Updates - reviews


Reviews
Blut Aus Nord - Deus Salutis Meæ

A new Blut Aus Nord album inevitably raises anticipation high among black metal fans. Why is this, exactly?

Read more ››
Posted: 21.10.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (28)

Reviews
Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

Bell Witch already had a broader emotional span and more colorful sonic palette than most funeral doom bands, but informed by the untimely death of former drummer/vocalist Adrian Guerra last year, Mirror Reaper embodies something even heavier and more personal. The sober, reflective nature of the band's sound feels even more palpable than before. Thrice now they have produced a serious contender for doom album of the year.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Belphegor - Totenritual

Alright, alright, alright! Who is excited for a new Belphegor album?!...

...Hey guys?...Guys?

Read more ››
Posted: 20.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
Myrkur - Mareridt

Myrkur hasn't stopped making waves in the metal scene since unveiling her self-titled EP in 2014, and Mareridt, the project's second full-length, suggests that those waves are only going to get bigger and bigger with the passage of time.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (16)

Reviews
Tengger Cavalry - Die On My Ride

Tengger Cavalry has made it exceedingly difficult for me to care about them over the last few years. When the band debuted in 2010 with Blood Sacrifice Shaman and then found solid footing with 2012's Sunesu Cavalry, Tengger Cavalry was at the top of the Mongolian folk metal world. That might not being saying much, but the band was forging a strong reputation well outside that limited circle, even selling out Carnegie Hall with an acoustic performance in 2015. Things have changed.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (5)

Reviews
Jag Panzer - The Deviant Chord

Jag Panzer is that rare power metal band that lives up to the name of the genre in every aspect, radiating a sense of raw power and brute force that leaves a lot of extreme metal bands rolling in the dust. Thankfully, the band's second hiatus was considerably shorter than the first, and The Deviant Chord shows us a Jag Panzer renewed in spirit and ready to keep its good name intact.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Wolves In The Throne Room - Thrice Woven

It's been quite the journey for Wolves In The Throne Room over the past six years. After releasing the epic, brilliantly composed Celestial Lineage in 2011, they chose to follow it up not with more of their epic, transcendent black metal, but with a full fledged ambient album, the polarizing Celestite from 2014. Three years later, the band are going back to their roots, conjuring forth the black metal magic yet again.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (12)

Reviews
Satyricon - Deep Calleth Upon Deep

When Satyricon revealed the title track of their new album, Deep Calleth Upon Deep, Satyr advised to "consider it a journey, play it loud, close your eyes and head into the forest". But how on earth does one find a forest in the capital of a hot Mediterranean country?

Read more ››
Posted: 12.10.2017 by nikarg | Comments (12)

Reviews
Ensiferum - Two Paths

Ladies and gentlemen, we're getting old.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (20)

Reviews
Quiet Riot - Road Rage

I remember when Quiet Riot was a gaudy spandex sweat stain of a glam band waving in the toxic breeze of the Sunset Strip, earning its weekly paycheck by riding on the dwindling coattails of Randy Rhoads's brief captaincy and fortuitously hacked-up versions of great songs from a better band. How I long for those days.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (14)

Reviews
Nibiru - Qaal Babalon

It's been a few years since the term "edging" has happily made its way into contemporary parlance.* Now, it's hard to say what kind of twisted soul would submit themselves to such torture, but it at least makes some kind of sense when you hold it in context with a band like Nibiru.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
Septicflesh - Codex Omega

If you have a soft spot for symphonic death metal, Septicflesh is beyond doubt the band to satisfy your needs. Since their rebirth, the Greek lords of brutal harmony have taken the genre to a different level that other acts can only dream of and have managed to put themselves in a class of their own. Codex Omega showcases once more the mastery of their style, though without any hidden surprises to spice it up.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.10.2017 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Cradle Of Filth - Cryptoriana: The Seductiveness Of Decay

We go way back, Dani and I. When I first heard The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh in 1995, I was put off by the vocals, but I thought the music was too good to let the shrieking spaz spoil it for me. Once I heard Vempire the following year, I was hooked. Years later I was sad to see that after Midian Cradle Of Filth began to tumble into mediocrity. 2015's Hammer of the Witches was surprisingly good, but it had me wondering whether it was a one-off, or the band was really back in top-notch form. I'm very happy to report that the increase in quality seems to hold. Or even rise.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.09.2017 by Daniell | Comments (22)