Rating:
8.3
Verwüstung - I First Saw You On That Snowy Night And Couldn't Shake An Overwhelming Feeling Of Sadness
8 January 2012


01. City Of Dreamers
02. Those Evenings We Spent Alone Staring Out The Window
03. For The First Time, I Can Feel
04. Comasleep
05. Spiral Paradox
06. Please, Let Me Undo It All
07. When Our Hands Met


Experimentation within black metal isn't exactly something we're entirely unfamiliar with as a collective whole. Botanist, Gnaw Their Tongues, Pensées Nocturnes - all bands that push boundaries and bring something unique to the table. They think outside the box and are either praised or hated for it. Verwüstung push those same boundaries, and this album is sure to feel the effects of an audience that is almost predominantly lacking in terms of grey area.

Not something to be pigeonholed, I First Saw You... straddles the line of ambient black metal, drone doom metal, noise, and post-rock. And that's a lot to take in for the average listener. But it's done in such a way here that makes it easier to comprehend: the focus on incorporating elements from each genre in order to produce a majestic, beautiful work of art.

It's not fluffy or accessible by any means, but it doesn't force you to listen repeatedly in order to "get it". It's an easily digestible mix of some extreme and extremely non-extreme genres, displaying the perfect balancing act. The acoustic work blends in fluently within the raw dissonance, but one thing that isn't mixed or blended or combined is the one emotion you're left with: despair. At first you only feel a pinch at the wrist, when suddenly you're jarred from your trance-like state and dragged down to the abyss before you have a chance to take another breath.

An overwhelming feeling of sadness, absolutely. This album acts as the window you peer from in the middle of the night as you watch the love of your life walk hand-in-hand down the street with her new fling, only hoping for the fairytale ending where she comes to her senses and realizes you're the perfect person for her - the only one that can make her truly happy. But then the darkness takes over again and you're left with the sad realization that you're alone and the sacrifices you've made are all for nothing.

That's it. There's nothing more to dissect; it's extreme metal's way of expressing heartache, and its filthy, painful story will leave you completely hopeless.

...I First Saw You on That Snowy Night and Couldn't Shake an Overwhelming Feeling of Sadness. Try saying that five times fast.

(Don't actually, you might forget to breathe and I don't want to be responsible for your death.)

(Unless you're my ex. In that case, aim for 10.)

(Whore.)

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Verwüstung
Album: I First Saw You On That Snowy Night And Couldn't Shake An Overwhelming Feeling Of Sadness


 



Written on 13.01.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 33  
Users visited: 239  
Search this topic:  


Fat & Sassy! - 13.01.2012 at 10:28  
Great review. Might check this out. ^-^ But what a stupid album name...
Ag Fox - 13.01.2012 at 13:42  
Great review as usual. didn't know a new one is out already, but sounds like it's different from the last
BoxCar Willy - 13.01.2012 at 17:40  
I listened to this when you recomended it too me yesterday...

O.o

I... I... This...
Mr. Doctor - 13.01.2012 at 17:51  
One of your best reviews tbh. There were 8 copies out of the 15 handmade from the bandcamp.

After your review, there are 7 left. I thank you for that.
Susan - 13.01.2012 at 17:57  
A beautiful review for a beautiful album.

I agree that it's not "accessible" but that you can still appreciate it on the first go around. That's a tough thing to pull off and Verwüstung accomplished it quite nicely.

(And the bit at the end was awesome. I lolzd.)
PocketMetal - 13.01.2012 at 18:56  
Very nice review . will check this out asap
Merchant of Doom - 13.01.2012 at 19:10  
Have to check out... enjoyed the previous one!
ApocalypticaMax3 - 13.01.2012 at 19:36  
Inspiring review, actually went and bought the album right after, without even listening to the music before (6 left!).

Handmade album for 5 bucks is totally worth it to encourage a band that seems highly promising.

Annnnd I'm starting the listening of the album right. now.
Mr. Doctor - 13.01.2012 at 20:04  
Written by ApocalypticaMax3 on 13.01.2012 at 19:36
Annnnd I'm starting the listening of the album right. now.


It's lovely when you buy something online and you get immediately a download link to the cd so the wait isn't so annoying XP.
Edmund Fogg - 13.01.2012 at 20:32  
Didn't really wow me when I listened to it the first time. Gotta say my attention was elsewere. Would probably have to listen to it in a locked room to fully apreciate it.
Troy Killjoy - 13.01.2012 at 21:30  
Written by Ag Fox on 13.01.2012 at 13:42
Great review as usual. didn't know a new one is out already, but sounds like it's different from the last

I'd say it's different enough that you won't be complaining about him doing the same thing. I mean, overall there are enough similarities that you won't feel like he abandoned the concept of the project, but at the same time it offers a world of new experiences in comparison.
Troy Killjoy - 13.01.2012 at 21:30  
And props to all who purchased a copy.
Slayer666 - 13.01.2012 at 21:31  
Loved the outro of the review. It somehow fits the album name.

Song titles are hella gay, though.
Troy Killjoy - 13.01.2012 at 21:37  
Written by Slayer666 on 13.01.2012 at 21:31
Loved the outro of the review. It somehow fits the album name.
Song titles are hella gay, though.

The goal was to tie personal experience into the mix, reflecting on the concept of the album... so kudos for acknowledging it.

I think the entire layout is somewhat pretentious, but at least it's backed by good music.
ß - 13.01.2012 at 22:59  
If it's anything like his first 2 releases I have no doubt in mind that ill enjoy it.
joyless - 13.01.2012 at 22:59  
Just 4 copies left now. Something people seem to be missing often is that the physical version contains one extra track at the end of the album that I cut from the digital version hours before release because I wasn't satisfied with it yet. I'll make an effort to personalize each order as well. Thank you all for your support.
Troy Killjoy - 13.01.2012 at 23:04  
Written by joyless on 13.01.2012 at 22:59
Thank you all for your support.

Thank you for writing awesome music.
joyless - 13.01.2012 at 23:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.01.2012 at 23:04

Written by joyless on 13.01.2012 at 22:59
Thank you all for your support.

Thank you for writing awesome music.


Thank YOU for the review! This actually pushed me over the monthly bandcamp free download limit. Apologizes to anyone going to download the album and finding out its just as expensive as the CD. Will correct that now. I believe this is the first time this has ever happened for this project.
Mr. Doctor - 14.01.2012 at 02:01  
Written by joyless on 13.01.2012 at 22:59

Just 4 copies left now. Something people seem to be missing often is that the physical version contains one extra track at the end of the album that I cut from the digital version hours before release because I wasn't satisfied with it yet. I'll make an effort to personalize each order as well. Thank you all for your support.


As a collector, everything that says "personalize" or something similar makes me extremely happy. It's a great pleasure to purchase albums like that. Thank you so much for the music.
Susan - 14.01.2012 at 02:23  
Written by joyless on 13.01.2012 at 22:59

Just 4 copies left now. Something people seem to be missing often is that the physical version contains one extra track at the end of the album that I cut from the digital version hours before release because I wasn't satisfied with it yet. I'll make an effort to personalize each order as well. Thank you all for your support.


Now there is one less

Can't wait to hear the extra track!
joyless - 14.01.2012 at 05:56  
A quick note: if you're interested in picking up a CD copy of the album, please use the link below. I removed the CD package from bandcamp because I no longer receive any money from bandcamp sales. This includes shipping. Not a cent reaches me. This link goes to my other project's bigcartel page, where the album will temporarily be distro'd from.

http://airs.bigcartel.com/product/verwustung-i-first-saw-you-on-that-snowy-night-and-couldn-t-shake-an-overwhelming-feeling-of-sadness
Susan - 14.01.2012 at 06:24  
Where does the money go
joyless - 14.01.2012 at 06:56  
Written by Susan on 14.01.2012 at 06:24

Where does the money go


Bandcamp keeps it as some kind of fee for using their service. I'd be fine with this if it at least let me keep the shipping. The money I make off of these just goes towards buying the supplies to make them. Your order was the last one to go through without any issue, this started on the one following it.
Troy Killjoy - 14.01.2012 at 06:58  
Written by joyless on 14.01.2012 at 06:56
Bandcamp keeps it as some kind of fee for using their service. I'd be fine with this if it at least let me keep the shipping. The money I make off of these just goes towards buying the supplies to make them. Your order was the last one to go through without any issue, this started on the one following it.

I added the link you provided to the album's additional info.
Susan - 14.01.2012 at 07:22  
Ah, I just read their fee structure. Pretty interesting model.
Maxx666 - 15.01.2012 at 00:12  
Wow man just got up from one straight session of listening to Verwüstung - I First Saw You On That Snowy Night And Couldn't Shake An Overwhelming Feeling Of Sadness.. dude i have to say its nice, its got some real subtle touch to it, very delicate tones and quite a lot of stuffs going on. Now i feel refreshed its time to listen to Hell Awaits. And have to say very accurate review, i like it. 9/10 from me...
Slinky666 - 15.01.2012 at 02:54  
Good find, good review, good music.
Uldreth - 15.01.2012 at 12:26  
Just finished listening to this now.

Interesting take on the atmospheric black metal genre, I must say, and is a very good album. I especially like the drone elements to the music.
joyless - 16.01.2012 at 05:41  
Handmade CD-r run is sold out! However, due to demand, I'm doing a run of 20 more in regular jewel case packaging with full artwork and the bonus track from the first CD-r pressing. It's available from the same link in the review. Thanks for all the positive responses to the album and all the orders I've received so far.
Et Ermit - 07.04.2012 at 07:58  
It starts so beautifully, yet i got to say the more black-ish it gets the less interested it become, i havent hear previous works but it would be nice if you could actually listen to the lyrics, overall i just enjoy the mood and the succession of constants rhythms
Mr. Doctor - 07.04.2012 at 11:02  
Written by Et Ermit on 07.04.2012 at 07:58

It starts so beautifully, yet i got to say the more black-ish it gets the less interested it become, i havent hear previous works but it would be nice if you could actually listen to the lyrics, overall i just enjoy the mood and the succession of constants rhythms


I would say the previous album is better. Just one smooth long track.
Et Ermit - 07.04.2012 at 20:42  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.04.2012 at 11:02


I would say the previous album is better. Just one smooth long track.

Actually i did hear it few times but didn't pay much atention to it
Mr. Doctor - 07.04.2012 at 20:57  
Written by Et Ermit on 07.04.2012 at 20:42

Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.04.2012 at 11:02


I would say the previous album is better. Just one smooth long track.

Actually i did hear it few times but didn't pay much atention to it


I never really pay attention to good ambient music.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Verwüstung - I First Saw You On That Snowy Night And Couldn't Shake An Overwhelming Feelin 18 10.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Falls Of Rauros - The Light That Dwells In Rotten Wood 6 02.01.2012 by metaleaterr
Reviews An Autumn For Crippled Children - Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love 6 22.11.2013 by Fritillaria
Reviews Be'lakor - Of Breath And Bone 6 23.05.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 4.5 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 4025 | This month: 61