Rating:
7.5
Mortician - Hacked Up For Barbecue
July 1996


01. Bloodcraving
02. Embalmed Alive
03. Cremated
04. Three On A Meathook
05. Brutally Mutilated
06. Deranged Insanity
07. Cannibal Feast
08. Blown To Pieces
09. Fog Of Death
10. Brutal Disfigurement
11. Apocalyptic Devastation
12. Inquisition
13. Hacked Up For Barbeque
14. Abolition
15. Necrocannibal
16. Ripped In Half
17. Morbid Butchery
18. Decapitated
19. Drilling For Brains
20. Eaten Alive By Maggots
21. Witches' Coven
22. Worms
23. Annihilation
24. Mortician


The first Mortician Full Length album ever released, "Hacked Up For Barbecue" must be an album that we all Extreme Metal lovers should have in our collection, ok the album is not that good or anything, but the truth is that Mortician is becoming a "Cult" band for the Horror Metal and Grindcore lovers (yes I know Impetigo are the Fathers of Horror, no need to point that), so let's start this review shall we?

"Hacked Up For Barbecue" is in fact like every other Mortician albums, a lot of hyper-fast riffs, distorted bass, and the most insane drum machine you have ever heard (also yes, I know gigantic Brain), so anyway the reality is, when you buy a Mortician album you must be aware of what you are going to hear the next hour, if not you won't be able to stand the tunes that this band creates.

The CD has a good production, of course you can only appreciate it well till the second time you hear this album, the thing is, the intros, the riffs, the weird bass, and all that stuff sounds very clear, and also this album has a cool booklet, it only has the lyrics but hey come on, without those lyrics we wouldn't be able to understand what every song is about right?, now another thing about that matter, the lyrics are very simplistic, everyone could write that stuff, in fact let me improvise a little bit…
I Love Zombies
We Love Zombies too
I eat their Brains
We cook Brains too
And well most of the tracks have similar lyrics, with the same tune and the same melody (melody?), so yes lyrically Mortician is not a good band at all.

About the music, "Hacked Up For Barbecue" is a good album in that matter, songs like "Necrocannibal", "Hacked Up For Barbecue", "Eaten Alive By Maggots" are really good songs with unusual riffs and not the classic mortician Ultra-violent, hyper-fast, ugly track, this songs are absolutely the best ones in this album, but if you are looking for the classic Mortician song just check on the rest of the songs, the same thing over and over again…cool right?

So well in the end you won't be surprised or anything, but well at least this is better than The Berzerker.


Band profile: Mortician
Album: Hacked Up For Barbecue


 


written by Herzebeth | 14.08.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 51  
Search this topic:  


ABUSOR - 17.03.2008 at 09:24  
A brilliant Death Metal album that I would regard as Mortician's best. I'd give it an 8.5. Best songs: Bloodcraving, Cremated, Brutally Mutilated, Fog Of Death, Brutal Disfigurement, Necrocannibal, Eaten Alive By Maggots and Witches Coven.. Mortician are Brutal.. I own all their releases....
Uirapuru - 15.03.2009 at 05:49  
It's not as bad as so many people claim... it has some tracks that are very good like ''Embalmed Alive'', ''Cremated'' and ''Hacked Up For Barbeque''... the horror film soundclips are useless and annoying, but help us to catch a breath between the songs.. the songs with less than 1min are dispensable too.
vezzy - 09.07.2010 at 15:35  
This album is bad, IMO. The guttural "pig-squeal" voice that has been done way too many times, the loud drum machine which overshadows the guitars at time (not that there's any notable guitar work, just standard down-tuned grind/slam riffs with an occasional boring solo), plus it sounds like a telephone is ringing at times.

Mortician are bad in general though. The only decent stuff from them is the Brutally Mutilated demo and Mortal Massacre demo.
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.07.2010 at 15:37  
Literally the shittiest pile of novelty wank this side of Jupiter. Its only redeeming feature is that the album eventually ends.
vezzy - 09.07.2010 at 17:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.07.2010 at 15:37

Literally the shittiest pile of novelty wank this side of Jupiter. Its only redeeming feature is that the album eventually ends.


I don't know. I think Sadistik Exekution's "Fukk II" is worse.
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.07.2010 at 17:04  
Written by vezzy on 09.07.2010 at 17:03

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.07.2010 at 15:37

Literally the shittiest pile of novelty wank this side of Jupiter. Its only redeeming feature is that the album eventually ends.


I don't know. I think Sadistik Exekution's "Fukk II" is worse.

I haven't heard it but that's one mystery I'm happy to leave unsolved
Uirapuru - 09.07.2010 at 19:14  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.07.2010 at 17:04

Written by vezzy on 09.07.2010 at 17:03

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.07.2010 at 15:37

Literally the shittiest pile of novelty wank this side of Jupiter. Its only redeeming feature is that the album eventually ends.


I don't know. I think Sadistik Exekution's "Fukk II" is worse.

I haven't heard it but that's one mystery I'm happy to leave unsolved


Cmon guys, you here and Angelic Storm on ''Re-Animated Dead Flesh'' topic... what is up with today? It's Grindcore bashing day?

Herzebeth must be restless in his grave lol
Angelic Storm - 09.07.2010 at 19:21  
Haha!

I have no problem with grindcore, heck, Napalm Death is one of my fave bands!

My problem with Mortician is all their songs sound the same. Not just similar, IDENTICAL. The only thing that seperates one Mortician song from another, are the horror movie samples. Take them away, and it would be impossible to tell which song is which, as they all sound the exact same as each other.
vezzy - 09.07.2010 at 19:51  
Not to mention Mortician have no skill whatsoever. There are plenty of bad grind/brutal death bands out there because the music, in theory, is easy to play. But making good music of this type gets tough.

Now, bands like Napalm Death (despite them being somewhat overrated), Extreme Noise Terror, Cephalic Carnage have skill and they make some great music.

Mortician's only gimmick that separates them from the rest are their horror film samples, which Machetazo and Impetigo implement and have good music to go with it.
Angelic Storm - 11.07.2010 at 18:15  
Written by vezzy on 09.07.2010 at 19:51

Not to mention Mortician have no skill whatsoever. There are plenty of bad grind/brutal death bands out there because the music, in theory, is easy to play. But making good music of this type gets tough.

Now, bands like Napalm Death (despite them being somewhat overrated), Extreme Noise Terror, Cephalic Carnage have skill and they make some great music.

Mortician's only gimmick that separates them from the rest are their horror film samples, which Machetazo and Impetigo implement and have good music to go with it.


Yep, Mortician have zero musical talent. Now punk bands like the Pistols may not have had much musical talent either (like a lot of punk bands) but you can tell the difference between individual songs. Which is something you cannot say about Mortician. It is true that more than 90% of the brutal death/goregrind/pornogrind, whatever you want to call them bands are bad. And much for the same reasons as Mortician. In theory, it is a very easy genre of metal to play, so many bands in this genre either have zero, or very little talent. Now, there are some decent brutal death metal bands like Aborted. But for every band like them, there are countless identikit, crappy brutal death bands. It is a genre that you have to search very hard to find the rare good stuff, in amongst the huge amount of rubbish. lol
vezzy - 12.07.2010 at 17:07  
Written by Angelic Storm on 11.07.2010 at 18:15

Written by vezzy on 09.07.2010 at 19:51

Not to mention Mortician have no skill whatsoever. There are plenty of bad grind/brutal death bands out there because the music, in theory, is easy to play. But making good music of this type gets tough.

Now, bands like Napalm Death (despite them being somewhat overrated), Extreme Noise Terror, Cephalic Carnage have skill and they make some great music.

Mortician's only gimmick that separates them from the rest are their horror film samples, which Machetazo and Impetigo implement and have good music to go with it.


Yep, Mortician have zero musical talent. Now punk bands like the Pistols may not have had much musical talent either (like a lot of punk bands) but you can tell the difference between individual songs. Which is something you cannot say about Mortician. It is true that more than 90% of the brutal death/goregrind/pornogrind, whatever you want to call them bands are bad. And much for the same reasons as Mortician. In theory, it is a very easy genre of metal to play, so many bands in this genre either have zero, or very little talent. Now, there are some decent brutal death metal bands like Aborted. But for every band like them, there are countless identikit, crappy brutal death bands. It is a genre that you have to search very hard to find the rare good stuff, in amongst the huge amount of rubbish. lol


Metallum is the best site for metal rubbish of all genres.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Mortician - Hacked Up For Barbecue 7.5 28.06.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Mortician - Re-Animated Dead Flesh 6 15.03.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Carnal Forge - Testify For My Victims 4.5 03.07.2007 by
Reviews October Falls - Marras Eight Hymns For Sheol And Nature 4.5 24.09.2007 by Vengeance
Reviews Kaada - Music For Moviebikers 4.5 05.12.2006 by Talvi



Hits total: 3768 | This month: 81