Lurk - Lurk review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

21 users:
7.67
Band: Lurk
Album: Lurk
Release date: January 2012


01. Soar
02. Unfinished
03. Codec Of Becoming God
04. Fire The Blood Sky
05. Pitch Beneath Eternity
06. Deliverance


Sludge and doom, yet another very natural combination. Only...sludge generally doesn't sound this horrifying. Usually the sludge element takes over and you're left with a more "spark a jammie and drop out" type of atmosphere. This is of the "sleep with the night light on and double check the closet for Mr. Waternoose" variety.

Lurk play a brand of death/black infused sort of doom put through a sludge strainer. More specifically, it's slow, eerie black metal riffs, played with a sludgy bottom end and fuzziness. The vocals straddle this gravelly baritone line that can't quite decide if they're death growls or not. The way the vocals stay deep and rough, while still managing to soar makes them another stand-out part of this album. Take parts A, B, and C, then pound everything forth at the appropriate doomin' speed; what you're left with is a product that works both as an atmospheric piece to drift away into (see "Soar"), as well as a highly addictive riff-focused groover (see at about the 3:00 mark of "Deliverance").

The only problem with Lurk's otherwise marvelous debut is the vocals. While the overall sound and ambiguity of these vocals generally works well, they tend to sound very forced at points. There are moments when it seems like the vocals should have been chilled out a bit, or left to sit deeper in the mix, while instead they continue to sit at the forefront; just as intense and in-your-face as ever. In a way, it seems like they could have capitalized on their ear for ambiance a little better.

Lurk have themselves an incredible debut on their hands. Not only is this album a nasty piece of work taken at face value, but it's remarkable versatility will leave you with enough curiosity to lust over the prospect future releases.


 



Written on 12.02.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 327 users
12.02.2012 - 16:18
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
This is indeed a great album
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
12.02.2012 - 17:21
Susan
Smeghead
After streaming the two songs on their soundcloud page I concur: great album / not bedtime music

I didn't encounter a forced-quality in the vocals but I'd like to get the whole album for the full experience. You know, during the day
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 17:35
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I actually find this great bedtime music and to play at night.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
12.02.2012 - 17:49
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.02.2012 at 17:35

I actually find this great bedtime music and to play at night.


Extreme Doom works wonderful at night indeed.
This stuff looks totally like something I should enjoy, gotta check it out asap.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 20:57
BitterCOld
Gringo
Your ideas are intriguing to me and i wish to subscribe to your newsletter.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 22:17
strade
This album destroys. I love Total Rust Music; if only they'd put more albums out...
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 23:00
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Cool album art, makes me want to check this out even more.

Great review
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 23:20
gav1230
Pretty awesome stuff, I agree the vocals were sub-par but everything else was badass.
Loading...
12.02.2012 - 23:42
DelightfulJim
I'll check it out then.
Loading...
13.02.2012 - 01:06
InnerSelf
proofread free
Cover artwork and opening paragraph made me think of Coffinworm. should be something I find interesting
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
13.02.2012 - 04:19
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Lurk was the right name for them. Some pretty scary stuff.
Loading...
13.02.2012 - 09:32
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by gav1230 on 12.02.2012 at 23:20

Pretty awesome stuff, I agree the vocals were sub-par but everything else was badass.

Don't get me wrong, I loved the vocals, I just think there were moments when they should have taken the back seat a bit.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
13.02.2012 - 18:34
Merchant of Doom
Good stuff... highly recommended!
Loading...
15.02.2012 - 14:57
BloodTears
ANA-thema
This looks tasty!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
15.02.2012 - 21:55
koob
Great album !
Loading...
16.02.2012 - 05:14
Enoch
Account deleted
Great album!
Loading...
16.02.2012 - 19:28
BitterCOld
Gringo
Digging the tunes on soundcloud, will have to hunt this thing down. i definitely want it.

nice find/review.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
19.02.2012 - 12:30
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Mr. Waternoose?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 11:13
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by M C Vice on 19.02.2012 at 12:30

Mr. Waternoose?

----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 11:19
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 11:13

Written by M C Vice on 19.02.2012 at 12:30

Mr. Waternoose?



Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 11:23
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:19


Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?

Monsters Inc
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 11:41
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 11:23

Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:19


Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?

Monsters Inc

Was he Crystal and Goodman's boss? I saw the movie on tv but I don't remember him.
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 20:42
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:41

Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 11:23

Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:19


Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?

Monsters Inc

Was he Crystal and Goodman's boss? I saw the movie on tv but I don't remember him.

That would be correct.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...

Hits total: 8165 | This month: 12