Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.5
Panopticon - Social Disservices
November 2011


01. Resident
02. Client
03. Subject
04. Patient


Black metal has its very own aesthetic and way of creating images and ambiance with the potential to transfer you to a hostile or oppressive environment willing to welcome you with open arms. And that magic is omnipresent through the whole duration of an album you stumble upon all of a sudden and it manages to captivate your interest without trying hard. That's what happened to me when I came across Panopticon's third full-length, Social Disservices.

A. Lundr, the figure behind the band, hails from the US and performs everything on Social Disservices. There are two types of one-man bands, either they will overwhelm you with their phenomenal inspiration or they are too rotten to be exposed to the outside world. Panopticon are part of the first category and I'm really glad. The band moves in atmospheric black metal soundscapes with a massive sound and drowned melody that rises from internal depths struggling to come to the surface. Even the cover artwork depicts this asphyxiating aesthetic with the tormented figure with the face on the ground and the daggers all around. And the lyrics could only be like-minded, there's a sense of discomfort and pain, an agony of what will follow and how much longer one may endure to the scars, interior or concrete.

Social Disservices consists of four compositions and will accompany you for about 50 minutes. I really like the structure of the album, it climaxes backwards and the more time passes the more the anchor reaches for unfound depths on a journey to locate the centre of your heart and turn it to smithereens. "Resident" opens the curtain with childish bliss and laughter to burst into a distressing massive assault of dissonance filled with circular riffing, upbeat drumming and horrifying howls. Children's cries and an unearthly vibe supersede all laughter leading to "Client" that follows the same pathway, massive still but in a more fragile vein with a more weeping guitar tone. "Subject" succumbs to more industrial undertones and unveils a more chaotic face that explodes into a torrent of intense emotive melody. The time is right, the compass lies broken, nowhere to hide, nowhere to go, you're just another "Patient" which happens to be the closing 20-minute magnum opus of Social Disservices. A heart-rending lasting whisper of all that is blurry, hiding the sun, lying among fragile chords, sharp riffing and melodious ideas, pounding bass lines, petrified screams and the violin, if my ears have shown me the right direction.

Everything's accomplished, from the inspirational factor to the instrumentation and from the atmosphere to the production that caresses every single moment with the same interest yet through the prism it deserves. Panopticon managed to compose a sincere work of atmospheric black metal that flows like a waterfall, with one difference, the few seconds before the impact last 20 minutes.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Panopticon
Album: Social Disservices


 



Written on 19.12.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 196  
Search this topic:  


Qube - 19.12.2011 at 23:18  
I actually had forgotten about this great artist.

Nice review and thank you for the reminder.
Troy Killjoy - 19.12.2011 at 23:23  
I got into these guys (er, this guy) last year when I listened to their ...Mortality compilation. I didn't even know about this until now.

I'll have to look into this as soon as I can. Your review summed up a lot of what I thought about their previous works so I should enjoy this one just as much, if not more.
Opethian - 19.12.2011 at 23:25  
Isis?
Troy Killjoy - 19.12.2011 at 23:26  
Written by Opethian on 19.12.2011 at 23:25
Isis?

What?
Ozman - 19.12.2011 at 23:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.12.2011 at 23:26

Written by Opethian on 19.12.2011 at 23:25
Isis?

What?


Panopticon is an labum by Isis, so I am guessing he's wondering if this band sounds a bit like Isis?
Troy Killjoy - 19.12.2011 at 23:41  
Written by Ozman on 19.12.2011 at 23:32
Panopticon is an labum by Isis, so I am guessing he's wondering if this band sounds a bit like Isis?

Ah okay... I've never bothered with Isis so I was confused when I saw the name here.
Nightfall - 20.12.2011 at 04:24  
Nice review, I'm not very much into black metal but it made me think this is worth checking out.

Written by Opethian on 19.12.2011 at 23:25

Isis?


Hah, yes, I thought the same thing when I read the band's name.
raul m - 21.12.2011 at 01:11  
MORE! MUST HAVE MORE BM IN 2011!
Omnicosm - 21.12.2011 at 03:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.12.2011 at 23:41

Ah okay... I've never bothered with Isis so I was confused when I saw the name here.


Never "bothered" with Isis? I'm curious as to why you would consider that a chore.
Troy Killjoy - 21.12.2011 at 03:48  
Written by Omnicosm on 21.12.2011 at 03:42
Never "bothered" with Isis? I'm curious as to why you would consider that a chore.

I didn't mean to imply it was a chore. I've been doing a bit of a reverse when it comes to atmo-sludge. Instead of starting with the originators I've been going back from the new stuff. I just never made my way into Isis, at least not yet.
Omnicosm - 21.12.2011 at 04:01  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 21.12.2011 at 03:48

Written by Omnicosm on 21.12.2011 at 03:42
Never "bothered" with Isis? I'm curious as to why you would consider that a chore.

I didn't mean to imply it was a chore. I've been doing a bit of a reverse when it comes to atmo-sludge. Instead of starting with the originators I've been going back from the new stuff. I just never made my way into Isis, at least not yet.


If that's the case, I'm very excited for you to reach them. Coincidentally enough, I found their album Panopticon to be their best work. Excellent, intense material. I love their style of song progression; they often slowly build from a soft, yet pensive, beginning to an explosive climax and then dwindle. Yeah, it's quite sexual. I feel they helped lay a lot of ground-work for modern Post-Rock.
tea[m]ster - 22.12.2011 at 03:21  
I am very afraid to try black metal other than Enslaved. Enslaved has enough atmo/prog/post/thrash in their music to keep me busy. Will I like this?
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.12.2011 at 03:22  
Written by tea[m]ster on 22.12.2011 at 03:21

I am very afraid to try black metal other than Enslaved. Enslaved has enough atmo/prog/post/thrash in their music to keep me busy. Will I like this?

I haven't listened to this record yet but if it's anything like the past records then no, you probably won't like it to be honest. Panopticon can be quite a challenging listen.

[EDIT]

Just had a brief skip through the new album on Spotify. I'd probably stay away from it unless you want quite an abrasiveness sound for an atmospheric black metal album.
Opethian - 22.12.2011 at 06:34  
Written by Ozman on 19.12.2011 at 23:32

Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.12.2011 at 23:26

Written by Opethian on 19.12.2011 at 23:25
Isis?

What?


Panopticon is an labum by Isis, so I am guessing he's wondering if this band sounds a bit like Isis?


Marcel, you are the Obi-Wan at MetalStorm! I was thinking of Isis ... (RIP)
Slinky666 - 22.12.2011 at 06:46  
Awesome music. The track titles made me laugh. I hope these guys did not spend much time thinking.
tea[m]ster - 22.12.2011 at 13:45  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.12.2011 at 03:22

Written by tea[m]ster on 22.12.2011 at 03:21

I am very afraid to try black metal other than Enslaved. Enslaved has enough atmo/prog/post/thrash in their music to keep me busy. Will I like this?

I haven't listened to this record yet but if it's anything like the past records then no, you probably won't like it to be honest. Panopticon can be quite a challenging listen.

[EDIT]

Just had a brief skip through the new album on Spotify. I'd probably stay away from it unless you want quite an abrasiveness sound for an atmospheric black metal album.


You know what genres of music I listen to j.o.o.e. Thanks for the heads up. Maybe I'll look elsewhere. Recommendations?
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.12.2011 at 14:36  
Written by tea[m]ster on 22.12.2011 at 13:45


You know what genres of music I listen to j.o.o.e. Thanks for the heads up. Maybe I'll look elsewhere. Recommendations?

Maybe check out the recent Woods Of Desolation album? Has a more approachable sound and generally quite melodic. Could be a very good place to start with atmospheric black metal. (You like Todtgelichter and Alcest so I reckon you'd dig that for sure).
Xnoybis - 23.12.2011 at 19:19  
Terrible cover. good tunes, though.
Oaken - 22.09.2012 at 01:34  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.12.2011 at 03:22

Panopticon can be quite a challenging listen.

I've been meaning to check them out for some time, so I'd like to know why would you say that.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Until Death Overtakes Me - Symphony III: Monolith 3 19.09.2006 by Götter
Reviews Lacrimas Profundere - Memorandum 3 08.10.2006 by ylside
Reviews The 69 Eyes - Devils 3 19.11.2006 by
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Nymphetamine 3 16.07.2006 by
Reviews Scream Silence - Saviourine 3 26.06.2013 by pagb666



Hits total: 3625 | This month: 41