Reviews
Reverorum Ib Malacht - De Mysteriis Dom Christii

The cold glimpse of a church. Exactly 20 years after Satan's mysteries were revealed to us, Christ came down and showed us his path. A path which is just as dark and terrifying.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (30)

Reviews
Yob - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Ah yes, stoner/doom metal. Heavy and crushing, filthy and provocative. Not my favorite brand of vodka but when I want to lather my musical palate with some that's artistically and professionally done, I look no further than Eugene, Oregon's Yob.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (11)

Reviews
Derdian - Human Reset

One of the things I love about writing here is that it brings me to listen to a lot of stuff I wouldn't find the time to check out otherwise. Derdian's latest is one of these albums, and a release that no one that has ever enjoyed power metal should miss.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (5)

Reviews
Cardinals Folly - Our Cult Continues!

I'm not going to lie, I've spent tens of minutes staring at that cover artwork, trying to decipher what in the hell is going on there. Unfortunately for Cardinals Folly, the cover artwork is more captivating, and leaves a longer lasting impression than the music.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (5)

Reviews
Sonic Booze Machine - Doomed To Fail

Sonic Booze Machine is the enemy of every teetotal and recovering alcoholic; theirs is the sound of the sloshed.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (2)

Reviews
Swashbuckle - We Hate The Sea

I feel kind of stupid writing a full review for not-quite-seven minutes of music, but with Swashbuckle, stupid is okay.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Reviews
Age Of Artemis - The Waking Hour

There's no two ways about it really, Age Of Artemis sound a lot like Angra. The extent of idol worship going on in their latest album is obvious, and more's the pity if their imitations didn't actually yield any success. Fortunately though, they do a remarkably good job of it.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
HammerFall - (r)Evolution

On the cover artwork, Hector is back. But, is HammerFall?

Read more ››
Posted: 13.08.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (9)

Reviews
Saison De Rouille - Deroutes San Fin

Saison De Rouille are a French industrial metal outfit that are heavy on the industry. The review came my way of Karl S, also with Danishmendt, whose Un Passé Aride release I reviewed favorably.

This is not a catchy-slick cyber assault, a la Fear Factory. Déroutes Sans Fin is an abrasive, discordant assault. Not one driven by guitars, distortion pedals maxed out and amped up to 10 with movie catchphrase samples tossed in, but one driven pounding drums, anchored by some rumbling bass accompanied guitars playing seemingly achromatically a couple steps farther back in the mix.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.08.2014 by BitterCOld | Comments (3)

Reviews
Midnight - No Mercy For Mayhem

Midnight seems to take everything that's off-putting about metal to those who think metal's too silly, amplifies it, and then laughs spitefully while going their merry Motör-way. There's not much more anyone could ask from them; there aren't many groups that can juggle being so preternaturally inane and yet rip so goddamn seriously.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (10)

Reviews
Halcyon Way - Conquer

Complexity for complexity's sake is often a stigma attached to progressive metal, and it's refreshing to hear a band that takes a more direct path toward instilling an impression. Halcyon Way have reached their fourth full-length record, and at this stage their own direction is well defined with an electric accessibility being the focus of their aims.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (3)

Reviews
Studfaust - Where The Underdogs Bark

Filthy, obnoxious and stupid. God damn, Studfaust is pretty decent.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (5)

Reviews
Suicide Silence - You Can't Stop Me

I have to give Suicide Silence credit. After the death of Mitch Lucker almost 2 years ago in late 2012, they picked up the pieces and put out another album. It's not always easy to keep on truckin' after a tragedy like that, so they get some respect from me in that sense. There's even more than that, though. You Can't Stop Me is not too shabby an album.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (8)

Reviews
Twilightfall - The Energy Of Soul

You see what happens, kids? You see what happens when you've got a lot of wicked-awesome ideas, but just throw them together all willy-nilly?!

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (0)

Reviews
Ömheten - Själv

With the dawn of the internet, music as a business is reverting back to the way it was when it was first recorded; singles. Whether they're a couple of hits from a popular artist, or small time bands who prefer pounding out frequent, shorter EPs, full albums are slowly being phased out. Recordings like Själv show us why some times nothing beats a full-length album that can drag you down to hell and back out again.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (6)

Reviews
Unisonic - Light Of Dawn

Praise the Lord for Michael Kiske. Wait, that's like asking Kiske to thank himself. For himself.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (1)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7