Reviews
We Are The Catalyst - Monuments

Monuments is an alternative metal album that blends together many different styles, such as gothic, symphonic and nu-metal, into a pleasurable listening experience. This type of musical diversion from my normal, everyday listening choices have always been a guilty pleasure of mine. Female fronted, mid-tempo bands like Lacuna Coil and Elysion gnaw at my "softer" spots when I want to ingest metal music that's warm and dark but sedate and soothing. We Are The Catalyst follow that same superficial and assembly-line manufactured pattern made trendy by other bands of this kind today, but that's perfectly OK with me because for some unexplainable reason I really enjoy this stuff.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.11.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (3)

Reviews
Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

Music so occult it makes your player crash and refuses to leave your hard drive.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.11.2014 by Ilham | Comments (14)

Reviews
Lethian Dreams - Red Silence Lodge

To be specifically noted for atmosphere within doom metal requires a particular kind of approach to the genre. The Parisian band Lethian Dreams have released their third record in a style which would place great significance on the meaning of ambience, with an accommodating sound made more substantial in Red Silence Lodge.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.11.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (2)

Reviews
Menace Ruine - Venus Armata

Some of the strongest bands within the music spectrum are those that can change their style drastically without losing any momentum in the process. A recent example of this within the metal genre would be the mysterious Menace Ruine duo. These Canadians emerged from the shadows not even a decade ago with their demo and debut, hazy blends of atmospheric black metal and doom, only to make a complete 180 and descend into a more folky form of drone. 2014's Venus Armata continues in this direction, and is an absolutely magnificent release.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.11.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (14)

Reviews
Raspberry Bulbs - Privacy

Raspberry Bulbs makes blackish punk that's deserving of the title "Primitive." Like, straight from the viscera Primitive; the kind of Primitive bands constantly aim for and most come up short on. The disputable genre tags for them seem like they just get in the way of that fact. This is some angry, raw stuff and that should be enough in way of describing what it is they do.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.11.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (6)

Reviews
Mass Hypnosis - Sanctimonious

People refuse to see the signs. People are blind to their doings, and we are laughed at when we try to warn you. The Illuminati are amongst us. WAKE UP! SHEEPLE!

Read more ››
Posted: 26.11.2014 by Ilham | Comments (11)

Reviews
Morost - Solace In Solitude

Morost's brand of death metal is quite groovy, with strong drumming and blast beats in all the right places, while a thundering bass leads us through the darkness. Yet, there is so much beauty and emotion in Solace In Solitude. These Slovenians carry the label "Progressive Death Metal" and I can get right in line behind that. It's decidedly extreme metal, but the shards of melody that slice their way into this music will equally slice their way into your tortured, music-loving heart.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (0)

Reviews
Deus X Machina - X

Deus X Machina's X is power metal with strong heavy metal leanings. These Argentines released a debut that comes out of the gate with mountains of energy to spare, a classic metal influence, and a singer with strong high notes even a dog can't hear. The opening track even reminded me of Hibria's debut Defying The Rules: The Power Metal Version.

The youthful energy here is the main selling point; each listen was exciting and I couldn't help but tap a toe or otherwise move my body for every single note. Yet, they're unpolished here and there and still have a ways to go regarding songwriting. The melodies are good, not great or hugely memorable, and the production is a bit lacking. Overall, keyboards are well used and provide enough support without overwhelming any of you listeners who have keyboard allergies. Vocals are classically performed and stay primarily in the upper range. Because of this, they have potential to get tiresome. This guy sounds like he knows what he's doing, so I'd love to hear him explore his mid- and low-range more next time.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (4)

Reviews
Almøst Human - Ø

In Flames, anybody?

Read more ››
Posted: 23.11.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (2)

Reviews
Ravenscry - The Attraction Of Opposites

Ravenscry's second full-length takes everything from their debut, improves on it, experiments even more, and offers thirteen songs of absorbing, introverted melodies that have had me returning to the album for months now.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.11.2014 by dismaleuphony | Comments (3)

Reviews
Bloodtruth - Obedience

I'm tired and angry. I won't make the slightest effort to make this review interesting, or easy to read. Nor will I try to be original. And I certainly won't resort to intricate sentences to make this longer than it has to be. Why would I put more work into this than Bloodtruth did when writing the album?

Read more ››
Posted: 22.11.2014 by Ilham | Comments (14)

Reviews
Phosphorus - Assassinat

There's really something special about finding a band like this - young, energetic and untainted by over-familiarity. Hearing Phosphorus' full-length debut is akin to hearing Absu or Skeletonwitch for the first time all over again.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.11.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (1)

Reviews
Silent Planet - The Night God Slept

The best thing about growing older is not knowing yourself better, but coming to the realisation you actually don't know that much. I never would have thought an album by a Christian metalcore band could actually move the doubtful heart of a hardened atheist such as mine. Silent Planet tamed the cold bitch in me for the short while I needed to write this review. I'll proceed to tell you how.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.11.2014 by Ilham | Comments (31)

Reviews
Revocation - Deathless

Revocation's self-titled album released in 2013 left me thinking two main things. The first being (aside from "Spastic") it was bad, and the second being despite its badness, the people in this band have the potential to drop a cataclysmic shit-wrecking album that would do the thrash and death genres proper justice.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.11.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (8)

Reviews
Tengger Cavalry - Ancient Call

I went looking for some great folk metal since none had yet found me this year. In 2012 I took this same journey and found Wilderun on the unlikely shores of Boston; I have again struck folk metal gold in the equally unlikely city of Beijing.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.11.2014 by Susan | Comments (8)

Reviews
Khold - Til Endes

So decomposed that it starts oozing unidentified fluids, giving off a putrid smell and the insides ready to burst if you press too hard with your finger. That's how I like my French cheese, and that's how I like my Khold.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.11.2014 by Ilham | Comments (5)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6