Reviews
Bigelf - Into The Maelstrom

Picture The Beatles, Black Sabbath & Queen with OK computer's production! Climb aboard and take the trip...

Read more ››
Posted: 16.03.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (7)

Reviews
Human Cull - Stillborn Nation

Human Cull are a grindcore band who formed in 2007 in the United Kingdom (Insert tea and crumpets joke here). Since their conception, 7 years ago, the band has put out a few EP's and split albums; however Stillborn Nation is the band's first full length album. Clocking in at a marathon 25 (ish) minutes, the album is over before you even realize the damage it has done.

The music is fast, with 22 of 23 songs being under the 2-minute mark, therefore the album goes by very quickly. The low-end heavy sound is pummeling and extremely dense. Imagine being locked in a pitch black closet while body boxing Mike Tyson; and boom, you have this album. Vicious vocal snaps and continuous blasting drums together with down-tuned guitars and thick chunky bass; what's not to love about this album?

Read more ››
Posted: 15.03.2014 by BoxCar Willy | Comments (2)

Reviews
One Machine - The Distortion Of Lies And The Overdriven Truth

One Machine is not just another "Supergroup" but rather a well thought-out idea by mastermind Steve Smyth, who hand-picked a bunch of musicians, and thus, the end result speaks for itself.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.03.2014 by D.T. Metal | Comments (11)

Reviews
Dread Sovereign - All Hell's Martyrs

After the less than warm reception surrounding Twilight Of The Gods' Fire On The Mountain last year, Alan Averill (of Primordial and Void Of Silence notoriety) is back with a vengeance with the debut of his new Dread Sovereign project. After putting out a small EP last year, the group now see themselves hitting the scene hard this year with All Hell's Martyrs, a more concise delivery of ideas that's guaranteed to win over fans both with its eerie vibe and overall catchy atmosphere. Brace yourselves, kids: this one's a fucking banger.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.03.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (10)

Reviews
Ringworm - Hammer Of The Witch

Ringworm plays metalcore metalcore, not the sugary stuff Hot Topic wants you to throw your money at. Metalcore metalcore that will make you want to spin around with a blunt weapon, letting the centrifugal force have its way.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.03.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (9)

Reviews
Allochiria - Omonoia

Greek post-metal isn't something you hear of every day, and Allochiria are the nation's leading exponents.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.03.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (6)

Reviews
Dunkelnacht - Revelatio

Usually the intro gives a little taste on what's coming; not so the case on their latest offering, Revelatio. Looking past that, the album starts off with fast drums and somehow reminds me of early … Cradle Of Filth, Dark Tranquillity sans the keyboard or In Flames maybe? Can't put my finger on it and to top it off, some passages on the album also have a hint of metal or death core to them.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.03.2014 by D.T. Metal | Comments (0)

Reviews
Valknacht - Le Sacrifice D'Ymir

Pagan black metal can tend to be pretty hit or miss with me. You have your bands that excel at the craft and make fantastic releases (hi there Drudkh and Kawir), and then ones that only offer up your typical "hail Odin/I love trees" redundancy, and offer an equally dismissible delivery with their music. Quebecers Valknacht sit somewhere in the middle

Read more ››
Posted: 10.03.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Sonata Arctica - Pariah's Child

Sonata Arctica are back with a new album that, at least externally, relives the glory of the past times. A new album with the flavour of the old: old logo, old artwork style and old wolves' theme are back. What about the inside?

Read more ››
Posted: 09.03.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (31)

Reviews
Twilight - III: Beneath Trident's Tomb

When I heard tell of Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore joining a black metal band, I was naturally curious and anxious to hear the results. Now… I'm not quite sure what I was expecting, because this sounds exactly like Sonic Youth playing black metal to me, and it sounds just as lame as I should have thought.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.03.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Hail Of Bullets - III: The Rommel Chronicles

A concept album about Generalfeldmarschall Erwin Rommel? Count me in! I'm always up to get down with the Desert Fox.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.03.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Vanden Plas - Chronicles Of The Immortals: Netherworld (Path 1)

The masters of heavy rock operas are back. Vanden Plas, from the city of Kaiserslautern, Germany, have been steadily grabbing dully deserved attention of late with their unique theatrical approach to music applied to progressive power metal. It has been 4 years already since they released the addictive concept album The Seraphic Clockwork. They took things even a notch farther in terms of theater performance by teaming up with fantasy writer Wolfgang Hohlbein to interpret his Netherworld novels on stage in the form of a rock opera for a few selected shows in Germany. With the bombastic title of Chronicles of the Immortals: Netherworld (Path I), this is the studio recording of the first half of those songs.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.03.2014 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (7)

Reviews
The Distorting Glass - The Germ.

For starters, The Distorting Glass are not a metal band. Nope. Nosirree Bob.

So why am I reviewing them on a metal site?

Well, they fall under that "music that might be of interest to metal fans" clause that we've used in the past. One of the members of The Distorting Glass, Tom Granica, was formerly with Tacoma Narrows Bridge Disaster, a band whose last release was found by many on this site to be an utterly fantastic post-metal release.

So what, exactly, are The Distorting Glass? I'm not entirely sure myself, to be honest. They have dubbed themselves a "heavy art rock" band. Ok, I can get behind that. It's not particularly post-rock, not straight forward rawk a la Clutch, nor some overly-pretentious art rock band that makes me want to start smashing band members err things with a claw hammer.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.03.2014 by BitterCOld | Comments (2)

Reviews
Corpsessed - Abysmal Thresholds

Every once in a while, you come across a band for whom the label "death metal" is an understatement. Corpsessed's debut album is more like "slavering jaws of the supreme ravenous death beast metal."

Read more ››
Posted: 06.03.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (11)

Reviews
Shattered Hope - Waters Of Lethe

I've put off reviewing for a bit. This is partially because of the MS Awards work, but largely because this marks my 200th review for Metal Storm and I was hoping to get something special to review.

Lo and behold… enter Shattered Hope.

Way back when, when I had just four posted reviews under my belt for MS, Hellenic purveyor of doom, Shattered Hope were the very first band to ever contact me and ask me to review their works. Enjoyed the promo and really enjoyed their debut, Absence.

So when I found out they were putting out a new release, Waters Of Lethe, I was giddy as a 14yo at a Justin Bieber concert. Or as giddy as my bitter self would be if we deported his ass back to Canada. Or better yet, Somalia.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.03.2014 by BitterCOld | Comments (7)

Reviews
Descend - Wither

In the Roman year of MMXIV, Sweden's Descend are here to show us that originality is certainly not always the ultimate decider of good music.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.03.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (5)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4