Reviews
Sonic Booze Machine - Doomed To Fail

Sonic Booze Machine is the enemy of every teetotal and recovering alcoholic; theirs is the sound of the sloshed.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (2)

Reviews
Swashbuckle - We Hate The Sea

I feel kind of stupid writing a full review for not-quite-seven minutes of music, but with Swashbuckle, stupid is okay.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Reviews
Age Of Artemis - The Waking Hour

There's no two ways about it really, Age Of Artemis sound a lot like Angra. The extent of idol worship going on in their latest album is obvious, and more's the pity if their imitations didn't actually yield any success. Fortunately though, they do a remarkably good job of it.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
HammerFall - (r)Evolution

On the cover artwork, Hector is back. But, is HammerFall?

Read more ››
Posted: 13.08.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (8)

Reviews
Saison De Rouille - Deroutes San Fin

Saison De Rouille are a French industrial metal outfit that are heavy on the industry. The review came my way of Karl S, also with Danishmendt, whose Un Passé Aride release I reviewed favorably.

This is not a catchy-slick cyber assault, a la Fear Factory. Déroutes Sans Fin is an abrasive, discordant assault. Not one driven by guitars, distortion pedals maxed out and amped up to 10 with movie catchphrase samples tossed in, but one driven pounding drums, anchored by some rumbling bass accompanied guitars playing seemingly achromatically a couple steps farther back in the mix.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.08.2014 by BitterCOld | Comments (3)

Reviews
Midnight - No Mercy For Mayhem

Midnight seems to take everything that's off-putting about metal to those who think metal's too silly, amplifies it, and then laughs spitefully while going their merry Motör-way. There's not much more anyone could ask from them; there aren't many groups that can juggle being so preternaturally inane and yet rip so goddamn seriously.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (10)

Reviews
Halcyon Way - Conquer

Complexity for complexity's sake is often a stigma attached to progressive metal, and it's refreshing to hear a band that takes a more direct path toward instilling an impression. Halcyon Way have reached their fourth full-length record, and at this stage their own direction is well defined with an electric accessibility being the focus of their aims.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (3)

Reviews
Studfaust - Where The Underdogs Bark

Filthy, obnoxious and stupid. God damn, Studfaust is pretty decent.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (5)

Reviews
Suicide Silence - You Can't Stop Me

I have to give Suicide Silence credit. After the death of Mitch Lucker almost 2 years ago in late 2012, they picked up the pieces and put out another album. It's not always easy to keep on truckin' after a tragedy like that, so they get some respect from me in that sense. There's even more than that, though. You Can't Stop Me is not too shabby an album.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (8)

Reviews
Twilightfall - The Energy Of Soul

You see what happens, kids? You see what happens when you've got a lot of wicked-awesome ideas, but just throw them together all willy-nilly?!

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (0)

Reviews
Ömheten - Själv

With the dawn of the internet, music as a business is reverting back to the way it was when it was first recorded; singles. Whether they're a couple of hits from a popular artist, or small time bands who prefer pounding out frequent, shorter EPs, full albums are slowly being phased out. Recordings like Själv show us why some times nothing beats a full-length album that can drag you down to hell and back out again.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (6)

Reviews
Unisonic - Light Of Dawn

Praise the Lord for Michael Kiske. Wait, that's like asking Kiske to thank himself. For himself.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (1)

Reviews
DragonForce - Maximum Overload

Some wise guy in some forum recently said "Sure, DragonForce only has one song, but it's catchy as hell."

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (23)

Reviews
Solbrud - Jærtegn

Danish black metal somehow never became a big thing, taking into account that it's a Scandinavian country. The interesting question therefore is: what does it sound like? I will answer this first, for in the case of Solbrud it's quite easy as it's a mixture of Swedish and Norwegian black metal styles with some modern approaches. It has the lo-fi produced guitars and furious bass of Norway together with the death-metalish sounding drums and clearer vocals of Sweden. And to be honest, I could think of better mixtures.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2014 by Windrider | Comments (1)

Reviews
Grimfaith - Preacher Creature

Grimfaith hail from the land of the Chicken Cholesterol Bomb, Kiev and have been together for over a decade now, putting out the type of music you'd expect from characters like Raven, Moregrim, and Eviltwin… Gothic Metal. Preacher Creature marks their second full-length.

Initially the album caught my eye simply because of the artwork - you've got clash of orthodox icons and some cyber-fetishism (insert George "Sulu" Takei "Oh Myyyyyy" soundbyte here).

Ultimately the album fell short of my expectations... perhaps I was thinking something my cyber, a la ...And Oceans or Red Harvest based upon packaging and zero actual familiarity.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2014 by BitterCOld | Comments (0)

Reviews
Wijlen Wij - Coronachs Of The Ω

Right from the get-go Wijlen Wij plunge their listener into the murky depths.

"Boreas" opens powerfully with subhuman vocals and organ cloaked power chords that sound is if recorded by an 8 track in some massive subterranean cave. Rather than the often slick and powerful production like a lot of their Solitude label mates sport, they went for a more primitive sound.

Like a lot of their contemporaries in the extreme doom world, they crafted an album of five tracks that total more than 60 minutes of music, meaning you get a couple 17 minute pieces, and a few "short" tracks that clock in around 6-8 minutes. As mentioned, tons of indecipherable, guttural deathgrowl vocals, distorted power chords, and occasional moments of tension release. Not strict adherents to the formula, Quadruple U toss in other elements.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.08.2014 by BitterCOld | Comments (2)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7