Reviews
Botanist - VI: Flora

If you ever needed a prime example of black metal's growing shift towards the unconventional in our recent times, you need look no farther than Roberto Martinelli's Botanist. A curious concoction of vocals, drums, and hammered dulcimer, the debut of the project took the more obscure fringes of the genre by storm, fusing seemingly unfitting elements together for the achievement of a refreshingly original creation. While perhaps not as radical, VI: Flora seeks to continue this pattern, and it does so wonderfully.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.09.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sólstafir - Ótta

There's something naturally interesting about Icelandic music. Perhaps it's out of predilection for its origin, geographic distance and isolation at the top of the world. Whatever the case may be, there's one particular metal band who have managed to convey their own meaning in this phenomena.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (11)

Reviews
Ides Of Gemini - Old World New Wave

Well, this is all very nice, but Ides'...Guys/girls...You've still got half an album to write...

Read more ››
Posted: 05.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (9)

Reviews
Nunslaughter - Angelic Dread

Ok, so I've been living alone for a month and nobody pays me a visit. This led me to use my time watching a shit-ton of movie classics I've never seen before because I'm lazy and uncultured. Evil Dead II from 1987 was one of them. Yeah, I know. I suck. Anyway, I had a point here… uuuh. Oh yeah! Nunslaughter also has its origins way back in 1987 and for some reason I never checked them out despite their huge discography and the whole thing sounding good… On paper, that is.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (2)

Reviews
Seven Thorns - II

Completed since early 2013, yet officially released in 2014 under their new record label, Sonic Revolution, Seven Thorns' third album is named… II.

I give up.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (0)

Reviews
Astral Doors - Notes From The Shadows

It's been a while since we last heard any studio activity from Wuthering Heights. Since 2010's recording in Salt, Nils Patrik Johansson has directed his vocal efforts and leadership to Civil War and his initial band Astral Doors, who continue to deal downright Dio derived heavy metal in their latest album. Yet Ronnie James has a lasting legacy for a reason, and Notes From The Shadows presents quality of song writing that clearly benefits from Dio's influence within the more traditional forms of the heavy metal genre.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
Iron Reagan - The Tyranny Of Will

Iron Reagan is a crossover band from Richmond, Virginia. They've released a small amount of material over the few years they've been active. The super-group consists of Municipal Waste and Darkest Hour members.

Yeah, your hardcore mouth is watering already. As it should be.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.09.2014 by Boxcar Willy | Comments (7)

Reviews
Megaton Leviathan - Past 21 Beyond The Arctic Cell

Have you ever been entranced by those nature films with no dialogue - just rolling landscape, panoramic shots? Dumb question - of course you have, everyone watches public access television at 3A.M. Have you ever thought to yourself "this is nice and hypnotic, but they really oughtta choose a better soundtrack?" Well folks, Megaton Leviathan is the perfect soundtrack.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
The Graviators - Motherload

Here's a real moral dilemma for you: How do you assess an album that's unbelievably derivative, but is absolutely cram-packed with such juicy-ass riffs? On one hand, I want to scoff at a band as un-fresh as The Graviators, but God damn, they do what they do so freakin' well.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (12)

Reviews
Snailking - Storm

All things considered from a human's perspective, a snail is a pretty vulnerable little creature. Not Snailking though. They have a vice-versa kind of deal going on in their full-length debut. The snail is the listener, and the bottom of a heavily flattening boot is this band's low-end and bass burgeoning delivery of doom. It's not an ideal situation for any snail, as Snailking remorselessly reigns here.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (10)

Reviews
Hemina - Nebulae

"Love is a friendship set to music."

Read more ››
Posted: 02.09.2014 by Introspekrieg | Comments (9)

Reviews
Earthship - Withered

Former The Ocean drummer Jan Oberg and his neat little band from Berlin, Germany, Earthship, have exploded onto the sludge/stoner landscape with their third release, Withered - a short but substantial 30-minute piece of music that's broken down to 10 archaic and bludgeoning riff clinics. The tunes are catchy, likable, and most of all, heavy.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.09.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (5)

Reviews
Warhound - Next Level

Metal and hip hop? Being a fan of both, I can honestly say it's usually a remedy for embarrassing disaster, or something to listen to with that overt irony (see: Limp Bizkit). Props to Warhound for beating down the skeptics.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (3)

Reviews
Earth - Primitive And Deadly

Earth require little introduction for fans of drone. Their debut album has become so legendary in the scene that even Stephen O'Malley (a legend in his own right) was inspired to start a project named after one of its tracks. However, the band demonstrated soon after that they were never content to sit in this one style, and have been consistently reinventing themselves ever since. 2014's Primitive And Deadly only continues this trend, further proving that Earth aren't running out of the tricks in their hat anytime soon.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.08.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (23)

Reviews
Angrepp - Libido

Ahhh, black metal and punk, when that combo is done right, it's like tasting Oreos for the first time all over again. Crunchy, yet sweetly addictive.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (4)

Reviews
Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence

When can a band you really don't care for yield one that you do? Why, when the band in question has a member who forms another band that's overall better and more enjoyable, of course. Enter the case of Dan Briggs' Trioscapes.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7