Reviews
Napalm Death - Apex Predator - Easy Meat

Call me a late bloomer of sorts to the grind kings in Napalm Death, as I first got into the band not through the classics such as Scum and From Enslavement To Obliteration, as most do, but through the much more recent Time Waits For No Slave. It was the Barney-fronted incarnation of the band that I first fell in love with, so I'm more than happy to say that they're once again delivering the goods with their 2015 effort.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.01.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (17)

Reviews
Tort - II

So Tort are back. When last we left them they were being interviewed by Pim from Officium Triste for Lords Of Metal and offered this nugget:

"We hope the album will be appreciated by most people. Others can get fucked by Matt Pike riding a mammoth."

I made it a staff pick of mine, which means two things:

1. I was not in danger of being sexually assaulted by the shirtless axe slinger on an extinct mammal.
2. I was really looking forward to the release of their sophomore album.

Speaking of "2", well, they've unleashed II. And we'll just say I'm still not worried about Matt Pike shoving his Frost Hammer where his Frost Hammer ought not to be.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.01.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (12)

Reviews
Frowning - Funeral Impressions

Quick! A gloomy, black and white album cover, and the album has "funeral" in its title. Can you guess the style?

Read more ››
Posted: 16.01.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Bloodshot Dawn - Demons

It always happens when you're least expecting it. You're in the midst of a coffee break in between analysing financial reports, brain half numb from staring at numbers the whole morning. You press play on some unknown album expecting the same old uninspired stuff. Especially when the band is unsigned, plays melodic death metal and it's their second album and you think "can't be that good." And then the music hits you, knocking you down on your proverbial arse, leaving you dazed and confused. The culprit behind this unprovoked shock and awe campaign is Bloodshot Dawn and the lethal weapon is Demons.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.01.2015 by deadone | Comments (11)

Reviews
Lord Dying - Poisoned Altars

Are you a shower or a grower?

Read more ››
Posted: 15.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (8)

Reviews
All That Remains - The Order Of Things

Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like eerrr, my opinion, man.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (14)

Reviews
Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

I find Citadel to be a very special album. There is a sort of checklist you can go down when preparing to listen to this kind of modern extreme progressive metal, and Ne Obliviscaris basically hit everything on it... But they go a bit further than that.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2015 by Mattybu | Comments (9)

Reviews
Born From Ruins - Falling From Grace

You know that shit they say about never forgetting your inner child?

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (10)

Reviews
Unseelie - Urban Fantasy

What has humanity forsaken in our current path and quest for rational knowledge? Unseelie has crafted a debut that is tribute to the intangible energies, the elegance of forgotten poets in a world that values logic, and the neglected souls that have decayed as modern life has swept them away. With dramatic arrangements wrapped in gothic atmospheres, absorbing yet accessible guitar lines, and vocals that are as opaquely mesmerizing as the solemn face of someone beautiful floating in water, Urban Fantasy not only mourns our progress, it reminds us that so many of the answers humans seek may have always been there, between the unseen cracks of light and darkness.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2015 by Jason W. | Comments (6)

Reviews
Leah - Kings & Queens

Symphonic metal artisan Leah's 2012 debut Of Earth & Angles was an addictive and very cohesive collection of songs (not to mention a nominee for Symphonic Metal Album Of The Year in 2012's Metal Storm Awards). It was easy to sing along with the metal-infused rock and each track had a unique personality. Now we are treated to her sophomore album, Kings & Queens, which takes a different, far more mature approach, and is a singular wave of beautiful metal music.

This album reminds me of the ocean, vast and gorgeous. Each wave is unique in size and form, and each wave washes over you in a different way. However, these swells and crests are not as important as the whole, the sometimes smooth, sometimes stormy, eternal being that is the ocean.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2015 by Susan | Comments (5)

Reviews
Venom - From The Very Depths

The twenty-first century has not been kind to extreme metal pioneers Venom. Four releases into their reunion and they have struggled to hit the proverbial nail on the head. As such, it was difficult to expect much on the new album, From The Very Depths. Yet somehow, Cronos and friends have managed to reverse this trend and come out with an album that despite its overall generic sound is still quite enjoyable.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.01.2015 by deadone | Comments (10)

Reviews
Immensity - The Isolation Splendour

In a year that has been, to this reviewer, mostly unimpressive in the doom metal department, the Greeks in Immensity decided to close things out with something delightfully fresh and inspired.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.01.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (6)

Reviews
Marduk - Frontschwein

♪ Spiderschwein, Spiderschwein, does whatever a Spiderschwein does ♫ Can he swing from a web? No he can't, he's a Schwein ♪ Look out, he is a Spiderschwein ♫

Read more ››
Posted: 09.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (62)

Reviews
Sylosis - Dormant Heart

Britain's Sylosis neatly cut out the generics of not one but two of metal's categories in their flexible fusion of melodic death metal and thrash. Theirs is a specifically fresh and individual approach, wilfully endeavouring to set themselves apart as an evident outlier in modern metal. With the push for originality which many contemporary bands in melodic death would set out to achieve by incorporating variations of thrash or metalcore into their sound, the former exceeds its foundations in the style and success of Dormant Heart.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.01.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (9)

Reviews
Cripper - Hyëna

With thrash's innovative period long gone, the only way to judge the worth of any thrash band is the quality of songs they churn out. And whilst some of the old guys ala Testament or Death Angel can still crank out some good headbanging, riffy yet catchy tunes, most of the new school rethrash mob have proven to be stuck in neutral when it comes to song writing. Cripper seems to break that mould somewhat even if they stay safely within the confines of traditional thrash for the most part.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.01.2015 by deadone | Comments (1)

Reviews
Sammath - Godless Arrogance

What once started as a one-man project developed into the beast it is today. 20 years down the road and Sammath proves that 'new' isn't always better. With their latest offering Godless Arrogance, the wheel was not reinvented, it didn't needed to, but rather some elements were added to improve its functionality.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.01.2015 by D.T. Metal | Comments (1)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6