Reviews
November-7 - Awaraxid 7mg

November-7's 2011 debut Season 3 was rockin' and had insane replay value. Sophomore album Awaraxid 7mg is somehow a huge improvement on the already kick-ass debut, with more of everything you loved last time and a few new things to love this time.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (8)

Reviews
The Howling Void - Runa

The Howling Void is self-described as, "Glacial meditations on the Mysteries, in the form of vast, funereal soundscapes." I usually find their music vast and warm instead of vast and icy, but "glacial" is nonetheless adequate for me, as it captures the slow moving pace as well as the epically large structure.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (2)

Reviews
Anubis Gate - Horizons

Anubis Gate is a progressive power metal band from Denmark who has been active with some success for the last decade. Having managed to survive multiple lineup changes in recent years, they recently released Horizons, the next offering to add to an already impressive discography.

The band itself may have changed of late but the music remains true to the vibe their fans are used to. Powerful guitar riffs lead into memorable choruses dispersed over long and complex song structures. Some tracks are rather as expected while others are completely out there but awesome nonetheless. When it boils down to it, the song writing is somewhat pop oriented despite its complexity, as is the case for most of the northern European prog power sound (Think Norway's Pagan's Mind).

Read more ››
Posted: 02.11.2014 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (3)

Reviews
Soen - Tellurian

It's a shame what Tool have become; a band no longer able to fulfil a promise. Taking up the reigns are Soen, who are certain to fulfil their own promises when Cognitive comes to Tellurian.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.11.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (15)

Reviews
Occultation - Silence In The Ancestral House

Occultation's doom metal eludes expectations. Contained in Silence In The Ancestral House, the occult receives an unusually mixed meaning.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.10.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Moanaa - Descent

Right under our noses there is a post-metal revolution happening in the eastern European countries. It seems Greece, Russia, Ukraine and Poland have joined the party late and fallen in love with this genre, because now, more than ever, most of my highly rated post-metal albums have come from those places. Adding to this trend are Poland's Moanaa and their debut LP Descent. Using a "typical" post-metal format, Descent isn't musically ground breaking but a laudable example of what fans of this scene should want and expect.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.10.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (13)

Reviews
Young And In The Way - When Life Comes To Death

"Will you still love me when I'm no longer young and beautiful?" asks Lana Del Rey. Will you still love Young And In The Way when they're no longer young and hardcore? I ask you.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.10.2014 by Ilham | Comments (7)

Reviews
Monster Magnet - Milking The Stars: A Reimagining Of Last Patrol

What is a "reimagining," exactly? In the case of Monster Magnet, it means just what it seems to be implying: a reinterpretation of a previous work, taking a fresh lens of perspective to it and going all out from there. Thus, Milking The Stars is not a new album, at least not as we would typically understand the term. But in many ways it might as well be.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.10.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (16)

Reviews
Anguish - Mountain

Further brandishing of the severed fox head signals two things for traditionally epic doom: more Anguish and fewer afforded comforts. Between you and the end is a Mountain of unembellished metal as bitter and unrelenting as the winter wind. Archaic style is delivered here without penitence.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.10.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
Abysmal Dawn - Obsolescence

Too often modern death metal bands seem content to imitate genre originators ala Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse or Deicide. Hence, it is refreshing to hear a band that plays traditional death metal and somehow manages to come across as reasonably unique. And, with Obsolescence, Abysmal Dawn do just that.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.10.2014 by deadone | Comments (8)

Reviews
Vermin Womb - Permanence

Call me lazy, call me uncreative, but I am going to spare you the usual accumulation of cute little metaphors that are supposed to convey the brutal nature of the piece of music being reviewed. I'm not going to tell you to imagine how this or that feels, nor compare it to large objects entering the orifices you were or were not born with. I'll be just as straightforward as Permanence is.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.10.2014 by Ilham | Comments (27)

Reviews
Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

"Leaving the world behind is the best experience most feeble minds fear to try."

Read more ››
Posted: 26.10.2014 by Introspekrieg | Comments (14)

Reviews
Evergrey - Hymns For The Broken

As a band seemingly at the brink of defeat and dissolution, Evergrey have returned with surprising resolve on their latest record, and, with themes of revolution in mind, Hymns For The Broken resounds with renewed inspiration and restored integrity.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.10.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (1)

Reviews
Atomikylä - Erkale

Perhaps it was inevitable. Both bands are major psychedelic innovators. Both of them were selected to play at Roadburn Festival in 2012. And both of them heavily promoted each other's most recent albums. Now, this level of brotherhood between Oranssi Pazuzu and Dark Buddha Rising has reached a new level, with a full blown collaborative project spawning in the form of Atomikylä. Strap on your oxygen tanks, comrades, for this is one that can wreck even the most seasoned of psychonauts if they're not careful.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.10.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (29)

Reviews
Pet Slimmers Of The Year - Fragments Of Uniforms

I am always on the lookout for unique and ambitious post metal and Fragments Of Uniforms is a terrific addition for my post/sludge/atmospheric metal collection. The genre has become a bit stagnant lately, not to say there hasn't been quality releases, but it seems the music follows the same formula over and over and is afraid to take any chances.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (4)

Reviews
Falloch - This Island, Our Funeral

Scottish band Falloch have finally released their sophomore album, three years after their highly decorated debut Where Distant Spirits Remain. Main song writer and vocalist Andy Marshall left the band during this period, the void filled with a trio of capable musicians and a new sound. A straight-forward and desensitized atmospheric approach takes the place of most of the "gazy" and folk metal elements. I love the band's new direction and This Island, Our Funeral is an impressive piece of music that will hold its own against the Dustwalker's and The Serpent & the Sphere's of the genre.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (3)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6