Reviews
Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Drone. What is it exactly that attracts fans so to the gargantuan walls of sound and 20 minute notes that lurk deep within the subterranean caverns of this style? I mean, it's not as if it's accomplished songwriting, right? Any schmuck spending 5 minutes on a guitar could just strum the same note for a half hour. Well, if you're of this sort of mentality, you might as well stop reading. We're about to enter the realm of hooded robes and black monoliths, and your opinions have no validity here.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.09.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (6)

Reviews
Tarnkappe - Tussen Hun En De Zon

Behold, fellow black metallers, for huge Darkthrone vibes are upon us. This is about Dutch act Tarnkappe's debut album Tussen Hun En De Zon, which translates to "Between Them And The Sun". The material is not new, as the same tracks have already been released as a demo under the same name in 2013, now again as their debut album and on LP. So the music is not new, and at the same time it's not even original either. But there is something that makes the songs good, very good and, at times, simply great.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.09.2014 by Windrider | Comments (1)

Reviews
Fórn - The Departure Of Consciousness

Fórn is a relatively new band from Boston (read BASTAAAN) Massachusetts. The five piece plays a sludgy mess of doom and black metal. The riffs are heavy, the music is nasty and it's just what you are looking for.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.09.2014 by Boxcar Willy | Comments (8)

Reviews
Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

Ah, Cannibal Corpse. Back again with their familiar death metal embrace, heralded by some killer artwork. Let's dive in and see what lurks underneath the greasepaint.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.09.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (20)

Reviews
Botanist - VI: Flora

If you ever needed a prime example of black metal's growing shift towards the unconventional in our recent times, you need look no farther than Roberto Martinelli's Botanist. A curious concoction of vocals, drums, and hammered dulcimer, the debut of the project took the more obscure fringes of the genre by storm, fusing seemingly unfitting elements together for the achievement of a refreshingly original creation. While perhaps not as radical, VI: Flora seeks to continue this pattern, and it does so wonderfully.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.09.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sólstafir - Ótta

There's something naturally interesting about Icelandic music. Perhaps it's out of predilection for its origin, geographic distance and isolation at the top of the world. Whatever the case may be, there's one particular metal band who have managed to convey their own meaning in this phenomena.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (11)

Reviews
Ides Of Gemini - Old World New Wave

Well, this is all very nice, but Ides'...Guys/girls...You've still got half an album to write...

Read more ››
Posted: 05.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (9)

Reviews
Nunslaughter - Angelic Dread

Ok, so I've been living alone for a month and nobody pays me a visit. This led me to use my time watching a shit-ton of movie classics I've never seen before because I'm lazy and uncultured. Evil Dead II from 1987 was one of them. Yeah, I know. I suck. Anyway, I had a point here… uuuh. Oh yeah! Nunslaughter also has its origins way back in 1987 and for some reason I never checked them out despite their huge discography and the whole thing sounding good… On paper, that is.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (2)

Reviews
Seven Thorns - II

Completed since early 2013, yet officially released in 2014 under their new record label, Sonic Revolution, Seven Thorns' third album is named… II.

I give up.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (0)

Reviews
Astral Doors - Notes From The Shadows

It's been a while since we last heard any studio activity from Wuthering Heights. Since 2010's recording in Salt, Nils Patrik Johansson has directed his vocal efforts and leadership to Civil War and his initial band Astral Doors, who continue to deal downright Dio derived heavy metal in their latest album. Yet Ronnie James has a lasting legacy for a reason, and Notes From The Shadows presents quality of song writing that clearly benefits from Dio's influence within the more traditional forms of the heavy metal genre.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
Iron Reagan - The Tyranny Of Will

Iron Reagan is a crossover band from Richmond, Virginia. They've released a small amount of material over the few years they've been active. The super-group consists of Municipal Waste and Darkest Hour members.

Yeah, your hardcore mouth is watering already. As it should be.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by Boxcar Willy | Comments (7)

Reviews
Megaton Leviathan - Past 21 Beyond The Arctic Cell

Have you ever been entranced by those nature films with no dialogue - just rolling landscape, panoramic shots? Dumb question - of course you have, everyone watches public access television at 3A.M. Have you ever thought to yourself "this is nice and hypnotic, but they really oughtta choose a better soundtrack?" Well folks, Megaton Leviathan is the perfect soundtrack.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
The Graviators - Motherload

Here's a real moral dilemma for you: How do you assess an album that's unbelievably derivative, but is absolutely cram-packed with such juicy-ass riffs? On one hand, I want to scoff at a band as un-fresh as The Graviators, but God damn, they do what they do so freakin' well.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (12)

Reviews
Snailking - Storm

All things considered from a human's perspective, a snail is a pretty vulnerable little creature. Not Snailking though. They have a vice-versa kind of deal going on in their full-length debut. The snail is the listener, and the bottom of a heavily flattening boot is this band's low-end and bass burgeoning delivery of doom. It's not an ideal situation for any snail, as Snailking remorselessly reigns here.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (10)

Reviews
Hemina - Nebulae

"Love is a friendship set to music."

Read more ››
Posted: 02.09.2014 by Introspekrieg | Comments (9)

Reviews
Earthship - Withered

Former The Ocean drummer Jan Oberg and his neat little band from Berlin, Germany, Earthship, have exploded onto the sludge/stoner landscape with their third release, Withered - a short but substantial 30-minute piece of music that's broken down to 10 archaic and bludgeoning riff clinics. The tunes are catchy, likable, and most of all, heavy.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.09.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (5)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 7