Reviews
Carcass - Surgical Remission / Surplus Steel

Having released a scrumptious eye fillet steak in 2013 in the form of Surgical Steel, Carcass have stuffed all the offcuts into a pig intestine to deliver us a plump little sausage called Surgical Remission/Surplus Steel.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.01.2015 by deadone | Comments (16)

Reviews
The Neologist - Coming Full Circle

Welcome to 2015. Enter, grab some records, and start spinning. I'll throw on the aptly named Coming Full Circle from The Neologist. They call themselves simply "melodic metal," though I usually see them described as melodic death metal, with which I wouldn't disagree. Slight melodic metalcore and prog elements creep in some and the result is a highly engaging, streamlined sound. Melody is key, which results in an excellent genre album with some very moving tunes.

The mature songwriting matches the band's mature and realistic attitude toward the current music industry. The Neologist specifically give their music away for free and encourage fans to share elsewhere online. Bassist Devin Walsh is facetiously quoted as saying, "Make sure you get a copy before the free album sells out. The free downloads are limited to the first 999,999 fans, so don't miss out!" (Apparently Bandcamp limits a band's free downloads each month; once that number is reached then a nominal fee is automatically assessed.) The band's modern outlook, as well as this element of humor, emulates itself in a laid-back quality in the music. Some mid-tempo songs are a bit slower than their peers might employ, yet they never drag, as many mid-tempo songs are wont to do. You may find yourself nodding along to the title track, as I did, instead of headbanging or jumping around.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.01.2015 by Susan | Comments (3)

Reviews
Spiders - Shake Electric

The 70s are strong with this one.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.01.2015 by R Lewis | Comments (10)

Reviews
Arbitrator (CAN) - Indoctrination Of Sacrilege

Do people even care about the meaning of certain words anymore?

Read more ››
Posted: 04.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (12)

Reviews
Marilyn Manson - The Pale Emperor

Everyone grows old. Or "older", if that word scares you less. Some better than others.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (29)

Reviews
Evenoire - Herons

Let's close out 2014 right: fans of melodic metal from across the spectrum, come together and hear Evenoire's Herons. If you like proggy, heavy symphonic metal with folk elements and absolutely ass-kicking vocals, then step right up, step right up.

The dual guitars play a vital role and keep this album very heavy, even crunchy at times, helped along by the well-mixed and hard-hitting drums (drums are especially appreciated on "Love Enslaves," and many others). Strings appear on a few tracks in a dark, cabaret-like setting, as opposed to evoking a symphony orchestra as on others. In fact, much of this album has a very subtle sinister quality to it, permeating all of the beauty.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.01.2015 by Susan | Comments (7)

Reviews
Defaced - Forging The Sanctuary

I almost always pick tank/demolition characters when I play. I am obsessed with giant robots and heavy machinery. I have a problem with heavy shit in general and I keep seeing that manifest itself in my taste in death metal just as well.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (3)

Reviews
Laster - De Verste Verte Is Hier

Being original is an interesting attribute. You don't really need to force it that much and add a frigging sax to the songs. Sometimes you just find a way to play a classic genre with subtle differences. In the world of ambient black metal, Laster does manage to come forward as a band with a sound of their own.

On their debut, Laster uses many hints at other genres in order to add flavour and variety to their music. It might just be a couple of unusual and playful drumbeats (for the genre), some crescendos akin to those from the post metal scene, a strategic use of tempo changes or even some slight gothic tunes coming from the vocals and, at points, catchy riffing. All these hints help the album sound memorable and distinct in comparison with its peers.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.01.2015 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (10)

Reviews
Sivyj Yar - From The Dead Villages' Darkness

So 2015 starts and we're still talking about September 2014 stuff? Only if it's worth it. And trust me, this IS worth it by any means. Let me tell you about From The Dead Villages' Darkness by Sivyj Yar. For those of you capable of reading Cyrillic, Сивый Яр will look a lot more comfortable to pronounce. This is a one-man project from Russia with the mastermind Vladimir doing all instruments plus vocals. The music is pagan black metal, yet with many atmospheric elements and less typical pagan instruments like flutes during the harsher parts.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.01.2015 by Windrider | Comments (29)

Reviews
EnkElination - Tears Of Lust

Love is at once of the most powerful forces of the human heart and mind, while it can also be one of the most elusive to hold onto and warm the soul on the deepest of levels. With a voice and sound that even melts my own frozen heart, EnkElination's debut offers some of the most delicate, lush, and fragile metal released in quite some time. An effortless production of impassioned melodic guitars layered beneath vocals that shine as bright as the sun in the palest winter sky, Tears Of Lust stands like a weathered statue of two lovers covered in frost, staring at each other in silence as the sun melts their eyes with icy teardrops.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.01.2015 by Jason W. | Comments (4)

Reviews
Devilish Impressions - Adventvs

[Witty introduction mocking black metal stereotypes]

Read more ››
Posted: 02.01.2015 by Ilham | Comments (1)

Reviews
Kampfar - Djevelmakt

Early last year Djevelmakt hammered its way out of hell and into many folks' eager eardrums, demonstrating a certain fortitude and a staying power that has withstood the test of time not as a grand testament to jaw-dropping originality, but as a killer album with obvious intentions. No matter the number of spins, the sound simply refuses to wear thin. Revisitation is easy and always reaps melodic rewards as Kampfar's latest effort never falls, never fails and never falters. Consistency is key.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.01.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Blindfisted - Blindfisted

With almost every track featuring some kind of guest appearance, Blindfisted sometimes seems like a compilation album. I mean that in a good way here though. It all feels like a celebratory kind of thing, like an album for parties made by partying people. With a track-list of bite-sized proportions, the album goes from sounding like Toxic Holocaust at one moment to Kvelertak at another, from Aura Noir to Girlschool, etc.; it alternates quickly enough that it never stales.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.01.2015 by wormdrink414 | Comments (0)

Reviews
Jucifer - District Of Dystopia

I hate this kind of album, it makes me sound as if I were complaining about the inherent characteristics of style the band is playing.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.12.2014 by Ilham | Comments (12)

Reviews
Cretin - Stranger

Cretin! Damn that was a name I haven't heard in a while. I bet some things have changed (Oooh hoho!).

A few years back I found the debut just winking at me at the local store. While scared shitless for the hallucination, I bought the album out of curiosity. This wish to know more was probably inspired both by the so bad-it's-awesome artwork and the hilarious stories for each song. So when their sophomore album arrived at my virtual door, I was very curious to see how the band evolved (hah!) after so many years.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.12.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (6)

Reviews
Nibiru - Netrayoni

It's that time of the year again. Leaves are dying, Metalsucks and Pitchfork are making try hard Top 2014 lists, and meanwhile more curious metal listeners are seeking to explore albums from this year that they may have carelessly glanced over, what with more honorable warriors such as Thou and Agalloch consuming the majority of their attention. Albums such as Nibiru's Netrayoni, for example.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.12.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (13)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6