Drone Throne - Everybody Dies Alone review



Reviewer:
8.2

2 users:
8.00
Band: Drone Throne
Album: Everybody Dies Alone
Release date: August 2011


01. Intro
02. Black Lung
03. Bud Clot
04. Greens
05. Dead Weight
06. Fatal Rips From The North
07. Stone Dome
08. Contact High
09. Gettin Pitted
10. Last Of The Larva
11. Ghost Smoke
12. Everybody Dies Alone


So it's probably seemed like Metal Storm has become Sludge/Stoner/Doom Storm over the past few months. Well folks, it's all about supply & demand. Stoner & sludge has seen an explosion in their fan base over the past couple years. It's a cyclical thing, more bands = more prevalence in the metal scene = more fans, more fans = more bands. Here's another one for the "above average, not quite great" pile.

To answer your question, no, they don't play drone. If nothing else, Drone Throne should be commended for their creativity. What they play is a mix of punk with sludge doom. Now, punk, generally speaking, is a type of music that puts a large emphasis on unrestrained displays of spunk...er...youthful energy. While a genre like grindcore is a completely logical step, using punk-like song structures and cranking up the speed and intensity, combining punk with doom is a more difficult task without compromising qualities of either genre. Well, Everybody Dies Alone is a supreme example of how to do it right. It's got it's own stripped-down, bare bones energy borrowed from punk, while at the same time being a band whose talents primarily lie in pounding, grimy riffs, a la doom.

It all gets a bit samey by the end, unfortunately. A dozen songs, mostly clocking in at under 3 minutes a piece, you'd think they would have a wider variety to display. Nope. Tempos fluctuate from time to time, but you're in for what is essentially a pretty monotonous ride.

The overall sound is fantastic, even if it gets a bit dry by the end. If you're a sludge fan, there's no reason not to be listening to this, especially considering the band is offering it to you for the fair price of $0.


 



Written on 15.12.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 169 users
15.12.2011 - 07:31
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Before I break the bank, do these guys sound anything like Rising?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 07:32
Edmund Fogg
Nice. You sir just made my day. These guys are really good at what they do and your review is just descriptive enough to peek our interest without revealing too much. Well done.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 07:57
afu
Just checked some out on You Tube. Nice.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 09:21
J. N.
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 07:31
Before I break the bank, do these guys sound anything like Rising?

TROY, Y U NO FIND OUT YOURSELF?
----
Demetrius: Villain, what hast thou done?
Aaron: That which thou canst not undo.
Chiron: Thou hast undone our mother.
Aaron: Villain, I have done thy mother.
- William Shakespeare's Titus Andronicus: Act 4, Scene 2 (1593)
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 09:23
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by J. N. on 15.12.2011 at 09:21
TROY, Y U NO FIND OUT YOURSELF?

Mostly laziness to be honest. It sounds semi-interesting but I happened to like Rising's latest quite a bit. If they're in any way similar (aside from both being sludge albums) I'd be willing to take a serious effort to listen to this.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 10:18
Milena
Learning To "X"
They're the first ones ever to think of the name Drone Throne? World, I am disappoint.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 10:26
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Milena on 15.12.2011 at 10:18
They're the first ones ever to think of the name Drone Throne? World, I am disappoint.

Electric Wizard came close...
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 14:12
BlueMobius
Account deleted
So are we going to start calling newer stoner/doom/sludge bands "retro," "revivalist," "trendy" and "unoriginal" just like the newer thrash bands?
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 14:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
From what i hear, its a very good album liike doc said.
feel kind of bad for downloading it for $0
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 15:43
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Flagrant misadvertising. I may check them out anyway.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 15:47
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Cool review. The combination sounds interesting although the usage of the word "monotonous" makes me a bit cautious.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 17:26
barmyarmy414
So what is everyones opinion of the album?
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 17:35
barmyarmy414
They also released a really great 5 song EP in 2008 which is also up for free download on their bandcamp. That one is much more doomy, I recommend checking that one out to
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:26
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 15.12.2011 at 15:43
Flagrant misadvertising.

Talking about the band name? Prior to reading the review I thought the same thing... I was like, this isn't Sunn O))). :s
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:28
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 15.12.2011 at 14:12
So are we going to start calling newer stoner/doom/sludge bands "retro," "revivalist," "trendy" and "unoriginal" just like the newer thrash bands?

No, because they're building on a sound, not "reviving" it. Maybe in a decade when all the new sludge bands start worshiping sludge pioneers and the old-time sludge bands are still writing good music, then we'll start calling it trendy unoriginal revivalist drivel.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:33
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 19:26

Talking about the band name? Prior to reading the review I thought the same thing... I was like, this isn't Sunn O))). :s

Yeah band bame. I did get a bit excited about the prospect of a drone band being reviewed here (seriously, when was the last time that happened? Daniel's Bong review is the only one I can think of this whole year. Damnit Lucas, you need to review again).
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:35
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 15.12.2011 at 19:33
Damnit Lucas, you need to review again.

No you.

I like some drone but I don't think I'd be able to write a review for a drone album. I'd be like, uh, this is about 50 minutes of a buzzing sound... but it's cool and I like it, so you should check it out. /review
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:37
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 19:35

No you.

I like some drone but I don't think I'd be able to write a review for a drone album. I'd be like, uh, this is about 50 minutes of a buzzing sound... but it's cool and I like it, so you should check it out. /review

To be honest it's pretty hard to find new drone, and often when I do it's shit. Bands not understand the subtle art of droning and just sticking a guitar up to an amp and recording the feedback.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 20:33
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 15.12.2011 at 19:37

Bands not understand the subtle art of droning and just sticking a guitar up to an amp and recording the feedback.


So that's NOT the way to do it? Shit.. I have to start all over again with my pal...
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 20:34
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.12.2011 at 20:33


So that's NOT the way to do it? Shit.. I have to start all over again with my pal...

If you do it well then layer it in an effective and pleasing manner it's a good way to do it, though you'd probably end up with a noise band rather than a drone one...
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 20:39
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 15.12.2011 at 20:34
though you'd probably end up with a noise band rather than a drone one...


Considering my growing attraction for Noise... I'm not seeing the problem here

PS. The sarcasm was too subtle before, I actually know what you mean
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 02:18
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I bought it for $0. I feel bad about it, but i'm cheap.

the album is very good, the songs are very well written.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
19.12.2011 - 04:02
Edmund Fogg
To all the people feeling bad about buying the album for 0$, You know name your price means you can actually, wait for it ... name your price.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...

Hits total: 6458 | This month: 5