Updates - reviews


Reviews
Akercocke - Renaissance In Extremis

Ten long years after Antichrist, the mighty Akercocke are back. This time they have taken off their suits and the band's renaissance has occurred without sacrificing any goats. Female breasts are also absent and there is no sign of Lucifer worship. But fear not, for their admirable inability to deliver a less-than-extraordinary record is intact.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2017 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Samael - Hegemony

I don't mind waiting forever for a new album by a band I like. I'd rather wait 10 years than get an album that disappoints. More frequent output may mean decline in quality. Samael certainly did take their time after Lux Mundi. 6 years is the longest we've had to wait between their albums. How does wait time translate into quality? I'm happy to announce that the ratio is more than satisfactory.

Since 1996's seminal Passage, Samael's output has been pretty consistent, with the exception of Above. So don't expect any dramatic switch in musical direction. What you should expect though, is an increase in song quality. It's been hit-and-miss before, but this time every songs hits the bull's eye. The absolutely best one, "Black Supremacy" is so good that I can't really remember when was the last time that Samael sounded so good. Perhaps on Passage? But it would be unfair to point to a single song. What seems to be a solid mass of Samael's trademark sound reveals plenty of layers upon multiple listens. It's hard to believe how much effort and thought was put in every song. On the surface it's Samael's standard fare, but if you look beneath, you discover a lot of subtle elements that elevate this music to the heights Samael haven't reached in a long time.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.10.2017 by Daniell | Comments (11)

Reviews
Yhdarl - Antithesis

Periphrasis: a literary device in which inflated, circumlocutory language is employed in the place of a more succinct explanation purely for the sake of being tortu(r)ously oblique, much in the same way that we have all padded out writing assignments with minimum word counts by abandoning the concept of efficiency.

Drone: that, but music.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Blut Aus Nord - Deus Salutis Meæ

A new Blut Aus Nord album inevitably raises anticipation high among black metal fans. Why is this, exactly?

Read more ››
Posted: 21.10.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (28)

Reviews
Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

Bell Witch already had a broader emotional span and more colorful sonic palette than most funeral doom bands, but informed by the untimely death of former drummer/vocalist Adrian Guerra last year, Mirror Reaper embodies something even heavier and more personal. The sober, reflective nature of the band's sound feels even more palpable than before. Thrice now they have produced a serious contender for doom album of the year.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Belphegor - Totenritual

Alright, alright, alright! Who is excited for a new Belphegor album?!...

...Hey guys?...Guys?

Read more ››
Posted: 20.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (3)

Reviews
Myrkur - Mareridt

Myrkur hasn't stopped making waves in the metal scene since unveiling her self-titled EP in 2014, and Mareridt, the project's second full-length, suggests that those waves are only going to get bigger and bigger with the passage of time.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (16)

Reviews
Tengger Cavalry - Die On My Ride

Tengger Cavalry has made it exceedingly difficult for me to care about them over the last few years. When the band debuted in 2010 with Blood Sacrifice Shaman and then found solid footing with 2012's Sunesu Cavalry, Tengger Cavalry was at the top of the Mongolian folk metal world. That might not being saying much, but the band was forging a strong reputation well outside that limited circle, even selling out Carnegie Hall with an acoustic performance in 2015. Things have changed.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (5)

Reviews
Jag Panzer - The Deviant Chord

Jag Panzer is that rare power metal band that lives up to the name of the genre in every aspect, radiating a sense of raw power and brute force that leaves a lot of extreme metal bands rolling in the dust. Thankfully, the band's second hiatus was considerably shorter than the first, and The Deviant Chord shows us a Jag Panzer renewed in spirit and ready to keep its good name intact.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)