Wilds Forlorn - We, The Damned review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.7

37 users:
7.97
Band: Wilds Forlorn
Album: We, The Damned
Release date: January 2012


01. Traces
02. Path Of Sorrows
03. Renouncing The World
04. We, The Damned
05. Parting


We, the Damned is a very bleak, miserable form of atmospheric black metal with depressive undertones, entirely composed, recorded, and produced by mainman Yuri Theuns - with the exception of a mesmerizing guitar solo on the opening track. One glance at the enticing cover art (he's also responsible for that) will quickly tell you what you're in for. You're going to feel more alone than ever before. You're going to feel vulnerable in the darkness that devours every last thought of happiness. You're dust in the wind, forgotten in the blink of an eye, doomed to fail before you had the chance to even begin. . . .

The spellbinding instrumentation leads you into the vortex and spits you out - stripped of innocence and confidence - into a hollow eternity, littered with dying stars so far in the distance a single breath dissolves them from memory. Your body is stripped of its clothing and your naked flesh becomes a target for Yuri's vicious, whip-like vocals, lashing at your chilled skin, splitting your shell down to the bone and watching you slowly bleed out into space. A thick production allows you to focus on the lifestream pouring from your cracked skin, gathering as part of a giant red star on the horizon. Another breath, and it dissolves.

Beautiful melodies and macabre neoclassical ambiance aim to steal the remnants of your soul, burrowing into your open wounds and snaking through your shivering flesh, constricting your internal organs, dragging claws across your veins like nails on a chalkboard. The spoken word at the end of the title track reflects the end of your journey, a journey met with all the pains the world has to offer - a journey that inevitably culminates in your demise.

Immerse yourself in its grace, and you'll find yourself carved from the inside out, waiting for death in a most painful state of disbelief as the album's piano outro plays to the tune of your memory... and then it's over. The eye blinks, and you're gone. . . .


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 15.01.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 20   Visited by: 291 users
15.01.2012 - 14:27
Ag Fox
Angel No More
>lifestream pouring from your cracked skin, gathering as part of a giant red star on the horizon. Another breath, and it dissolves
beautiful
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 14:59
3rdWorld
Offline
I wonder if i ever get time to try this within 2012????!!!
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 15:35
ravendeath
This is kind of masterpiece, it really made my day...
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 15:52
Merchant of Doom
Pretty good... I especially enjoyed the second track, with more doom influences and growls. The neoclassical parts remind me of Aquilus. Check out the new album. Not sure about being a "masterpiece", though...
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 16:01
Mindheist
No Longer Human
You like figurative reviews, don't you? Me too

This is the first time I think you wrote something "nontechnical". Let it not be your last one - though it's needless to warn you because once you get hooked, it's very difficult to stop
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 16:22
Merchant of Doom
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 16:01

You like figurative reviews, don't you? Me too

This is the first time I think you wrote something "nontechnical". Let it not be your last one - though it's needless to warn you because once you get hooked, it's very difficult to stop


Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 16:29
Abattoir
Sounds like something I might enjoy.

Btw a very nice album cover.
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 17:33
Lokaeda
Account deleted
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 23:29
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 16:01
You like figurative reviews, don't you? Me too
This is the first time I think you wrote something "nontechnical".

I do, but I don't think it's my first one. Woods of Desolation, Deafheaven, some of the atmo-black albums I reviewed at the beginning of the year, and this one.

I'd say about 10/90 reviews have been in a more figurative style.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.01.2012 - 23:45
Mindheist
No Longer Human
Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.01.2012 at 16:22

Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.

I understand it can be very strenuous sometimes to toil over the review trying to comprehend the meaning of the metaphors and descriptions used. And I also understand that most people would rather read a tiny technical review than drown in a bottomless figurative one. Maybe the reviewer here should have focused more on loosening up the sentences instead of adopting the same pattern for each one, but I still believe it's very good. Believe me, writing a figurative review is much much difficult than writing a technical one. you have to be able to snatch the reader's attention from the beginning without gorging the review with "tangled" words.

Anyway,I completely respect your opinion and I think you have many valid points
Loading...
16.01.2012 - 01:09
Merchant of Doom
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 23:45

Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.01.2012 at 16:22

Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.

I understand it can be very strenuous sometimes to toil over the review trying to comprehend the meaning of the metaphors and descriptions used. And I also understand that most people would rather read a tiny technical review than drown in a bottomless figurative one. Maybe the reviewer here should have focused more on loosening up the sentences instead of adopting the same pattern for each one, but I still believe it's very good. Believe me, writing a figurative review is much much difficult than writing a technical one. you have to be able to snatch the reader's attention from the beginning without gorging the review with "tangled" words.

Anyway,I completely respect your opinion and I think you have many valid points



I'm not against figurative reviews per se, I just find them a bit pointless when you are describing a BM album. To be honest, if I want poetry, I'll read [put your favorite poet here]... no offence, of course... Troy's review is a good one, just not my cup of it, unlike the album...
Loading...
18.01.2012 - 22:32
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 23:45

Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.01.2012 at 16:22

Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.

Believe me, writing a figurative review is much much difficult than writing a technical one. you have to be able to snatch the reader's attention from the beginning without gorging the review with "tangled" words.

But the review should describe the music, and while inserting some metaphors and similes could be nice, but the review should tell about what the music sounds like on the album. This could as well be an Esoteric review... I don't really know what expect from this album. Ok, I have an idea, but I don't know if my interpretation of Troy's poetry is correct. Let's see.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
19.01.2012 - 00:34
Matus Dust
Great review. After reading, I knew I am gonna like this... It doesnt even have to be very technical, but it describes the music well.
Loading...
19.01.2012 - 00:52
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by K†ulu on 18.01.2012 at 22:32
This could as well be an Esoteric review... I don't really know what expect from this album.

- atmospheric black metal with depressive undertones (somewhat depressive atmo-black)
- spellbinding instrumentation (instruments that draw you in to the album - also mentioned a thick production so you can focus on every little detail)
- beautiful melodies and macabre neoclassical ambiance (melodic approach, mixing neoclassical elements [piano and shizz])
- and a bunch of fancy poetic nonsense to illustrate how depressing and dark it all is

That's how I justified it anyway.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
19.01.2012 - 01:03
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.01.2012 at 00:52

- atmospheric black metal with depressive undertones (somewhat depressive atmo-black)
- spellbinding instrumentation (instruments that draw you in to the album - also mentioned a thick production so you can focus on every little detail)
- beautiful melodies and macabre neoclassical ambiance (melodic approach, mixing neoclassical elements [piano and shizz])
- and a bunch of fancy poetic nonsense to illustrate how depressing and dark it all is

That's how I justified it anyway.

oh yes! Atmospheric black metal! I don't know how I missed that, but with thick production, I could not interpret that as being able to "focus on every little detail." Ok, there are some clues, but I think they are very obscure and covered too much by the veil of your mind's dismal spawn...

I will still check the album out; the review captured my attention: "spellbinding instrumentation" is something to crave for...
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
19.01.2012 - 10:12
Merchant of Doom
It's just a good melodic/atmospheric black metal album (with some blackened doom and neoclassical elements thrown in), with a great (read "thick") production to cap it all. I think it's the quality of the compositions and the production which make this album stand out...
Loading...
19.01.2012 - 17:28
Mindheist
No Longer Human
Written by K†ulu on 18.01.2012 at 22:32

But the review should describe the music, and while inserting some metaphors and similes could be nice, but the review should tell about what the music sounds like on the album. This could as well be an Esoteric review... I don't really know what expect from this album. Ok, I have an idea, but I don't know if my interpretation of Troy's poetry is correct. Let's see.

I think you have a point
Loading...
08.02.2012 - 23:21
Oaken
Hipster
Written by 3rdWorld on 15.01.2012 at 14:59

I wonder if i ever get time to try this within 2012????!!!

You must find time. This is awesome. And for the neoclassical parts. To me, they were on par with the BM parts.
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 22:53
Susan
Smeghead
What a beautiful review! Pity I'm coming to it a month late. I just started the album then found this review... in even just the few minutes of the album I can tell this is going to be one of the good ones. Love the metaphors. So far they're spot on.

And I can't stop starring into the abyss on the cover. Dude...
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
29.04.2013 - 03:47
MandoMikey
Awesome review, really captures the vibration. Truly bleak sounding album, kind of funeral doomy at points. the production to me makes it sound like your hearing it through deep space, when the piano pieces hit, you are floating lost in space and slowly and blissfully dying of lack of oxygen.
----
In a sane world as it should be, and it wont be for a while, we'll do away with capital and pay for things with smiles.
In a sane world as it should be, however slim the chances, we'll do away with capital and pay for things with dances.
Loading...

Hits total: 5069 | This month: 13