Reviews
Latitudes - Old Sunlight

It's been a long time between releases for UK post-metallers Latitudes. Four years, to be exact, and to be quite honest I do not completely recall what their last album sounds like. I know I listened to it back then and I will confidently say I remember liking Individuation. When I review a band's new album, I always go back for a cup of coffee with previous works so I can refresh my memory about their sound. I did not do this with Old Sunlight. This write-up will be like I have never heard of Latitudes.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.03.2016 by tea[m]ster | Comments (5)

Reviews
Oceans Of Slumber - Winter

What I said in my Staff Pick about Oceans Of Slumber's Winter still stands true. I still feel like a ton of bricks has fallen on me. The love for this album is still mainly about one key element, though - the voice of Cammie Gilbert that elevates this doom-infused prog metal to a completely different level of perception for me.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.03.2016 by Ivor | Comments (10)

Reviews
Headspace - All That You Fear Is Gone

The beauty of All That You Fear Is Gone lies in its intricate details. I decided so when I was first listening to the album and I still stand by that opinion. Why it is so, however, came to me considerably later. Because sometimes, less is more.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.03.2016 by Ivor | Comments (5)

Reviews
Myrath - Legacy

I remember listening to the debut album of the Tunisian band in 2007 and thinking "I really want these guys to keep making music". I am so glad they still are. Ten years are almost behind us now and a lot has happened since then. The musicians moved to France and released a couple of follow-ups. Desert Call in 2010 had them hone their sound while Tales of the Sands really brought them to another level. With an unchanged lineup, Myrath are back with an ambitious album simply titled Legacy ("Myrath" means "Legacy" in Arabic).

Read more ››
Posted: 19.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (3)

Reviews
Anthrax - For All Kings

Among the giants of US Thrash metal, Anthrax has always been closest to my heart. Maybe it is an East Coast versus West Coast thing. In any case, we are lucky to have most of these bands still around. Much like Testament, Exodus and Death Angel, the New Yorkers are making a big statement with the release of For All Kings. Their previous album Worship Music saw the return of their talisman singer Joey Belladonna for what was a step in the right direction. Anticipation has had time to build seeing that this follow-up comes about 4 1/2 years later. Time seem to have no effect on the musicians of Anthrax. Their trademark sound has not changed one iota. Scott Ian is shredding like he alone knows how. Charlie Benante is pounding those drums in his very-recognizable beat. Frank Bello is grooving his usual sound. Joey Belladonna is singing his heart out. It feels like the band from 1987, just with a much cleaner production. The addition of Jonathan Donais of Shadows Fall-fame as second guitarist also has contributed to keeping the energy level up.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (18)

Reviews
Bucovina - Nestrămutat

I currently have in front of me a notebook from a class I took on Balkan history. In it are written the three things that I can most confidently say I know about the region of Bukovina:

1. painted monasteries
2. much nicer than Wallachia
3. heartland of Stephen III's Moldavia

Added to this list in spirit, if not in writing, is that Bukovina serves as the origin, namesake, and inspiration for Romania's great folk metal titan (no, obviously not Negură Bunget).

Read more ››
Posted: 16.03.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (26)

Reviews
Holy Grail - Times Of Pride And Peril

Holy Grail crashed through the stained glass walls of modern power metal on a mighty dragon back in 2010, loosing in a wave of molten fire one of the best albums of the century thus far. Ride The Void unfortunately failed to capitalize on that success, neglecting to recapture the dominating spirit and infectious songwriting of its predecessor. Album #3 often serves as a "make-or-break" indicator, and with Times Of Pride And Peril, Holy Grail have viciously stamped their hopes for longevity on the throats and soft underbellies of any who would doubt them.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.03.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Stangala - Klanv

When last we left the cloak wearing Frenchies of Stangala they were tossing traditional Celtic/Gaelic instruments into some crunchy stoner jams. Seems they've been alternating hits on the bong and gobbling angry pills.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.03.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (0)

Reviews
Maïeutiste - Maeutiste

For starters, appy-polly-logees to Maïeutiste for taking so long to draft this review. I've spent some time with the album now, spinning it, enjoying it and the words just haven't come to me. Yeah, it's taken me nearly as long to review their self-titled release as the five plus years or so it took them to record it.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.03.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (8)

Pages: 1 [2]