Reviews
Dissona - Paleopneumatic

One of the most agonising things is uncovering a gem of an album only to come to the cynical realisation that it's probably going to be several long years before you get treated to another taste, and that's if the band continues. Certainly, you can always replay the album, but albums that resonate with me have always engendered a distinctive craving which is only momentarily satiated by new material. Over the years this tends to subside, but I'm hardly exaggerating when I say that I've been eagerly waiting for this moment for nearly four years.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2016 by LeKiwi | Comments (10)

Reviews
Deluge - Æther

Deluge really like blastbeats. They like to blasturbate right in yo' ear hole. But what makes Aether an interesting listen is what's going on afterwards.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.01.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (9)

Reviews
Wovoka - Saros

Wovoka, a Los Angeles, California based band, have released their debut LP Saros. After many spins, this album has grown on me because of the fact that their sound is an exercise in perfecting the art of sharply contrasting tempos while balancing between misanthropic based themes and environs. While the approach is far from original or elaborate, it's executed with tightness, intensity and purposefulness.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.01.2016 by tea[m]ster | Comments (2)

Reviews
Regarde Les Hommes Tomber - Exile

These angry Frenchies are back again with another slab of blackened sludge. Exile marks the sophomore effort from Regarde Les Hommes Tomber and is a swell case of "more, please!"

Read more ››
Posted: 05.01.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (6)

Reviews
Blliigghhtted - Kosmoskampf

I must be honest: I really can't stand the holiday season. Not only is it a time where I have to interact with family members that I'd otherwise never see for the other 51 or so weeks out of the year, but house decorating and gift getting also leads to me taking time away from reviewing interesting albums that I'd otherwise be hearing about and listening to via the Metal Storm base. So as I'm severing the Christmas lights with a chainsaw and pouring kerosene on my tree, I think it's finally time to start spinning Blliigghhted's Kosmoskampf.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.01.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (0)

Reviews
Sunpocrisy - Eyegasm, Hallelujah!

This marks the second half of my Italian eyebrow-raising titled album feast. Mangia. So wtf exactly happened to Sunpocrisy?

Read more ››
Posted: 04.01.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (4)

Reviews
Elferya - Eden's Fall

Sometimes, all it takes is an addictive hit single pull listeners in and keep them coming back enough to delve deeper into an album, one that eventually becomes as satisfying as a whole as that first single. Elferya's second full-length, Eden's Fall, shows a band willing to take a strong melody for each song and thoroughly develop it, all with their own touch of catchy symphonic metal and hints of introverted, gothic elements. Elferya not only take one down a spiraling, unpaved road through their forest of love and dreams, but they retain enough of that initial, attractive spark of music that begins each song's journey to leave a trail that brings the listener back home.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.01.2016 by Jason W. | Comments (5)

Reviews
Triumvir Foul - Triumvir Foul

I was listening to Triumvir Foul, this nightmareishly black, black death group from Portland, yesterday and I remembered how I learned about them. This is all true.

It was at a bar I think and I was with my large group of friends and they were all telling me how intelligent I am like usual. We were all drunk, but functional, having a good time and stuff—I think Chris was outside explaining how simulated sex works in movies to this girl I like; everyone else was inside, though. Then this walking interruption of a dude who was wearing a black vest with a bunch of unreadable patches on it juddered up to me and said I needed to google this Portland label "Vrasubatlat" to stay cool. My friends wouldn't love me so much if I didn't stay so cool. There are people who actually think that way. So I googled "Vrasubatlat" and tried to not wake up my girlfriend who was in bed next to me.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.12.2015 by wormdrink414 | Comments (8)

Reviews
Varg - Das Ende Aller Lügen

Varg - love 'em or hate 'em …(you know who you are)! So, if you see yourself in the latter category, you might want to stop reading right about now, since I actually like the album.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.12.2015 by D.T. Metal | Comments (4)

Reviews
Children Of Bodom - I Worship Chaos

It was a long, dark, and stormy night of the soul for Children Of Bodom as they wandered, fazed and abused, through the creative wasteland for 40 years. Pardon my mixed metaphors. 2013's Halo Of Blood came as a shock, being not only a much better album than anything from the previous decade, but also quite a good album on its own merits. I Worship Chaos does nothing of the sort.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.12.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (15)

Reviews
Surachai - Heavy Mask

I'm extremely amused to see that Surachai offers a vinyl version of Heavy Mask for sale on his Bandcamp. If your record player ever produces sounds like these, it means that something is seriously wrong and you ought to evacuate your house, because it's about to explode. Your dumb kid spilled orange juice down it, the CIA affixed a bomb to it, or maybe you actually bought this album. Either way, run.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.12.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (12)

Reviews
Vanir - Aldar Rök

A year ago plus change, I reviewed Vanir's The Glorious Dead and found it a moderately intriguing and enjoyable romp through the Danish forests. Aldar Rök breaks away from the approach of its predecessor, presenting a much-altered Vanir. In fact, minus the vocals, it could have been a different band entirely that dropped this deeper, darker voyage through the misty mountains of Scandinavia.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.12.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Abaton - We Are Certainly Not Made Of Flesh

Abaton's We Are Certainly Not Made Of Flesh marks the first of a two course Italian sonic review meal featuring Post-Metal bands with eyebrow raising album titles.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.12.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (0)

Reviews
Arcturus - Arcturian

Imagine you are returning to a familiar place after a long period away.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.12.2015 by corrupt | Comments (13)

Reviews
Enshine - Singularity

Leaving behind the limitations of our mind, our physical form, and our existence has rarely felt so sorrowful, so conflicted, and yet so hopeful and inspiring. Enshine have returned with a more decisive release this time around, replete with perfected arrangements, lyrical ideas that leave the listener in a dreamlike state of existential thoughts, and an atmosphere that presses upon one's heart like a cold sun drifting endlessly upward into the infinite stars of possibilities.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.12.2015 by Jason W. | Comments (12)

Reviews
Graveyard Dirt - My Scourge, My Plague

Wow, just like it's been five years since my last review here at Metal Storm it's been already five years since Graveyard Dirt's last album, For Grace Or Damnation, which somehow never got a review here at Metal Storm.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.12.2015 by Marcel Hubregtse | Comments (24)

Pages: 1 [2]