Rating:
N/A
Cardamon - Sun As Never
26 November 2011


01. Away From The Light
02. Down Alone
03. Spanning The Distance
04. All You Were Meant To Be
05. Antithesis
06. Masterminds
07. Deaf Or Blind
08. Walk On By
09. Amaze Yourself (Sun As Never)
10. Wide Eyes
11. Divided [bonus]


Dutch metal/rockers Cardamon present their sophomore release, Sun As Never. Although they have a (skilled) female vocalist, don't make any assumptions. They sit on the Dutch musical landscape much closer to alt-rockers Autumn or to The Gathering than they do to any symphonic metal, and would appeal to fans of male-fronted depressive rock bands as much as to the symphonic metal crowd.

I instantly enjoyed this album and am finding even more enjoyment in getting to know it over time. Some songs are more rock than metal, others more metal than rock, and many are laced with a subtly intense guitar, luring the listener in. The finished product is an attractive musical journey through Cardamon's world. Which reminds me: the lyrics are quite poetic as well as thought provoking, putting a personal stamp on the listening experience.

Sun As Never stays nicely within the confines of its established mood and vibe, but don't think for a second that that means this grows stale or is in the slightest bit repetitive. The stability in the atmosphere presents a safe place to live for a while, no matter what your mood. The catchy songs have enough punch to allow you to blissfully enjoy your happiness, yet the melodies have enough depth and tension for you to wallow in if you're feeling sad or contemplative. It's gentle, serene, and most versatile.

But don't take my word for it. Cardamon has released this album for free and you may download it directly from their official website: www.cardamon.nl


Band profile: Cardamon
Album: Sun As Never


 



Written on 11.01.2012 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 33  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 11.01.2012 at 04:57  
Ha! I beat Mora!

well, if its free i'll download it. I probabbly wont like it, but we'll see.
Troy Killjoy - 11.01.2012 at 05:06  
Man, this definitely sounds like something I'd kill to hear a few years ago when I just started listening to post-doom era Anathema.
Susan - 11.01.2012 at 05:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.01.2012 at 05:06

Man, this definitely sounds like something I'd kill to hear a few years ago when I just started listening to post-doom era Anathema.


Precisely! That crowd would really dig this album. Though.. it doesn't sound like you're "one of them" any longer. Well, if you change your mind and need to feed the nostalgia, this one's free
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 10:42  
Not just free, go to their site and see what they've written about it, Troy
Troy Killjoy - 11.01.2012 at 11:04  
Written by Milena on 11.01.2012 at 10:42
Not just free, go to their site and see what they've written about it, Troy

I appreciate the sentiments and their stance on the music industry vs the love of making the music they want, but that doesn't mean my tastes are going to change.
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 11:08  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.01.2012 at 11:04

I appreciate the sentiments and their stance on the music industry vs the love of making the music they want, but that doesn't mean my tastes are going to change.

Just wanted someone to see and I figured you stalk my posts the most
Troy Killjoy - 11.01.2012 at 11:13  
Written by Milena on 11.01.2012 at 11:08
Just wanted someone to see and I figured you stalk my posts the most

I only stalk those I love, deary.

Have you listened to this already?
Ag Fox - 11.01.2012 at 11:30  
Didn't realise they had a new one last year
BloodTears - 11.01.2012 at 14:35  
Interesting review. I'm especially excited about the poetic lyrics and that it might appeal to Anathema fans.
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 14:35  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.01.2012 at 11:13

Have you listened to this already?

As a matter of fact, yes, I have, wanted to review it but Lyrinan beat me to it I think this is better than their first album, and the comparison to Autumn is very much in place.
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 14:41  
Written by Milena on 11.01.2012 at 14:35

Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.01.2012 at 11:13

Have you listened to this already?

As a matter of fact, yes, I have, wanted to review it but Lyrinan beat me to it


Luke sent Lyrinan the review request which was originally sent to me
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 15:03  
Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 14:41

Luke sent Lyrinan the review request which was originally sent to me

He sent me one too
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 15:13  
Written by Milena on 11.01.2012 at 15:03

He sent me one too


What? I told him specifically to forward it to Lyrinan if she was interested
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 15:18  
Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 15:13

What? I told him specifically to forward it to Lyrinan if she was interested



*looks up date on gmail*
January the sixth. Maybe our EIC is having senior moments
Mr. Doctor - 11.01.2012 at 15:24  
Written by Milena on 11.01.2012 at 15:18

Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 15:13

What? I told him specifically to forward it to Lyrinan if she was interested

*looks up date on gmail*
January the sixth. Maybe our EIC is having senior moments


Theory: Maybe he wanted to see a cat fight between you and Lyrinan, guys love cat fights.
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 15:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.01.2012 at 15:24

Theory: Maybe he wanted to see a cat fight between you and Lyrinan, guys love cat fights.


Milena - 11.01.2012 at 15:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.01.2012 at 15:24

Theory: Maybe he wanted to see a cat fight between you and Lyrinan, guys love cat fights.

I'm always more than happy to pass stuff to other people so that fails in theory And I don't think I'd be able to beat her anyway
Ivor - 11.01.2012 at 15:51  
I thought it might be something I enjoy but for now I'm finding it incredibly tiresome. It might be the singer.

I.
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 17:14  
Written by Ivor on 11.01.2012 at 15:51

I thought it might be something I enjoy but for now I'm finding it incredibly tiresome. It might be the singer.

I.


Maybe because it's not prog?
Imo the vocalist is the weak link, just like with The Gathering.
Ivor - 11.01.2012 at 17:18  
Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 17:14

Maybe because it's not prog?
Imo the vocalist is the weak link, just like with The Gathering.

Two things Marcel. First, the music is fine, it's the vocals that are tiresome. Second, never say that about Anneke ever again. She's still one of the best singers around. If you meant any other of their vocalists, though, I'm fine.

I.
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 17:22  
Written by Ivor on 11.01.2012 at 17:18

Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 17:14

Maybe because it's not prog?
Imo the vocalist is the weak link, just like with The Gathering.

Two things Marcel. First, the music is fine, it's the vocals that are tiresome. Second, never say that about Anneke ever again. She's still one of the best singers around. If you meant any other of their vocalists, though, I'm fine.

I.


Anneke was only enjoyable on Mandylion and to a lesser extent Nighttime Birds (but the music wasn't as good as on Mandylion there) for me, after that it went dowhill fast and gets worse every single year
Ivor - 11.01.2012 at 17:29  
Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 17:22

Anneke was only enjoyable on Mandylion and to a lesser extent Nighttime Birds (but the music wasn't as good as on Mandylion there) for me, after that it went dowhill fast and gets worse every single year

Yeah, I'm well aware of your opinion and my opinion will differ. It's good to revisit this argument, though, and find out that our opinions are still different a couple of years down the road. Reality check, so to say, all in order, no apocalypse in site, yet.

I.
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 17:31  
Written by Ivor on 11.01.2012 at 17:29

Yeah, I'm well aware of your opinion and my opinion will differ. It's good to revisit this argument, though, and find out that our opinions are still different a couple of years down the road. Reality check, so to say, all in order, no apocalypse in site, yet.

I.



Thank God for that, imagine what would happen if we agreed on this aspect
But thank God I will seeing The Gathering perform Always on April 1st in the ORIGINAL band line-up, so NO annoying Anneke to spoil their best album at all
Mr. Doctor - 11.01.2012 at 17:46  
Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 17:31

Thank God for that, imagine what would happen if we agreed on this aspect
But thank God I will seeing The Gathering perform Always on April 1st in the ORIGINAL band line-up, so NO annoying Anneke to spoil their best album at all


Last time I checked, that album was really shitty... It has been a while though.
Ozman - 11.01.2012 at 17:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.01.2012 at 17:46

Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 17:31

Thank God for that, imagine what would happen if we agreed on this aspect
But thank God I will seeing The Gathering perform Always on April 1st in the ORIGINAL band line-up, so NO annoying Anneke to spoil their best album at all


Last time I checked, that album was really shitty... It has been a while though.


Always is superior to anything they did afterwards. Original death doom at its finest. although the keyboards sound weird, but then again keyboards sounded weird in other bands as well at the time.
Ivor - 12.01.2012 at 09:55  
Written by Ozman on 11.01.2012 at 17:31

But thank God I will seeing The Gathering perform Always on April 1st in the ORIGINAL band line-up, so NO annoying Anneke to spoil their best album at all

This actually got me curious. Haven't been following their news lately, so it's an interesting development.

I.
Jeeers - 12.01.2012 at 13:54  
Bland vocals & mediocre songs. This album is not comparable to any of Gathering's albums.
Dark Blood - 12.01.2012 at 20:56  
Interesting review and as you mentioned, the poetic lyrics are nice and interesting. Although musically I find it somewhat monotonous and uninteresting. I actually like some Gathering stuff and Anneke's voice, which reminded me when I heard this, but somehow I don't find it very interesting.
Ozman - 12.01.2012 at 21:09  
Written by Dark Blood on 12.01.2012 at 20:56

Interesting review and as you mentioned, the poetic lyrics are nice and interesting. Although musically I find it somewhat monotonous and uninteresting. I actually like some Gathering stuff and Anneke's voice, which reminded me when I heard this, but somehow I don't find it very interesting.


I don't knwo why people keep mentioning The Gathering here, because musically Cardamon is way more like newer katatonia than anythign The gathering ever did.
Dark Blood - 12.01.2012 at 22:15  
Written by Ozman on 12.01.2012 at 21:09


I don't knwo why people keep mentioning The Gathering here, because musically Cardamon is way more like newer katatonia than anythign The gathering ever did.


Hmm, I think I understand the comparison but Katatonia have some power and aggression left in them, musically speaking. I didn't really felt that when listening to Cardamon.

Probably Cardamon's vocals are the main reason for the resemblance with Gathering. Musically they're quite different, but I wouldn't compare it to Katatonia.
ravendeath - 12.01.2012 at 23:07  
So far I like this release. Not a superb album, that's for sure, but analogies to Autumn and some The Gathering moments are in place, maybe some instrumental parts reminds me of katatonia or Anathema, but those are in minority. Yes, vocals should have more power...
NocturnalStalker - 14.01.2012 at 17:30  
I don't know... It sounds more boring to my ears when compared to Autumn and, especially, The Gathering. The music isn't very memorable and the vocals, despite being not bad, lack the charisma that could help to distinguish Cardamon from many other bands playing similar kind of music.
But that's just my personal opinion. If you enjoy their music, good for you.
Susan - 14.01.2012 at 18:26  
Written by Ozman on 12.01.2012 at 21:09


I don't knwo why people keep mentioning The Gathering here, because musically Cardamon is way more like newer katatonia than anythign The gathering ever did.


Thank you! I don't know why people are hung up on The Gathering here, either. The phrase was that they're "closer" to rock bands like The Gathering than they are to symphonic metal (which I stand by), not that they SOUND like The Gathering (which would be very false).

It's just a sweet little album guys, there's no need for hatin

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sun Devoured Earth - I Wish I Would Never Wake Up 4 23.10.2012 by Ozman
Reviews Swallow The Sun - The Morning Never Came 4 27.11.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Swallow The Sun - The Morning Never Came 4 04.11.2006 by BloodTears
Albums Sun Devoured Earth - I Wish I Would Never Wake Up 3.5 19.10.2012 by Boxcar Willy
News Swallow The Sun - 'The Morning Never Came' Anniversary Tour 3 30.06.2013 by Ikuinen



Hits total: 2977 | This month: 23