Rating:
6.9
Nekromantheon - Rise, Vulcan Spectre
13 January 2012


01. Cast Down To The Void
02. Blood Wisdom
03. Embrace The Oracle
04. Coven Of The Minotaur
05. The Usurper Command
06. Rise, Vulcan Spectre
07. Twelve Depths Of Hades
08. Raised By Dogs


If only...If only Teutonic thrash didn't already exist. Yeah, this album is pretty outrageous when it comes to being relentless and energetic, but it's lack of creativity really turns things pretty hum-drum pretty fast.

Honestly, Nekromantheon definitely have a passion for what they do, that much is clear. In a sense, it is a pretty big re-hash album, borrowing a large amount from Slayer, with some rougher, knives-and-daggers edges from the Teutonic Thrash metal movement (namely Kreator). It's pure, unchained aggression with a lot of youthful exuberance. Hell, if Nekromantheon's predecessors weren't so apparent (as well as abundant), this would be one top-notch, vicious thrash album.

The problem is, these guys are playing with all heart, no head. It's music written with love for what they do, but no thought put into how to step forward with their own flavor. This problem is rampant, Nekromantheon are nothing new in this aspect, and if you've been paying the even the slightest attention to thrash over the past 6 years, Nekromantheon lack even that charming nostalgic value that many of these thrash revivalist bands have.

Granted, it's a lot fresher sounding than say, RAM. The passion behind Rise, Vulcan Spectre is genuine enough in its conviction to be worth a listen or two from time to time, but still not worthy of any "Best Of 2012" lists. If you've got your Warbringer, Toxic Holocaust, Skeletonwitch, or maybe a little Evil Army on your Ipod, there's really no need to interrupt it with this.


 



Written on 03.02.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 132  
Search this topic:  


Mattybu - 03.02.2012 at 03:58  
Logo looks more like BM than thrash. That's what I would've guessed first. Nice review also.
pisymbol - 03.02.2012 at 04:31  
Doc I was listening to this on Spotify a week or two ago. Your rating and review are spot on (I gave it a 6.5).
RavenKing - 03.02.2012 at 04:32  
I agree with the review, except for the part about Warbringer, Toxic Holocaust and Skeletonwitch (because I don't like any of them).
The album is decent but I don't understand the fuss that seems to be around it. It has absolutely nothing special.
Also, even if I'm a big Teutonic Thrash fan, I won't buy it for one reason: I don't like vocals much and think they are too loud in the mix (on top of everything).
Imo, there's really nothing to drool upon here.
R'Vannith - 03.02.2012 at 05:22  
I have to disagree on this one, this is really exciting Thrash for me. I'll admit the euphoria of the whole thing fades somewhat after a while, but I think this is exceptionally well played. "It's pure, unchained aggression with a lot of youthful exuberance", I couldn't agree more with this, and that's why I enjoy it so much. There is so much energy, it's almost as if they don't know what to do with it. It just explodes, it's the musical equivalent of TNT.

Perhaps the reason I like it so much though is I haven't paid much attention to those other bands you've mentioned.

I also agree with this: "Nekromantheon lack even that charming nostalgic value that many of these thrash revivalist bands have."
I actually consider this a positive thing. When I'm listening to this savagery I'm not really thinking about anything else, I'm not thinking to myself, 'Now hasn't this been done before'. I'm more like 'Sweet Jesus these gents can Thrash!'.
BoxCar Willy - 03.02.2012 at 05:30  
Written by Mattybu on 03.02.2012 at 03:58

Logo looks more like BM than thrash. That's what I would've guessed first. Nice review also.

I thought that also.

Great review
Syk - 03.02.2012 at 09:53  
Can I please be a grammar consultant for MS?

Its, dude. It's its without the apostrophe when talking possession/ownership, or attributing lack of something. One or more other criticisms; the band being reviewed probably doesn't need to be linked five times in one page, much less twice in one sentence, and there's an extraneous instance of "the" that a simple [automated] proofread probably would have picked up. Otherwise, good review. I might try to hear it just cos I love thrash so much... then again I'm more than pleased with the last Warb I bought so it's likely equally extraneous...
Cynic Metalhead - 03.02.2012 at 11:05  
Written by Syk on 03.02.2012 at 09:53

Can I please be a grammar consultant for MS?

Its, dude. It's its without the apostrophe when talking possession/ownership, or attributing lack of something. One or more other criticisms; the band being reviewed probably doesn't need to be linked five times in one page, much less twice in one sentence, and there's an extraneous instance of "the" that a simple [automated] proofread probably would have picked up. Otherwise, good review. I might try to hear it just cos I love thrash so much... then again I'm more than pleased with the last Warb I bought so it's likely equally extraneous...


Doc Godin
Doc Godin - 03.02.2012 at 11:26  
Written by Syk on 03.02.2012 at 09:53

Can I please be a grammar consultant for MS?

I wouldn't count on it any time soon.

I'm open to being notified regarding errors if anyone spots them. However, posting it in the open as opposed to sending a polite PM seems like some showy, snide attempt at discrediting the writer. Whether that was the intention or not, it still makes you come across as a bit of a dick.
Mr. Doctor - 03.02.2012 at 18:06  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.02.2012 at 05:22
Perhaps the reason I like it so much though is I haven't paid much attention to those other bands you've mentioned.


You should check those band's latest stuff from the awards.
R'Vannith - 04.02.2012 at 00:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.02.2012 at 18:06

Written by R'Vannith on 03.02.2012 at 05:22
Perhaps the reason I like it so much though is I haven't paid much attention to those other bands you've mentioned.


You should check those band's latest stuff from the awards.


I've heard only the latest from Skeletonwitch and Warbringer, I'll give Toxic Holocaust a go. Maybe because I haven't been following this Thrash revivalist stuff that closely I haven't been reduced to boredom with this album?
Mr. Doctor - 04.02.2012 at 00:31  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.02.2012 at 00:25
I've heard only the latest from Skeletonwitch and Warbringer, I'll give Toxic Holocaust a go. Maybe because I haven't been following this Thrash revivalist stuff that closely I haven't been reduced to boredom with this album?


Maybe Warbringer but there's nothing about Skeletonwitch that has to do with the revivalist movement. It's just Black/thrash metal. Toxic Holocaust having also some light black influences. Only Warbringer would go to the revivalist camp.
Diablos_ - 04.02.2012 at 15:00  
I have to agree on this one. I Have listened to it several times now, and i just cant make myself like it more than their Divinity of Death album. Their influences are clear, but the world can never get enough of great thrash(and by great thrash, i mean Divinity of Death, not Rise, Vulcan Spectre)!

Thanks for the review, Doc!
Spew'it'up - 23.05.2012 at 07:47  
'If only Teutonic thrash didn't already exist' --- What is this all about? So by your way of thinking if Heavy Metal already exists change the format? This is crazy modern age thinking by people who need to go back to the roots of why Heavy Metal exists and HAD such strong conviction with its die harders. This fashioned way of thinking that its a 'revivalist movement' just shows your vitims of media/mags ect..Thrash has always been around its just geek bands are making pretty,warm and clean productioned thrash to sell to the masses and the labels are pushing it and mags do the job for them also.
Warm Thrash(i call this over/cleaned produced rubbish) is for the masses and record labels.

If the album thats beng reviewed lacks of creativity then that means the later bands you mentioned must be lacking also as they sound just like cleaner versions of some 80's bands i grew up with.
Hail The Underground!!
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 17:25  
Ya Godin, you crazy modern age thinker. >>

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nekromantheon - Rise, Vulcan Spectre 7.5 07.06.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Rise To Remain - City Of Vultures 6 06.01.2012 by Susan
Reviews TOAD - Rotten Tide 4.5 30.05.2011 by wormdrink414
Reviews Intensus - Intensus 4.5 15.07.2011 by Marcus
Reviews Catch 22 - Monumental 4.5 04.04.2011 by atma vichara



Hits total: 2538 | This month: 1