Reviews
Apostle Of Solitude - Of Woe And Wounds

Don't ask me why, but I've been listening to a hell of a lot of doom metal lately. Perhaps that is why, after such an extended period of complete blankness since I picked up this album, I decided to finally approach Of Woe And Wounds and give Apostle Of Solitude a fair shot.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Solefald - World Metal. Kosmopolis Sud

World Metal is an open letter to metal conventions. It reads thus: HA!

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (8)

Reviews
Death Engine - Mud

Words continue to elude me as I keep getting lost in this album rather than concentrating on writing about it.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.02.2015 by Ilham | Comments (19)

Reviews
Angra - Secret Garden

The Japanese were the first to witness this surprising stabilisation of a band that seemed beyond saving. In late 2014 an all new Angra first flourished, and the turn over to a new year demonstrated to the rest of the world an earnest progressive growth in the repertoire of Brazil's leading light in power metal. The secret they revealed in their latest record is that Angra aren't finished just yet.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (2)

Reviews
Battle Beast - Unholy Savior

Battle Beast are back with their third release, the second with Noora Louhimo leading the charge.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.02.2015 by R Lewis | Comments (6)

Reviews
Nameless One - Thousand Memories And Nameless Sword

There's many in the metal community that still miss the halcyon days of Finnish superstars Children Of Bodom when they happily shredded their ways into our hearts with albums like Something Wild and Hatebreeder. And since then many have tried and failed to capture the youthful exuberance of those early albums. So it's up to a bunch of young Japanese upstarts to accomplish what even the mighty Children Of Bodom has failed to do since, let alone a legion of imitators.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.02.2015 by deadone | Comments (2)

Reviews
Abstracter - Wound Empire

Someone should call Textures, ask them to relinquish their name and let Abstracter use it instead.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.02.2015 by Ilham | Comments (3)

Reviews
Brothers Of The Sonic Cloth - Brothers Of The Sonic Cloth

Brothers Of The Sonic Cloth is to sludge what Bob Ross was to painting.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.02.2015 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
Pulsar Colony - Cosmic Manifestations

I love nontraditional black metal. I also love one man bands. This year, Pulsar Colony is helping me kill two birds with one stone.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.02.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Winteragei - The Harmonic Passage

Ahoy! Classical music nerds and fans of nostalgic power metal! Italian music masters Winterage not only bring symphonic folk-inspired power metal straight from the early 2000s but they bring no shame along with it. They like fun, they like folk, and they like Felix Mendelssohn.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.02.2015 by Susan | Comments (3)

Reviews
Rosetta - Audio​/​Visual Original Score

Bringing their background to the foreground presents a challenge to the nature of inherent engagement. Fortunately Rosetta's latest record isn't devoid of substance in an attempt at purer ambient.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Eden Circus - Marula

Marula is an album that probably slipped by most atmospheric metal fans in 2014.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.01.2015 by tea[m]ster | Comments (13)

Reviews
Apostate - Time Of Terror

Apostate is "Ukraine's oldest doom band," having formed in 1993. They released only a memorable demo and EP, split in 1998, then re-formed over a decade later and released a debut full-length in 2010, now followed by this sophomore album. Well, they didn't exactly re-form: the bandleader Alexander Kostko came together with a new group of musicians and called it Apostate. You decide if it's the same band or not but one thing is consistent: primarily the same group of musicians has recorded and released both of Apostate's full-lengths thus far.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.01.2015 by Susan | Comments (3)

Reviews
36 Crazyfists - Time And Trauma

What makes a really good metalcore album?

Read more ››
Posted: 28.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (5)

Reviews
Abscession - Grave Offerings

Death metal. From Sweden. Do I need to say more? Although that's the band's official description on their facebook page, I feel like my job here is to lose some more words for you readers. Almost forgot, the band's name is Abscession and we are discussing their debut album Grave Offerings today. The band is a three-piece orchestra with the usual setup, plus some keyboards. And they are from Sweden. They play death metal.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.01.2015 by Windrider | Comments (1)

Reviews
Shepherd - Stereolithic Riffalocalypse

- Hey sup, duuuude!

Read more ››
Posted: 28.01.2015 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (19)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6