Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
Engraved Disillusion - Embers Of Existence
2011


01. Wither Away
02. As Life Fades
03. The Forgotten
04. Fragments Of A Memory
05. Disengage
06. Epitaph
07. Embers Of Existence
08. Under Blood Red Skies
09. Unhallowed Eyes
10. Solitude


Today I shall not lose any words on the melodeath-has-gotten-unoriginal problem, simply because the album which I am about to discuss is too good to pollute a review of it with this shit. Engraved Disillusion are hailing from the United Kingdom and present their debut album Embers Of Existence. It isn't their first release, there is already a EP out since 2009 called Desolate. Also recommended but not today's subject. The hardest thing is to describe their music by giving you other band names. It is not that they are very original or creating a new style but they somehow found a yet unknown tune in this genre. Still pretty standard melodic death metal but here and there groovy with a very pleasant guitar work in melodies that give it an easy-listening touch. This album is prefect as an example of this style if you do not want to "shock" your buddy.

Embers Of Existence consists of ten songs, including one intro track and an instrumental in the middle. Also very important, there is a beautiful cover decorating the album and the overall artwork is pretty cool (for all you creative metalheads out there). Back to music I can say that at first listen I was not that impressed. Some melodies got a generic touch which I actually cannot stand at all. But you know, when listening almost only to standard black, doom and death metal it's good to have something smooth you can come back to. And those guys do not claim to be original and get a bunch of guests on strange instruments just for playing something no one else plays.

But please do not think this record would not contain anything harsh, edged, metal-like, in fact you can really compare it to your usual melodic death metal. But there are mainly two things making it an easy listen. First, the production is simply perfect, the guy who made this album must have been a hell of a producer. By the way, they are yet unsigned, which proves to me again that labels are not necessary for a smashing production. Second thing are the skills of the guitarists. They do not play the most crazy betchacantplaythis solos but know how to shred accurate and when it comes to melodies one could think they play with velvet gloves.

Still to discuss is the songwriting which is also great, you get everything from death breakdowns to doom intro parts. The passages merge like the whole thing was written all at once and you can just sit there and enjoy. The best track is "Fragments Of A Memory," it was the track that got me into them and it is the best example for Embers Of Existence. Last words go out to the vocalist: you are awesome man, sounds like the devil is screaming inside a wide and vast church. Engraved Disillusion hit the spot and I do not know why the labels don't stand in line for them. Great job guys!


Band profile: Engraved Disillusion
Album: Embers Of Existence


 



Written on 03.03.2012 by
Windrider
"The future is not guaranteed, all we have is today.
And Today, we have Metal." - Karl Sanders
More reviews by Windrider ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 339  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 03.03.2012 at 16:33  
Playing with velvet gloves
Risto - 03.03.2012 at 18:28  
Painfully average.
raul m - 03.03.2012 at 21:32  
The review:

I'm going to be mean here (and, well, throughout my post) and say that it was fairly poorly written. It seems to wander aimlessly, as if glancing on different subjects in every sentence. After reading through it the first time, I had to go back to see what stands out in the music, since all i got was "standard melodeath". The subjects are also placed awkwardly, especially how you seem to go off on a slight tangent with them being unsigned which completely breaks the flow just as you seemed to get your feet finally on the ground. Mentioning the vocal performance in the very last sentences makes the whole review feel very rushed, confusing and a complete blur.

Furthermore, I suggest you never bring up the number of tracks unless it's relevant in the listening process (for example only having two extremely long tracks, making it hard to digest). There's a tracklist up there, I can see myself and mentioning it in the review makes it sound like your idea of a review is introducing a product instead of describing a piece of musical art

I realize you're most likely new at this and I'm sure there are many here to support you, I'm just going to play the part of the sour bastard.

The album itself:

Listened to the song that was said to be the best and I didn't find anything in there that would make me listen to more of these guys. Instead it puzzles me why something like this would receive a 9.0 score and that train of thought would probably end up with me pouring shit all over the musical taste of a person who would give it such a score. But I digress.

To MS:

It is, however, very nice to see that you're trying to liven this place up again, given how (at least to me) things have gotten fairly dull ever since Troy left.
Windrider - 03.03.2012 at 23:56  
Written by raul m on 03.03.2012 at 21:32

The review:

I'm going to be mean here (and, well, throughout my post) and say that it was fairly poorly written. It seems to wander aimlessly, as if glancing on different subjects in every sentence. After reading through it the first time, I had to go back to see what stands out in the music, since all i got was "standard melodeath". The subjects are also placed awkwardly, especially how you seem to go off on a slight tangent with them being unsigned which completely breaks the flow just as you seemed to get your feet finally on the ground. Mentioning the vocal performance in the very last sentences makes the whole review feel very rushed, confusing and a complete blur.

Furthermore, I suggest you never bring up the number of tracks unless it's relevant in the listening process (for example only having two extremely long tracks, making it hard to digest). There's a tracklist up there, I can see myself and mentioning it in the review makes it sound like your idea of a review is introducing a product instead of describing a piece of musical art

I realize you're most likely new at this and I'm sure there are many here to support you, I'm just going to play the part of the sour bastard.

The album itself:

Listened to the song that was said to be the best and I didn't find anything in there that would make me listen to more of these guys. Instead it puzzles me why something like this would receive a 9.0 score and that train of thought would probably end up with me pouring shit all over the musical taste of a person who would give it such a score. But I digress.

To MS:

It is, however, very nice to see that you're trying to liven this place up again, given how (at least to me) things have gotten fairly dull ever since Troy left.

Thanks for your criticism, I really get what you mean and I admit this review was written in a hurry because another guy got the request and forwarded it because he had no time. But then I also saw that I wouldn't have much time so I wrote it quite quickly... I know it's not a good review but you know, there always must be someone to blame and I am ok with that. Your criticism is totally understandable and I am sorry you didn't like it, but let me at least say that you don't have to read my reviews then If the MS staff doesn't want me to write reviews any more... Well then it will happen so, let's see. Oh and concerning my musical taste: Think what you must think, haters gonna hate
wormdrink414 - 04.03.2012 at 03:50  
Well done, got way more out of this than I did.
PocketMetal - 04.03.2012 at 08:56  
Imo the review is fine , it's well written and it doesn't try to be different or cool . I'm fine with that.

about the album , I can't stand Melodic DM in any shape or form :S
Milena - 04.03.2012 at 18:04  
Whoa, what a thread... this might not be the best written review on the front page now, but it does have some nice information and figures, like the one I highlighted in my first comment. Furthermore, I think you've improved since your first review, and that the only way you're going to improve further is to keep on writing and, yes, keep on making mistakes
Windrider - 04.03.2012 at 18:35  
Written by Milena on 04.03.2012 at 18:04

Whoa, what a thread... this might not be the best written review on the front page now, but it does have some nice information and figures, like the one I highlighted in my first comment. Furthermore, I think you've improved since your first review, and that the only way you're going to improve further is to keep on writing and, yes, keep on making mistakes

Thanks for your support, my next review is already in the works but might take a few weeks But don't blame people for giving criticism, without that we reviewers couldn't improve at all.
Milena - 04.03.2012 at 18:49  
Written by Windrider on 04.03.2012 at 18:35

But don't blame people for giving criticism, without that we reviewers couldn't improve at all.

Nah, didn't blame them, was just pointing it out. I think your biggest problem right now is negative transfer - using constructs not natural to English - but it can be very easily fixed just by reading more. Also, no matter how late you are with the review, when you're done with it, leave it sit for a few days, because a sentence that looks good to you at that time you've just finished may lose sense only a couple of days afterwards. I've had this bitter experience of submitting reviews and, hours after they were proofed, giving myself a facepalm and saying "what the hell was I thinking; God I'm so embarrassed Lyrinan had to proof this" and that only applies to mistakes, using proper grammar and logic but doing a crappy writing job still haunts me in some of the reviews I've published.

tl;dr version proofing yourself isn't harmful, except for your self esteem, but it's much less harmful than not doing it.
Windrider - 04.03.2012 at 19:00  
Written by Milena on 04.03.2012 at 18:49

Nah, didn't blame them, was just pointing it out. I think your biggest problem right now is negative transfer - using constructs not natural to English - but it can be very easily fixed just by reading more. Also, no matter how late you are with the review, when you're done with it, leave it sit for a few days, because a sentence that looks good to you at that time you've just finished may lose sense only a couple of days afterwards. I've had this bitter experience of submitting reviews and, hours after they were proofed, giving myself a facepalm and saying "what the hell was I thinking; God I'm so embarrassed Lyrinan had to proof this" and that only applies to mistakes, using proper grammar and logic but doing a crappy writing job still haunts me in some of the reviews I've published.

tl;dr version proofing yourself isn't harmful, except for your self esteem, but it's much less harmful than not doing it.

This thread is getting better and better haha. I know what you are talking about, but when I see that I've written shit in a published review, I most often don't give a fuck because I usually write a review within an hour or little more and then it's done for me I just put the stuff in I was thinking while listening to the music. By the way I used to read english a lot, mostly Shakespearish stuff, but since Uni had become tough my time got less... Good idea nevertheless, there is still a lot I always wanted to read
malaikat - 04.03.2012 at 19:12  
For crying out loud, raul just pointed out why he didn't like the review. It wasn't a big deal until you guys turned the thread into a autopoetic discussion about reviewer's trade.
Milena - 04.03.2012 at 19:34  
Written by malaikat on 04.03.2012 at 19:12

For crying out loud, raul just pointed out why he didn't like the review. It wasn't a big deal until you guys turned the thread into a autopoetic discussion about reviewer's trade.

It's not a big deal, we're just talking here
Zealot644 - 05.03.2012 at 14:22  
I listened through a bunch of songs on youtube and couldnt really find where this was supposed to be so great and worthy of a 9.
Sonic MrSumo - 06.03.2012 at 23:24  
Written by raul m on 03.03.2012 at 21:32

The review:

I'm going to be mean here (and, well, throughout my post) and say that it was fairly poorly written. It seems to wander aimlessly, as if glancing on different subjects in every sentence. After reading through it the first time, I had to go back to see what stands out in the music, since all i got was "standard melodeath". The subjects are also placed awkwardly, especially how you seem to go off on a slight tangent with them being unsigned which completely breaks the flow just as you seemed to get your feet finally on the ground. Mentioning the vocal performance in the very last sentences makes the whole review feel very rushed, confusing and a complete blur.

Furthermore, I suggest you never bring up the number of tracks unless it's relevant in the listening process (for example only having two extremely long tracks, making it hard to digest). There's a tracklist up there, I can see myself and mentioning it in the review makes it sound like your idea of a review is introducing a product instead of describing a piece of musical art

I realize you're most likely new at this and I'm sure there are many here to support you, I'm just going to play the part of the sour bastard.

The album itself:

Listened to the song that was said to be the best and I didn't find anything in there that would make me listen to more of these guys. Instead it puzzles me why something like this would receive a 9.0 score and that train of thought would probably end up with me pouring shit all over the musical taste of a person who would give it such a score. But I digress.

To MS:

It is, however, very nice to see that you're trying to liven this place up again, given how (at least to me) things have gotten fairly dull ever since Troy left.

Dude, instead of reviewing the review, why don't you submit your own review of the album?
raul m - 07.03.2012 at 22:46  
Written by Sonic MrSumo on 06.03.2012 at 23:24

Dude, instead of reviewing the review, why don't you submit your own review of the album?

Because after listening to a song of theirs after reading the review, I have no intention to ever listen to another song of theirs again as long as I can help it. Much less listen to the entire release and spend time thinking about it.
Rumjunkie89 - 09.03.2012 at 01:44  
Firstly, the reason the album was given a 9 was obviously because the reviewer liked the band... pretty simple really when u think about it, and funnily enough different people have different tastes in music, so this has been one long pointless thread. And if you "have no intention to ever listen to another song of theirs again as long as you can help it" then stop moaning and shut up, if you think you can do better then lets hear your album then? if you don't like melo-death then why even read the review????
raul m - 11.03.2012 at 16:36  
Written by Rumjunkie89 on 09.03.2012 at 01:44

Firstly, the reason the album was given a 9 was obviously because the reviewer liked the band... pretty simple really when u think about it, and funnily enough different people have different tastes in music, so this has been one long pointless thread. And if you "have no intention to ever listen to another song of theirs again as long as you can help it" then stop moaning and shut up, if you think you can do better then lets hear your album then? if you don't like melo-death then why even read the review????

It is very sweet of you to sign up just for me.

Doesn't change the fact that you're an imbecile though.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Engraved Disillusion - Embers Of Existence 7.5 07.08.2013 by BloodJuNkie
News Engraved Disillusion - Announce New Album, Tracklist Revealed 4.5 21.07.2014 by BloodJuNkie
Reviews Taake - Noregs Vaapen 3 31.12.2011 by Lokaeda
Reviews Wildernessking - The Devil Within 3 09.06.2014 by Apothecary
Reviews Omnium Gatherum - New World Shadows 3 07.05.2011 by Warrior_Of_Ice



Hits total: 4298 | This month: 78