, do you remember this? No matter how far you'd get those fingers up your ears, you couldn't just enjoy the first few minutes of your movie because you got your eardrums punctured? Yeah, well, Mechanical Tides starts exactly like that: with a loud bang that you will only associate with good memories in the future.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.11.2014 by Ilham | Comments (5)

Reviews
SSS - Limp.Gasp.Collapse.

Limp. Gasp. Collapse. is SSS's most modern-sounding album so far. Not that crossover hasn't been going through a more popular resurgence and isn't, on it's own, "modern-sounding" now, it's just that this thing seems to borrow more from metal-styles and production-styles championed after the mid to late 80s.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.11.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (2)

Reviews
At The Gates - At War With Reality

Full disclosure: At The Gates is one of my favourite bands. And when I say that, I don't mean in my top 50. They are in the running for #1. It's been almost 20 years since the release of Slaughter Of The Soul, an album considered by many (myself included) to be one of the finest melodic death metal recordings ever. At last, they are back with a new album - At War With Reality.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.11.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (6)

Reviews
Winter In Eden - Court Of Conscience

British 5-piece Winter In Eden previously released debut and sophomore albums showing nice potential but I've been waiting for them to release one that was finally really good. At long last, they've done it. Fans of symphonic metal can rejoice in a solid album for their genre, one that doesn't skirt commercial tendencies or try to be any other band. Winter In Eden has really accepted their own sound and is not apologizing for it.

The music is dark, elegant, and hypnotizing. It could easily appeal to fans of gothic metal as well. On one hand I wouldn't really call this album high-energy; more that it's kinda chill, laid-back, and even rock-oriented at times. On the other hand, the energy level grows slowly throughout; it definitely sneaks up on you by the end.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (1)

Reviews
LoreWeaver - Italic

Italic keeps one hand on streamlined melodic prog at all times, but beware that other hand, it's off grabbing at everything and getting sticky in other music. If you like your prog to be really weird then this may not satisfy, but everyone else can be assured of twists, turns, and surprises. And like good prog should be, it'll take repeated listens to fully comprehend these elements.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (1)

Reviews
Cult Of Fire - Čtvrtá Symfonie Ohně

Cult Of Fire are one of those bands. What do I mean by this exactly? Essentially, that they're a band that's never been content with being grounded in one particular style. Of course, this is no new feat, but given the fact that these Czechs are still only 4 years old, it's quite impressive. Their debut EP and Triumvirate were raw, atmospheric-tinged black metal, the recent one with the Hindi title was drenched in Eastern influences, and now 2014's Čtvrtá Symfonie Ohně EP is a sort of neoclassical ode to Czechoslovakia, and perhaps the band's fullest embrace of their culture yet.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.11.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (27)

Reviews
Sin7sinS - Purgatory Princess

If you adore the pop-symphonic genre and are hungry for some new blood then I'd recommend Sin7sinS. The music is fun, quite heavy, and the variety among tunes seems like it'll lead to some great replay value. If, and only if, you absolutely ADORE the pop side of the symphonic genre.

With words like "Princess" and "Sins" I think you know pretty well what to expect. Add the cover "art" and musicians' stage names and you could pretty well bet money on it.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (1)

Reviews
November-7 - Awaraxid 7mg

November-7's 2011 debut Season 3 was rockin' and had insane replay value. Sophomore album Awaraxid 7mg is somehow a huge improvement on the already kick-ass debut, with more of everything you loved last time and a few new things to love this time.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (8)

Reviews
The Howling Void - Runa

The Howling Void is self-described as, "Glacial meditations on the Mysteries, in the form of vast, funereal soundscapes." I usually find their music vast and warm instead of vast and icy, but "glacial" is nonetheless adequate for me, as it captures the slow moving pace as well as the epically large structure.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (2)

Reviews
Anubis Gate - Horizons

Anubis Gate is a progressive power metal band from Denmark who has been active with some success for the last decade. Having managed to survive multiple lineup changes in recent years, they recently released Horizons, the next offering to add to an already impressive discography.

The band itself may have changed of late but the music remains true to the vibe their fans are used to. Powerful guitar riffs lead into memorable choruses dispersed over long and complex song structures. Some tracks are rather as expected while others are completely out there but awesome nonetheless. When it boils down to it, the song writing is somewhat pop oriented despite its complexity, as is the case for most of the northern European prog power sound (Think Norway's Pagan's Mind).

Read more ››
Posted: 02.11.2014 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (3)

Reviews
Soen - Tellurian

It's a shame what Tool have become; a band no longer able to fulfil a promise. Taking up the reigns are Soen, who are certain to fulfil their own promises when Cognitive comes to Tellurian.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.11.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (15)

Reviews
Occultation - Silence In The Ancestral House

Occultation's doom metal eludes expectations. Contained in Silence In The Ancestral House, the occult receives an unusually mixed meaning.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.10.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6