Reviews
Cain's Offering - Stormcrow

This one falls a bit out of my purview. I've never had the heart to tell Sonata Arctica that I just don't get it, and only recently have I finally been able to stand Stratovarius; I knew almost nothing about this project when I volunteered to review it, and upon investigating the line-up of this apparent super-type-group, I dreaded the flouncy, sing-song tedium I expected to find. As it happens, Cain's Offering have really hit something worth paying attention to.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.06.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (12)

Reviews
The Meads Of Asphodel - Taste The Divine Wrath [Split]

As anyone who knows me well enough should know by now, it's impossible for me to stay quiet when it comes to The Meads Of Asphodel. This year's interesting Taste The Divine Wrath split sees the peculiar British group teaming up with black metal band Tjolgtjar, resulting in two sounds that, while somewhat simplistic, still retain a great feeling of uniqueness.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.06.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (12)

Reviews
Dew-Scented - Intermination

Dew-Scented enjoy a position of particular respect and adulation in my metal heart. They were, believe it or not, my very first death metal band, and Inwards remains on heavy rotation as one of the highest pillars in the genre. With album #10, they hit back with a renewed vitality and a violent streak undiminished by conflicting years of experience and personnel changes.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.06.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Goatsnake - Black Age Blues

In the long history of bands who have risen back up after a long silence with a new album, we've come to have a small group of successful comebacks, and a whole mountain of shitty ones. Thankfully, this year, Goatsnake are sitting quite nicely in the former territory with Black Age Blues.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.06.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Halestorm - Into The Wild Life

Hard rock is a genre that's a bit on the stale side, to put it mildly, for keeping up with it. I get bored faster than I actually like to admit. I mean, I'm game for some rocking out but there's too little traction for even a casual listen most of the time. However, there's this. I may sound like a broken record on repeat here but if you've missed me saying it before, I'm totally in for female vocals with character; and Halestorm is exactly that, more so when going flat out.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.06.2015 by Ivor | Comments (8)

Reviews
Primordial - Where Greater Men Have Fallen

Primordial once more return to power with the somber grandeur that has served them so well these many years. Most bands tend to attract some kind of criticism for returning to the same sound from album to album without exploring it further or evolving it to any meaningful degree, but few bands have ever crafted a style as unfathomably deep and rich in texture as Primordial; Where Greater Men Have Fallen soars beyond the reach of such petty and feeble barbs.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.06.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (8)

Reviews
Virgin Steele - Nocturnes Of Hellfire & Damnation

Containing 14 tracks and clocking in at almost 80 minutes, Nocturnes Of Hellfire & Damnation certainly has a lot of material to digest. The band has managed to create an album that should offer something to please fans of their earlier work, as well as fans of the more recent darkened sounds.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.06.2015 by Belegûr | Comments (15)

Reviews
Beautality - Einfallen: A Tale Of Torment & Triumph

It took me a long-ass time to review this album, mostly because it's a long-ass album. To put things in perspective, Einfallen: A Tale Ov Torment & Triumph is more than twice as long as everything Minor Threat ever recorded. "That's quite a daunting task, Steel," I hear you say. "How ever did you manage to listen to it enough to write about it?" Simple, friend. I have no life.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.06.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Helloween - My God-Given Right

All-told, I guess I can count myself pretty darn fortunate to have gotten my hands on the new Helloween prior to its release, so I could dribble out a few choice zingers on the internet for total strangers to read as if I know something they don't (even if I wound up sitting on my adipose sarcophagus watching Parks & Rec all day and had to wait until after the release date to listen to it like a regular chump-asaurus). I just wish this had happened two, five, or possibly 28 years ago.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.05.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (19)

Reviews
Bell Witch - Four Phantoms

Funeral doom has always struck me as a very hit or miss style of music. You either get albums from bands that are totally monumental, crushing, and epic, or ones that somehow just can't figure out the trick and are instead boring, overly plodding, and uninspired, with very little to be found in between these extremes. Four Phantoms, the sophomore effort from the American Bell Witch, is a curious release in this regard, one that first appears to be in that second area, but begins to move to the first as its grandiosity is slowly revealed.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.05.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (9)

Reviews
Coal Chamber - Rivals

Twelve years after they went the way of the dodo, nu metal stalwarts Coal Chamber are back with a new album, Rivals. And like with any reunion album, the question arises as to whether it would be a welcome addition to the band's catalogue or just another pointless exercise in misguided nostalgia.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (2)

Reviews
Alkaloid - The Malkuth Grimoire

When it comes to progressive metal, one finds many die-hard fans and others who can't handle it at all. It might be that this genre has a larger ratio of musicians among the fans, those who comprehend the music are more likely to enjoy it with all its facets. Out of nothing now a new band emerged; Alkaloid from Germany greet us with their first ever release after their formation just a year ago. The musicians, however, are known to some people from their work with other big bands like Necrophagist, Obscura or Dark Fortress. Therefore, calling this new project a big surprise would be a bit of an exaggeration, nevertheless the music is worth the praise it currently receives.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.05.2015 by Windrider | Comments (4)

Reviews
Leprous - The Congregation

It would be unlike Leprous to exercise restraint to the point of diminishment and place limitations on fresh efforts. Nonetheless, The Congregation is a compromise.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.05.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (35)

Reviews
Nibiru - Padmalotus

In recent years, a good few occult theorists and scientists who spend too much time reading Zecharia Sitchin have come to proclaim the inevitable return of Nibiru. If they're talking about the fabled planet, I'd say their arguments are probably shit out of luck, but if they happen to be referring to the band, they're dead on. The Italian trio that is Nibiru are indeed here again on the psychedelia block, and they're striking back with what is perhaps their most powerful album to date.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.05.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (5)

Reviews
Sannhet - Revisionist

An American band that plays good black metal? There are not many, and even though Sannhet orchestrates what certainly can be labeled as "hipster" black metal (had to say it), they are pretty unique in that they have no vocals. Think Deafheaven, Altar Of Plagues or Regarde Les Hommes Tomber but without the desolate, shrieking and chthonic black metal singing.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.05.2015 by tea[m]ster | Comments (12)

Reviews
Gruesome - Savage Land

There are probably a few Death fans out there who lament that the band switched to more progressive pastures far too quickly and who believe the band should have churned out a few more Leprosy's instead. Now these fans have their wish come true in the form of Gruesome's Leprosy worshipping debut Savage Land.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (19)

Pages: 1 [2] 3