Reviews
Palefeather - Palefeather

Just how much of a legacy Pink Floyd left on progressive music has been shown to us recently. The surprise of a new album release has been stirring fans worldwide from their expectational stasis, and many will ponder the possibilities of a more modern sounding Floyd. The wait is on, and in the meantime, and for the purpose of such pondering, I find myself drawn to Palefeather.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.07.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (8)

Reviews
Allegaeon - Elements Of The Infinite

My first impressions of Allegaeon's new album, Elements Of The Infinite, were definitely strange. The album opens up an acoustic part, not all that strange in itself, but then morphs into this grandiose orchestral intro that sounds like the music to a God of War game with electric guitar arpeggios over it. Yikes...

Read more ››
Posted: 09.07.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (14)

Reviews
The Body - I Shall Die Here [Collaboration]

If the online genre police had a physical headquarters somewhere, there'd be at least one picture of The Body slapped up with "wanted" written in capitals above it. Most of the time they've had at least one of their boots planted firmly in sludge, but on their newest work, I Shall Die Here, said boot and said (the) body along with it have schlocked out of said sludge and begun floating about toward the exosphere, dripping with its remaining slime above the clouds.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.07.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (6)

Reviews
Eyehategod - Eyehategod

It's near impossible for me to stay unbiased when it comes to Eyehategod. They, along with sludge masters Acid Bath, have been my main soundtrack for most of my teen years. There's something about their uncompromised sense of anger mixed with groove that few bands can match. What I got was all but a surprise… But hey, Eyehategod aren't after any innovation bullshit. They've always been after our throats.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.07.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (2)

Reviews
Thrashless - Trip Of Death

In general, thrash isn't the most exciting metal genre to think and/or write about these days. There are only so many things you can say about most of the current waves of young groups channelling Slayer and the like that hasn't already been said about frozen pizzas and boxed wine.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.07.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (7)

Reviews
4th Dimension - Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions

Y'all know that I have a weak point regarding my own country's power metal. Then, if it's well done, it's better that way.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.07.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (2)

Reviews
Serpent Venom - Of Things Seen & Unseen

Antiquated doom can only go so far, and surely someday the tradition which still manages to thrive within contemporary metal will run its course? Not just yet it seems, not with the right dosage of Serpent Venom, to which, like all things occult, you'll eventually succumb in time. Once bit, there's no going back. This is fatal fuzz.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.07.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (1)

Reviews
King Of Asgard - Karg

When comparing to the mighty Amon Amarth, I always had the opinion that King Of Asgard were the better vikings. This got me rude comments even on sites and under videos of the latter mentioned, but I have my reasons. Both are great, yet over the years my interest drifted towards the darker and more authentic side of the genre, including legends like Helheim and newer bands like this one which releases their new album this year, entitled Karg.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.07.2014 by Windrider | Comments (13)

Reviews
Alestorm - Sunset On The Golden Age

As the metal world's premiere posse of scurvy Scottish scoundrels, Alestorm's job is to showcase their pirate shtick without completely overshadowing the music. While Back Through Time hosted a couple of new classics and even brought some new tricks to the table, "Scraping The Barrel" rang a little too true for most of the album. I feared that Alestorm had lost their touch, but Sunset On The Golden Age has revealed that to be merely the calm before the storm.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.07.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Vintersorg - Naturbål

That Vintersorg continues to excel in song writing on Naturbål will come as no surprise to fans. If you enjoy melodic metal in any shape or form, what you'll find here is the latest release from what used to be one of folk metal's most progressive and boundary defying endeavours, and is now master of melody.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.07.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Mastodon - Once More 'Round The Sun

A new album from Mastodon always promises fresh material, and the band dutifully oblige with the tantalising colour of their latest release. So here we go again, in riff raving fashion, Once More 'Round The Sun.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.07.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (23)

Reviews
Lantlôs - Melting Sun

Another semi-quasi-black metal band has taken all the "black" out of their music in favor of a relatively fresh and trendy, dare I say, "hipster" sound. Markus Siegenhort, aka Herbst, has fancied his band Lantlôs to contemporary and utopian heights. Provocative and emotive, Lantlôs show every sign of picking up the pieces after their surprising but drama-free divorce from Neige. Wanting to move on, there is no post-Neige hangover here, thank you very much.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.07.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (47)

Reviews
Kalidia - Lies' Device

Hailing from Italy, where a long tradition of power metal bands creates stiff competition for newcomers, Kalidia introduce themselves with a rough yet respectable debut.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.07.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Diabulus In Musica - Argia

Diabulus In Musica seems to be one of those low-key bands that do things in a subtle way. There isn't much gushing or complaining about them, and their latest album had almost slipped by me. Perhaps it's the rather generic sounding band name, most potential listeners would dismiss them and not give them a chance when they actually already have two (TWO!!) much coveted nominations in the annual Metal Storm Awards under their belt.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.07.2014 by Ag Fox | Comments (6)

Reviews
Body Count - Manslaughter

Let's get one thing straight - this is not a nu metal album. Body Count isn't Limp Bizkit or Korn. This isn't a bunch of suburban white boys spouting nasally high school poetry over drop-A chugging. This is more like the legendary Anthrax/Public Enemy collaboration: real attitude, real power, and a real legend spitting venom over heavy riffs.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.06.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (31)

Reviews
Godflesh - Decline & Fall

Before everyone says, including myself, "Godflesh reunited, here comes Streetcleaner and Pure II", let's all take a step back and relax. They have just released a new EP, their first new material since 2001, and from what I gathered after the first play through of Decline & Fall, those fans wanting old-school Godflesh will not be disappointed. However, they will be left wondering if this all JK Broadrick had left in the tank. The classic foundations are apparent, but I am not sure the fresh ideas are.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.06.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (2)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4