Rating:
8.7
Alaskan - Adversity; Woe
1 June 2011


01. Realisation
02. Congonhas
03. Disruption
04. Atarau
05. Atlas Creek
06. Interruption
07. Mecca


I discovered Alaskan through Metal Storm and immediately I was intrigued. Upon visiting their bandcamp page and finding it was a free download, I was ecstatic. After listening to it a few times, I was impressed.

I was overwhelmed by the atmosphere and by the music itself. The release itself is a primarily instrumental one, which is neither a good thing nor a bad thing. The vocals on this release are good, which could be a let down to some as they do not appear too often. However, the lack of vocals is made up for by the amazing guitar work. Gary does a very good job, he changes it up often to keep you interested in this album, in fact, he changes it up a lot. Another thing that caught my ears was the great drums. The drums flow extraordinarily well throughout this album. They fit and capture the atmosphere perfectly.

The one thing that I noticed the most about this album was… the album itself. Sure the guitars and drums are good, mostly when added together into one mass of music. It boosts the quality of everything involved. The atmosphere created is masterful, it transports you to a place where your alone, with your own dark thoughts and it is completely serene. This album is among one of the best sludge albums I have ever heard. The complete effort is astounding, and purely amazing.

Overall, I was very impressed by this album, considering the high amount of doo-doo out there. This album is definitely one of the golden ones, highly recommended.

Highlights - The entire album.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Alaskan
Album: Adversity; Woe


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 03.03.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 52  
Search this topic:  


Merchant of Doom - 04.03.2012 at 14:01  
Not a particularly important complaint, but you used the word "album" nine times in the review... wow! To more serious matters... very good album indeed!
Boxcar Willy - 04.03.2012 at 15:26  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.03.2012 at 14:01

Not a particularly important complaint, but you used the word "album" nine times in the review... wow! To more serious matters... very good album indeed!



I need a thesuarus
Merchant of Doom - 04.03.2012 at 17:46  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.03.2012 at 15:26

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.03.2012 at 14:01

Not a particularly important complaint, but you used the word "album" nine times in the review... wow! To more serious matters... very good album indeed!



I need a thesuarus



You mean "thesaurus", don't you?
Boxcar Willy - 04.03.2012 at 18:20  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.03.2012 at 17:46

Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.03.2012 at 15:26

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.03.2012 at 14:01

Not a particularly important complaint, but you used the word "album" nine times in the review... wow! To more serious matters... very good album indeed!



I need a thesuarus



You mean "thesaurus", don't you?

Yes


This why my reviews are proofread
Merchant of Doom - 05.03.2012 at 01:09  
Lol... keep up the good work... I'm not saying it in a sarcastic way... it's good bands like Alaskan are reviewed...
Boxcar Willy - 05.03.2012 at 01:16  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 05.03.2012 at 01:09

Lol... keep up the good work... I'm not saying it in a sarcastic way... it's good bands like Alaskan are reviewed...

Thanks
K†ulu - 05.03.2012 at 19:11  
Dude, you need to be more descriptive in your reviews. There is really very little I understood about what to expect from this album from the text. I mean "Gary changing his guitar very often" could as well as Gary Holt from Exodus, and you would be writing about a thrash album.

The sentence about the atmosphere tells me something, but everything else, pretty much nothing. What's the tempo? Is the "amazing" guitar work furious, heavy, subdued, technical, fat & nasty? I mean what kind of amazing is it?

Also a note to the proofreader: "This album is among one of the best..."

Please, take this as a piece of constructive criticism. I read your reviews, and that's a common problem. Peace!
Boxcar Willy - 05.03.2012 at 21:30  
Written by K†ulu on 05.03.2012 at 19:11

Dude, you need to be more descriptive in your reviews. There is really very little I understood about what to expect from this album from the text. I mean "Gary changing his guitar very often" could as well as Gary Holt from Exodus, and you would be writing about a thrash album.

The sentence about the atmosphere tells me something, but everything else, pretty much nothing. What's the tempo? Is the "amazing" guitar work furious, heavy, subdued, technical, fat & nasty? I mean what kind of amazing is it?

Also a note to the proofreader: "This album is among one of the best..."

Please, take this as a piece of constructive criticism. I read your reviews, and that's a common problem. Peace!

I'm sorry guys, this is definately one of my worse reviews...

I think I'm going to delete it and re-write it...
Susan - 06.03.2012 at 03:33  
Willy, it's a good learning experience; now you know how to make reviews better for next time. And as someone else said, awesome that you chose such a sweet album as this.
Boxcar Willy - 06.03.2012 at 05:17  
Written by Susan on 06.03.2012 at 03:33

Willy, it's a good learning experience; now you know how to make reviews better for next time. And as someone else said, awesome that you chose such a sweet album as this.

Sadly the review isnt on par with music
Milena - 06.03.2012 at 19:55  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.03.2012 at 18:20

This why my reviews are proofread

Everyone's are
Boxcar Willy - 06.03.2012 at 21:33  
Written by Milena on 06.03.2012 at 19:55

Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.03.2012 at 18:20

This why my reviews are proofread

Everyone's are

Well... Mine should be more so than others...

Cynic Metalhead - 09.03.2012 at 18:37  
I'll give a spin for sure.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Alaskan - Despair, Erosion, Loss 7.5 24.01.2014 by Both Bears
Albums Alaskan - Adversity; Woe 6 22.01.2012 by Susan
Reviews Dopethrone - Dark Foil 4.5 19.04.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Ortega - The Serpent Stirs 4.5 17.05.2013 by .starrk
Reviews Cancer Bats - Hail Destroyer 4.5 03.01.2012 by Doc Godin



Hits total: 1735 | This month: 44