Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
Lurk - Lurk
12 January 2012


01. Soar
02. Unfinished
03. Codec Of Becoming God
04. Fire The Blood Sky
05. Pitch Beneath Eternity
06. Deliverance


Sludge and doom, yet another very natural combination. Only...sludge generally doesn't sound this horrifying. Usually the sludge element takes over and you're left with a more "spark a jammie and drop out" type of atmosphere. This is of the "sleep with the night light on and double check the closet for Mr. Waternoose" variety.

Lurk play a brand of death/black infused sort of doom put through a sludge strainer. More specifically, it's slow, eerie black metal riffs, played with a sludgy bottom end and fuzziness. The vocals straddle this gravelly baritone line that can't quite decide if they're death growls or not. The way the vocals stay deep and rough, while still managing to soar makes them another stand-out part of this album. Take parts A, B, and C, then pound everything forth at the appropriate doomin' speed; what you're left with is a product that works both as an atmospheric piece to drift away into (see "Soar"), as well as a highly addictive riff-focused groover (see at about the 3:00 mark of "Deliverance").

The only problem with Lurk's otherwise marvelous debut is the vocals. While the overall sound and ambiguity of these vocals generally works well, they tend to sound very forced at points. There are moments when it seems like the vocals should have been chilled out a bit, or left to sit deeper in the mix, while instead they continue to sit at the forefront; just as intense and in-your-face as ever. In a way, it seems like they could have capitalized on their ear for ambiance a little better.

Lurk have themselves an incredible debut on their hands. Not only is this album a nasty piece of work taken at face value, but it's remarkable versatility will leave you with enough curiosity to lust over the prospect future releases.


 



Written on 12.02.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 322  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 12.02.2012 at 16:18  
This is indeed a great album
Susan - 12.02.2012 at 17:21  
After streaming the two songs on their soundcloud page I concur: great album / not bedtime music

I didn't encounter a forced-quality in the vocals but I'd like to get the whole album for the full experience. You know, during the day
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.02.2012 at 17:35  
I actually find this great bedtime music and to play at night.
Mr. Doctor - 12.02.2012 at 17:49  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.02.2012 at 17:35

I actually find this great bedtime music and to play at night.


Extreme Doom works wonderful at night indeed.
This stuff looks totally like something I should enjoy, gotta check it out asap.
BitterCOld - 12.02.2012 at 20:57  
Your ideas are intriguing to me and i wish to subscribe to your newsletter.
strade - 12.02.2012 at 22:17  
This album destroys. I love Total Rust Music; if only they'd put more albums out...
BoxCar Willy - 12.02.2012 at 23:00  
Cool album art, makes me want to check this out even more.

Great review
gav1230 - 12.02.2012 at 23:20  
Pretty awesome stuff, I agree the vocals were sub-par but everything else was badass.
DelightfulJim - 12.02.2012 at 23:42  
I'll check it out then.
InnerSelf - 13.02.2012 at 01:06  
Cover artwork and opening paragraph made me think of Coffinworm. should be something I find interesting
R'Vannith - 13.02.2012 at 04:19  
Lurk was the right name for them. Some pretty scary stuff.
Doc Godin - 13.02.2012 at 09:32  
Written by gav1230 on 12.02.2012 at 23:20

Pretty awesome stuff, I agree the vocals were sub-par but everything else was badass.

Don't get me wrong, I loved the vocals, I just think there were moments when they should have taken the back seat a bit.
Merchant of Doom - 13.02.2012 at 18:34  
Good stuff... highly recommended!
BloodTears - 15.02.2012 at 14:57  
This looks tasty!
koob - 15.02.2012 at 21:55  
Great album !
Enoch - 16.02.2012 at 05:14  
Great album!
BitterCOld - 16.02.2012 at 19:28  
Digging the tunes on soundcloud, will have to hunt this thing down. i definitely want it.

nice find/review.
M C Vice - 19.02.2012 at 12:30  
Mr. Waternoose?
Doc Godin - 10.03.2012 at 11:13  
Written by M C Vice on 19.02.2012 at 12:30

Mr. Waternoose?

M C Vice - 10.03.2012 at 11:19  
Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 11:13

Written by M C Vice on 19.02.2012 at 12:30

Mr. Waternoose?



Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?
Doc Godin - 10.03.2012 at 11:23  
Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:19


Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?

Monsters Inc
M C Vice - 10.03.2012 at 11:41  
Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 11:23

Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:19


Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?

Monsters Inc

Was he Crystal and Goodman's boss? I saw the movie on tv but I don't remember him.
Doc Godin - 10.03.2012 at 20:42  
Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:41

Written by Doc Godin on 10.03.2012 at 11:23

Written by M C Vice on 10.03.2012 at 11:19


Jabba the Hutt, Mr. Toad and a giant crab had a threeway?

Monsters Inc

Was he Crystal and Goodman's boss? I saw the movie on tv but I don't remember him.

That would be correct.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lahmia - Into The Abyss 4.5 12.05.2012 by -DC-002-
Reviews Tank - War Nation 4.5 23.06.2012 by Mattybu
Reviews Darkness By Oath - Near Death Experience 4.5 14.08.2012 by Malignar
Reviews Fozzy - Do You Wanna Start A War 4.5 26.07.2014 by Rupert
Reviews Deadborn - Mayhem Maniac Machine 4.5 20.04.2012 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 6039 | This month: 80