Falls Of Rauros - The Light That Dwells In Rotten Wood review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.5

49 users:
8.39
Band: Falls Of Rauros
Album: The Light That Dwells In Rotten Wood
Release date: August 2011


01. Earth's Old Timid Grace
02. Banished
03. Awaiting The Fire Or Flood That Awakes It
04. Nonesuch River Chant
05. Silence
06. The Cormorants Shiver On Their Rocks
07. All That Howling Fog [vinyl edition bonus]


Acrimonious Vagabond, Abhorrent Wayfarer... these are the names behind the Falls Of Rauros guise, the names that hold the key to a truly jovial existence. The Light That Dwells In Rotten Wood is but a staff that aids its bearer through the darkness, into the light at the end of the tunnel, roaming through lush forests and vast meadows. Here you will find Pagan mentors - but students of life - coexisting amongst the unblemished land, at one with nature and self.

The bleak and despairing emotions typical of atmospheric black metal are only present if sought, as the general laid-back attitude presented by these Americans should all but quell your deepest anxieties and most defeating self-deprecation. The raw feeling typical of traditional black metal is still present, yet there is a glow surrounding the songs that is scarce among the rest of the scene. Yin yang birch roots provide a balanced foundation, moving closer to an equilibrium that Hail Wind And Hewn Oak only narrowly missed, splicing neofolk and black metal without losing sight of one or the other.

Uplifting, epic riffs fill the soul with a warmth comparable to the likes of the mighty sun, not replacing decay but embracing it. Your internal struggles become a matter of ancient history, lost to the tides of time but not forgotten. Angst, despair, loss, apathy - these are all feelings that will be wrapped in blankets of soothing water, drifting away into streams of acceptance... streams given their own special sense of life with an almost hazy production that generates organic flavor.

The over-the-top dramatics here are but a mere reflection of the comforting atmosphere and lulling song structures. There is an incredibly well-crafted story of Pagan defiance and environmentalist survival within these songs, an almost archaic telling of black metal's strongest message: independence. In just 45 minutes Falls Of Rauros manage to consolidate their ideas and express their true feelings, and not entirely in typical black metal fashion. The Light That Dwells In Rotten Wood is a must for those seeking enlightenment beyond the knowledge of man or the knowledge of nature - but what can be achieved with knowledge of both.

Much like the Great River of Wilderland flows over the Falls of Rauros, so too does the river of love flow over the falls of life.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 02.01.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 46   Visited by: 241 users
03.01.2012 - 12:15
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I was listening to the title track while Vin Diesel and the Rock were fighting, it went together disturbingly well.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 12:19
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Slayer666 on 03.01.2012 at 12:15
(btw, you really suck at detecting sarcasm in text )


I didn't have any more money after my previous sarcasm detector had an accident



Also... Not really, there isn't much sarcasm to notice in a comment like "I don't know, that cover reminds me a lot of Lugburz". It could easily be seen as a regular comment. Unless all of your posts and reviews are sarcastic. Not to mention there is a large amount of people that discover music just because of the artwork.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 12:27
Slayer666
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 12:19

Also... Not really, there isn't much sarcasm to notice in a comment like "I don't know, that cover reminds me a lot of Lugburz". It could easily be seen as a regular comment. Unless all of your posts and reviews are sarcastic.


Oh yes there is. Unless you think I have little enough IQ to assume the same artist is behind albums which have only vaguely similar covers, but then that's a different story/problem.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 12:28
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Slayer666 on 03.01.2012 at 12:27
Unless you think I have little enough IQ

Don't need to discuss more about it.
Also, I'm pretty sure my first comment with the 2 pics reeked of sarcasm as well.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 12:29
Slayer666
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 12:28

Don't need to discuss more about it.


In the words of today's Internet generation: "Stfu, bitch".
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 18:25
VloRD
The album cover...jeez, A little too simple don't you think?
It's just amateur photography of a couple of mountains turned black and white. Almost gives me a feeling of a lack of effort. Fortunately The album doesn't reflect that.
----
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:12
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 12:19
Not to mention there is a large amount of people that discover music just because of the artwork.

Not to mention both bands are atmospheric black metal with mountains on their album covers who take inspiration from Tolkien.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:17
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.01.2012 at 20:12

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 12:19
Not to mention there is a large amount of people that discover music just because of the artwork.

Not to mention both bands are atmospheric black metal with mountains on their album covers who take inspiration from Tolkien.


Wait what? Does Falls Of Rauros have Tolkien influences?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 20:17
Wait what? Does Falls Of Rauros have Tolkien influences?

The very last sentence in the review. You should read it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:34
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.01.2012 at 20:21

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 20:17
Wait what? Does Falls Of Rauros have Tolkien influences?

The very last sentence in the review. You should read it.


Quote:
Much like the Great River of Wilderland flows over the Falls of Rauros, so to does the river of love flow over the falls of life.

Is it me or it should be "so too does the river..."?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:37
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 20:34
Is it me or it should be "so too does the river..."?

Will fix that, but you missed the LOTR reference. >>
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:49
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.01.2012 at 20:37

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 20:34
Is it me or it should be "so too does the river..."?

Will fix that, but you missed the LOTR reference. >>


Hhahahahhah yeah because that's much words.. At least it's good to know I'm not the only idiot that didn't read the review properly.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:51
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 20:49
Hhahahahhah yeah because that's much words.. At least it's good to know I'm not the only idiot that didn't read the review properly.

I suppose it wasn't the most blatant reference. I could have said FALLS OF RAUROS TAKE THEIR NAME FROM... THE FALLS OF RAUROS IN LOTR.

But I guess I'm just to(o) fucking cryptic.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
11.06.2012 - 01:55
Oaken
Hipster
I can't get this album. Dunno why, but whenever I press play, I get the urge to stop listening when the melodies come in. I managed to listen to it fully once, but no more. It's either I've had enough atmospheric black metal for now or this is totally uninteresting.
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
30.08.2012 - 06:12
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Decent album.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
02.02.2016 - 08:41
Arcanewind
Dreadrealm
It's not a bad album, but it's nothing great in my book either. I enjoyed reading this review more than I have ever enjoyed the album.

Sorry/You're welcome
----
Dreadrealm's bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 5169 | This month: 20