Reviews
Myrath - Legacy

I remember listening to the debut album of the Tunisian band in 2007 and thinking "I really want these guys to keep making music". I am so glad they still are. Ten years are almost behind us now and a lot has happened since then. The musicians moved to France and released a couple of follow-ups. Desert Call in 2010 had them hone their sound while Tales of the Sands really brought them to another level. With an unchanged lineup, Myrath are back with an ambitious album simply titled Legacy ("Myrath" means "Legacy" in Arabic).

Read more ››
Posted: 19.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (3)

Reviews
Anthrax - For All Kings

Among the giants of US Thrash metal, Anthrax has always been closest to my heart. Maybe it is an East Coast versus West Coast thing. In any case, we are lucky to have most of these bands still around. Much like Testament, Exodus and Death Angel, the New Yorkers are making a big statement with the release of For All Kings. Their previous album Worship Music saw the return of their talisman singer Joey Belladonna for what was a step in the right direction. Anticipation has had time to build seeing that this follow-up comes about 4 1/2 years later. Time seem to have no effect on the musicians of Anthrax. Their trademark sound has not changed one iota. Scott Ian is shredding like he alone knows how. Charlie Benante is pounding those drums in his very-recognizable beat. Frank Bello is grooving his usual sound. Joey Belladonna is singing his heart out. It feels like the band from 1987, just with a much cleaner production. The addition of Jonathan Donais of Shadows Fall-fame as second guitarist also has contributed to keeping the energy level up.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (18)

Reviews
Bucovina - Nestrămutat

I currently have in front of me a notebook from a class I took on Balkan history. In it are written the three things that I can most confidently say I know about the region of Bukovina:

1. painted monasteries
2. much nicer than Wallachia
3. heartland of Stephen III's Moldavia

Added to this list in spirit, if not in writing, is that Bukovina serves as the origin, namesake, and inspiration for Romania's great folk metal titan (no, obviously not Negură Bunget).

Read more ››
Posted: 16.03.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (26)

Reviews
Holy Grail - Times Of Pride And Peril

Holy Grail crashed through the stained glass walls of modern power metal on a mighty dragon back in 2010, loosing in a wave of molten fire one of the best albums of the century thus far. Ride The Void unfortunately failed to capitalize on that success, neglecting to recapture the dominating spirit and infectious songwriting of its predecessor. Album #3 often serves as a "make-or-break" indicator, and with Times Of Pride And Peril, Holy Grail have viciously stamped their hopes for longevity on the throats and soft underbellies of any who would doubt them.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.03.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Stangala - Klanv

When last we left the cloak wearing Frenchies of Stangala they were tossing traditional Celtic/Gaelic instruments into some crunchy stoner jams. Seems they've been alternating hits on the bong and gobbling angry pills.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.03.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (0)

Reviews
Maïeutiste - Maeutiste

For starters, appy-polly-logees to Maïeutiste for taking so long to draft this review. I've spent some time with the album now, spinning it, enjoying it and the words just haven't come to me. Yeah, it's taken me nearly as long to review their self-titled release as the five plus years or so it took them to record it.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.03.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (8)

Reviews
Obscura - Akróasis

If you are unfamiliar with Obscura, the German combo plays an unfettered brand of progressive technical death metal similar in style to bands like Cynic, Gorod and Necrophagist. With three key members gone since their last opus Omnivium—Christian Münzner [guitars], Hannes Grossmann [drums] and Jeroen Paul Thesseling [bass] all left after 2011—the band had to be rebuilt.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (5)

Reviews
Omnium Gatherum - Grey Heavens

Finland's Omnium Gatherum is one of those bands currently dominating the metal scene with consistent high-quality efforts. Early 2016 sees their 7th album being released via Life Force Records. In a world where fans dissect every move made on a melodic death record, I have to point out that they elegantly did play it safe by retaining the services of Dan Swanö as a producer. This brings continuity to their discography while allowing them to play within the boundaries of their sound.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (9)

Reviews
The Body - No One Deserves Happiness

If The Body were a person, and you were you to walk into their wardrobe, you'd probably see hundreds upon hundreds of masks. Some richly decorated and ornate, others more rugged and simpler in design, but all representative of one fact: this individual never seems content to settle on just one identity for themselves. They're indecisive, and they have to be ready at all times for the possibility of preferring to go in one direction over another. And watching them is something like sitting through a nuclear war: you're not quite sure of what's going to come next, but you can be sure it'll be pretty damn intense, whatever happens.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.03.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Resurrection Kings - Resurrection Kings

Are you up for a mind trick? Imagine 1987. Ok, are you there? Good. Well, that's it. Here is a new super group project called Resurrection Kings, which are essentially former Dio members Craig Goldy and Vinny Appice joining forces with Sean McNabb Quiet Riot / Dokken]. To complete the lineup, we have a talented rock vocalist in Chas West (ex-Bonham, Foreigner). This whole thing is being brought to you by courtesy of Frontiers Records, by way of producer Alessandro Del Vecchio.

By now you have surely figured out that this is a straightforward hard rock / melodic rock album. The kind of music that lets the real rock instruments do all the talking. Who needs a keyboard player anyway? Only good at noisemaking when a good silence creates a heavy beat, am I right? Seriously, there are some keyboards on this album but they do take the backseat.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.03.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (5)

Reviews
Avantasia - Ghostlights

Over the last few albums, Avantasia have softened and smoothed out - matured, perhaps - and they arrive in Ghostlights a much different beast from the brash power project born the better part of two decades ago. Modern Avantasia sounds more "symphonic rock musical" than "metal opera." No harm done, though - it's only different, not worse.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.03.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (6)

Pages: 1 [2]