Rating:
8.3
August Burns Red - Leveler
20 June 2011


01. Empire
02. Internal Cannon
03. Divisions
04. Cutting The Ties
05. Pangaea
06. Carpe Diem
07. 40 Nights
08. Salt & Light
09. Poor Millionaire
10. 1/16/2011
11. Boys Of Fall
12. Leveler
13. Internal Cannon [Acoustic version] [Deluxe edition bonus]
14. Pangaea [Performed by Bells] [Deluxe edition bonus]
15. Boys Of Fall [Performed by Zachary Veilleux] [Deluxe edition bonus]
16. Empire [MIDI version] [Deluxe edition bonus]


I have been a fan of August Burns Red ever since a friend showed me the song "Back Burner". I was amazed at the technicality I was hearing, so when I got home I hopped on the computer and started downloading a few songs. Sadly, I wasn't too impressed, so I let my love die a little... until now.

Levelers is a very strong effort. It combines amazing technicality and melody, keeping you interested for the entire near-50 minute playback. The music is crazy technical, with amazing solos and extraordinary riffs. Needless to say, this is sure to please.

The first thing I loved when I heard this album was the intense guitar work. The awesome intro to "Empire" blew me away, although it's marred by the odd inclusion of a children's choir. And the bass is just as insane as the guitar... maybe even more insane. It follows along at points before deciding to step into the limelight on its own. And the drums are just as mad. They have odd beats within other beats that combine into one awesome musical extravaganza. The vocals on this album are the only letdown. Throughout most of the songs they are a pretty weak, and repetitive. However, he does sing/scream/growl in his own unique way, and in that essence, it is a plus.

Now most of you probably know that August Burns Red is a Christian band. Now, for the most part, they keep Jebus out of things - that is, until you reach the title track. It has quite a few forgive me Fathers and praise Jebus'. Thankfully that doesn't take away from the overall quality of the album.

Overall, this is quite the effort; it's technical yet melodic, and it must be heard. For fans of As I Lay Dying and All That Remains.

Highlights: "1/16/2011", "Boys of Fall"

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 07.01.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 31  
Search this topic:  


Diamonds - 10.01.2012 at 08:43  
Excellent review. i agree with you on everything.
Boxcar Willy - 10.01.2012 at 14:48  
Written by Diamonds on 10.01.2012 at 08:43

Excellent review. i agree with you on everything.

Thanks, I prefer Messangers to this, but this is still very good.
Diamonds - 12.01.2012 at 18:19  
Agreed. anything's better than Constellations in my opinion, though lol.
Uldreth - 12.01.2012 at 18:56  
Written by Diamonds on 12.01.2012 at 18:19

Agreed. anything's better than Constellations in my opinion, though lol.

What is wrong with Constellations?

I've discovered this band not long ago (I knew of them long before that but neevr actually bothered to listen to anything) and so far I've been mainly familiarizing myself with Constellations and I kind of like it.
Diamonds - 13.01.2012 at 07:47  
Written by Uldreth on 12.01.2012 at 18:56

Written by Diamonds on 12.01.2012 at 18:19

Agreed. anything's better than Constellations in my opinion, though lol.

What is wrong with Constellations?

I've discovered this band not long ago (I knew of them long before that but neevr actually bothered to listen to anything) and so far I've been mainly familiarizing myself with Constellations and I kind of like it.


i wouldn't say anything's 'wrong' with it.. it's just bland compared to the rest of their work. i do like it, and it probably has the most videos out of any of their albums as well but.. Leveler and Messengers will grow on you if you listen to them, you'll see what i mean.
ChibiDemigod - 19.02.2012 at 10:00  
Great review,I must listen their first albums.
Boxcar Willy - 19.02.2012 at 16:22  
Written by ChibiDemigod on 19.02.2012 at 10:00

Great review,I must listen their first albums.

Thanks!
Coolingsrock - 16.12.2012 at 20:54  
Thanks on the review. Never got around to this one yet. I will now. I doubt anything will ever top Messengers.
Pitwulf93 - 10.07.2014 at 15:20  
The tracks Salt & Light and Boys of Fall have quite a bit of Christian lyrics as well but they're still awesome tracks.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews August Burns Red - Thrill Seeker 10.5 30.05.2012 by scapeplan
Albums August Burns Red - Leveler 7.5 14.06.2011 by JonnyDeth
Albums August Burns Red - August Burns Red Presents: Sleddin' Hill, A Holiday Album 6 05.09.2012 by MeloDeathViking
News August Burns Red - Sign With Fearless Records 6 10.08.2014 by mikeprado30
Reviews Red Fang - Murder The Mountains 6 28.04.2012 by Frodd



Hits total: 1499 | This month: 18