Neige Et Noirceur - Hymnes de la montagne noire review



Reviewer:
8.5

6 users:
7.17
Band: Neige Et Noirceur
Album: Hymnes de la montagne noire
Release date: November 2011


01. Hymne I - La grande faucheuse ouvre la marche
02. Hymne II - Neige Noire
03. Hymne III - Là où demeure la sorcière des neiges
04. Hymne IV - L'aube des magiciens
05. Hymne V - Le chemin de la montagne noire
06. Les Bûcherons [Bérurier Noir cover]


Neige Et Noirceur is a one-man Canadian occult black metal project formed back in 2002 by Spiritus, a metal noir Québécois VIP member, and he's back at it again with a new full-length - sprinkled with a somewhat welcoming atmosphere, and slightly less influenced by ambient soundscapes compared to its predecessors.

So ya, it's not the guy from Alcest with a friend. The band name translates to "snow and blackness". Which is entirely appropriate.

Hymnes de la montagne noire is all any black metal fan could ask for, really. It casts a grim shadow over the listener, drawing you in like a moth to flame, only for the light to go out at the last minute before you find yourself choking on fumes. Spiritus is only there to watch you struggle for breath, and as he makes his way toward you - writhing on the cold floor in a coughing fit - the last bit of hope you have is shattered with a stern kick to the ribs. You're left broken, asphyxiated... a soon-to-be rotting corpse among hundreds in a gloomy cellar.

The music chills the bones, unrefined and grotesque, seeping through layers of clothing as if you were naked in the midst of a raging snowstorm. Oppressive, monotonous riffs settle in and work their magic, descending the black mountains of the North to drag you away from all that is pleasant and joyous, pure and innocent, colorful and radiant. Barbaric, raspy shrieks pierce even the thickets hoods, ripping your head back by the air and forcing you, wide-eyed, to listen. Spiritus knows how to capture his prey, and he does it with the aid of the coldest magics.

What really gives this album a boost in the sound department is the bouncing from Burzum to Darkspace to Leviathan, all the while maintaining a distinct metal noir touch. It embodies all the typical cliches that black metal is renowned for: grim, raw, frostbitten, occult, national pride, and history-themed lyrics. Not to mention some seriously epic riffs, as heard in "Hymne IV".

The entire album clocks in at about 45 minutes with six songs... meaning - you guessed it - these aren't your average grindcore songs. They're almost monolithic, taking their time waking up from the depths of the coldest waters, floating to the top and bursting through the icy surface, eventually reaching the skies above and casting a shadow over the entire human race.

It's only then that you realize we're all in the gloomy cellar. Hymnes de la montagne noire is the choking smoke that will fill our lungs in less than an hour... and Spiritus will be there to kick you in the ribs at the end of it all, a sardonic smile sewn across his face.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 03.01.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 163 users
03.01.2012 - 13:08
Milena
Learning To "X"
*comes for the mandatory unrelated comment* Neige means snow? That's the most adorable stage name ever.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 13:11
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Milena on 03.01.2012 at 13:08

*comes for the mandatory unrelated comment* Neige means snow? That's the most adorable stage name ever.


Lols, I thought everyone and their mothers knew it by now.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 13:16
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 13:11

Lols, I thought everyone and their mothers knew it by now.

I never looked it up... I thought it was meaningless.
Yeah, slowpoke.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 13:17
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Milena on 03.01.2012 at 13:16

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 13:11

Lols, I thought everyone and their mothers knew it by now.

I never looked it up... I thought it was meaningless.
Yeah, slowpoke.


You get bonus points for mentioning slowpoke on a metal website. It's all forgiven.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 14:54
Edmund Fogg
Nice, thanks. Your review + listening to the album with a headset = chills down my spine. Really well written. I enjoyed the album, althought some passage sounded more like rock disguised in Black Metal so yeah 7.5 to 8 for me.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 15:12
metaleaterr
abstract_bliss
Occult, ritualistic black metal attracts me a lot. Gotta check it out! Very well written review btw.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 15:15
metaleaterr
abstract_bliss
Cool artwork too!
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 05:39
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Written by Milena on 03.01.2012 at 13:08

*comes for the mandatory unrelated comment* Neige means snow? That's the most adorable stage name ever.

Yeah, I always thought so myself lol. It sounds more like a symphonic/gothic frontwoman's name (Neige is a feminine word...)
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 05:46
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by MétalNoir on 04.01.2012 at 05:39
(Neige is a feminine word...)

Neige is a feminine man.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 05:53
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.01.2012 at 05:46

Written by MétalNoir on 04.01.2012 at 05:39
(Neige is a feminine word...)

Neige is a feminine man.

Haha well, I guess so Nice review btw. Maybe you could enlighten me as to what exactly defines le métal noir québécois? Lyrically, I see the scene is pretty much "français seulement", but musically, is there any difference with, say, norwegian BM?
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 06:16
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by MétalNoir on 04.01.2012 at 05:53
Maybe you could enlighten me as to what exactly defines le métal noir québécois?

More or less, it is the lyrical content... although stylistically I'd say it's that "epic" kind of lo-fi atmospheric black metal. "Patriotic black metal" I guess.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 06:51
Verdun_sc
Written by MétalNoir on 04.01.2012 at 05:53

Haha well, I guess so Nice review btw. Maybe you could enlighten me as to what exactly defines le métal noir québécois? Lyrically, I see the scene is pretty much "français seulement", but musically, is there any difference with, say, norwegian BM?

In terms of spirit, the two are somewhat similar in some respects...

But honestly, the bands in this Quebecois BM movement are much, much different from any bands from the Norse scene, especially now. And even from the second wave... The main similarity I see is pride and variation in styles between bands. And that they're under the vast tapestry of Black Metal, I guess.
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 10:12
Mikyz
Not wholly original but a very solid release as far as Atmospheric Black Metal goes. Awesome review.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 10:17
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mikyz on 04.01.2012 at 10:12
Not wholly original but a very solid release as far as Atmospheric Black Metal goes. Awesome review.

Thanks. I definitely agree with the originality aspect as well... hence the 6.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Hits total: 3705 | This month: 13