Reviews
Minsk - The Crash & The Draw

Nearly four years ago I sadly reported that Minsk was on indefinite hiatus. I also prophesied

But before you ponder seppuku at this news, the band is named after a city which has shown historical resilience to invasions and razing. So who knows, maybe they, too, like their namesake, will return and rebuild. Or at least finish that album they mentioned working on and go out with a (sonic) boom.

Happy days are here again. Roughly four years since that sad news and six years off the (oddly named) With Echoes In The Movement Of Stone they are back with the release of their fourth full-length, The Crash & The Draw, a worthy follow-up to their fantastic back catalog. "Return, The Heir", indeed.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.03.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (10)

Reviews
Barren Earth - On Lonely Towers

Considering Barren Earth as a supergroup has never been necessitated. It's true that the musicians in question are already noteworthy for efforts elsewhere and currently lead busy lives in other bands. However, status external to Barren Earth no longer solely upholds the name, as the name has come to uphold itself with a tenable style their own. A third effort, On Lonely Towers, represents the band's continued development and change.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.03.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (1)

Reviews
Negură Bunget - Tău

For those who didn't write the band off following the departure of Sol Faur and Hupogrammos, and their subsequent formation of Dordeduh, Negură Bunget are back in action. But while Vîrstele Pămîntului may have been a good return to form for the band, 2015's Tău unfortunately feels more like a step backwards.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.03.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Reviews
Moonspell - Extinct

I figured Extinct to be one of those albums that offer instant gratification; you know, the one that gets you smiling when you listen to it the first time around, evoking the same emotions over and over on each subsequent visit. Because this album is actually almost that good. But the more I listen to it, the less I can figure out and pinpoint that little something that rubs me the wrong way.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.03.2015 by Ivor | Comments (10)

Reviews
Morgoth - Ungod

After Morgoth's 2014 Single God Is Evil blew me away, I didn't know what to expect from Ungod, especially since the band lost original fronter Marc Grewe right before the new album even got off the ground.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.03.2015 by D.T. Metal | Comments (14)

Reviews
Cancer Bats - Searching For Zero

Why did Batman need mouthwash?

Read more ››
Posted: 22.03.2015 by Ilham | Comments (7)

Reviews
Evil Invaders - Pulses Of Pleasure

People who know a thing or two will have a considered opinion on the whole thrash/speed metal/old-school-in-general revival movement. There are those who see it as an image-centered, hero-worshiping kind of thing, and then there are those who don't, when it comes down to it, care if music is experimental or not and take songs at face value strictly.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.03.2015 by wormdrink414 | Comments (2)

Reviews
Armenia - Lopsided Moon

The term "lopsided moon" is sometimes applied to our moon in that it is not perfectly spherical and may have absorbed a second moon long ago during a slow collision. A higher-speed collision would have likely formed a crater, while a slower collision could easily have fused two bodies together in an asymmetrical fashion. The side of the moon which is constantly Earth-facing appears round and spherical, potentially due to the Earth shielding that side of the moon from celestial debris and further impacts.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.03.2015 by Susan | Comments (5)

Reviews
Callisto - Secret Youth

I've said this a few times in previous reviews/comments… I just don't see innovation or nothing very interesting with post-metal anymore. After the originators and other pioneers left their works for us to admire, almost no one tried to develop from there… But here's the new album by Callisto and they are elbowing their way to the first lines.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.03.2015 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (2)

Reviews
Neal Morse - The Grand Experiment

It's a well-balanced meal. These are not my words. They are Mike Portnoy's. Now, bare with me as I try to explain what's not entirely right with this statement and probably contradict myself along the way.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.03.2015 by Ivor | Comments (4)

Reviews
U.D.O. - Decadent

Some people just live and breathe heavy metal, and none more so than Udo Dirkschneider, lead vocalist of U.D.O., who dispels any notion that old age results in mandatory mellowing out. Indeed not many of the 1970s vintage metal pioneers still crank out meaty slabs of heavy metal, other than maybe Udo's old band, Accept.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.03.2015 by deadone | Comments (1)

Reviews
A Forest Of Stars - Beware The Sword You Cannot See

You know those people, somewhat pessimistic types, who say of music that "nothing is original anymore," and "everything's been done"? Well, they clearly haven't heard A Forest Of Stars yet, now have they?

Read more ››
Posted: 11.03.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (30)

Reviews
Galar - De Gjenlevende

Norway's Galar are melodic black metal first and foremost with their features of Nordic folk giving them their own face in the crowd, a crowd best represented by the likes of Vintersorg or Borknagar in their early days. De gjenlevende, the band's third album, takes its time in laying down its melodies, and nothing is short and sweet in these tunes epic and wintry.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.03.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
Yonder Realm - The Old Ways

With Wilderun on the precipice of their sophomore album and Thrawsunblat probably doing something kick-ass right this very second, North American folk metal is alive and well. Aw, hell, let's go ahead and make it a trio. New Yorkers Yonder Realm have just released a sweet debut.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.03.2015 by Susan | Comments (4)

Reviews
Psycroptic - Psycroptic

An innate capacity of Psycroptic is their stability in studio variance. No record is a replication of those which preceded it, and each successively demonstrates the band's evolution without compromising the core integrity in their technical approach to death metal. A self-titled sees no change to this, yet it lacks the vigorous edge expected from an album bearing the band's own name.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.03.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (86)

Reviews
Ethereal Shroud - They Became The Falling Ash

I like walking around my new home of Asuncion at night. After dark the city takes on a different feel. Opting to meander in new directions through new barrios is very intriguing and, at times, tinged with a little danger. I think with They Became The Falling Ash I've found the soundtrack to my next few explorations.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.03.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (7)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4